We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Well worth the stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Cottages after Christmas on the last leg of our Tasmanian Christmas break and after the usual and unexpected stresses of family Christmas, this was a wonderful, restful haven, even if only for one night. The studio room we stayed in was well equipped with everything you could need and would normally have at home. Lovely decor, very clean and tidy.The bed was really comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. The shower was just great. Topping it off, the gardens were absolutely delightful, and it was great sitting outside sipping wine in the afternoon sun outside the room. The beach is just 10 mins walk from the Cottages and we enjoyed a couple of very nice walks along the foreshore, though the water was a tad too cold to swim in. Shops are 2 minutes walk away. There are any number of attractions within an hours drive away, which would make it a great base for an extended break. The hosts were very friendly. For $125 a night at a peak time of year this is very hard to beat. We'll definitely stay again if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: Think about staying Port Sorell instead of Launceston as a base for a holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Where do you start to descibe this amazing place. Fantastic and friendly hosts and fantastic accomodation.This would have to be one of the cleanest and tidiest accommodation establishments i have ever been to.All the little extras to make your stay enjoyable ,even down to the condiments for the bbq.Facilities virtually next door ie shops ,hotel,golf course and walking distance.Add this to your list of places to stay ,you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thankyou David we are pleased your stay was enjoyable, we like to make all our guests feel comfortable and relaxed as soon as they arrive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

These cottages are an absolute delight. Clean, comfortable and convenient. We stayed there in September and made them a base from which to visit the north coast of Tasmania. If we had known just how good they were, we would have stayed there longer rather than staying some of the time in Launceston as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal as best as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior-Ozy-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thankyou, we aim to please and are very happy when our guests enjoy staying here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I now stay here when visiting Devonport ( but I have a hire car) this is a lovely little town with these cottages ideally located near a supermarket and the beachfront. They are studio rooms in a group of 6 with a QS bed and a sofa bed - one of the cottages has 2 singles and a QS bed. The owners are friendly and personable but give you your privacy. The rooms are always clean and reasonably priced ( not cheap but reasonable) . Cooking facilities in the room , TV and internet ( free)wifi access. It is 15 mins from Devonport and cant recommend it highly enough with a pleasant/easy drive there. They look onto a central garden with BBQ facilities but strategically landscaped so you dont look onto anyone else. Carpark just out the front of the cottages.

Room Tip: Studio 6 is best if more than a couple staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thankyou Wendy, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice and tidy place. Everything you need. Walking distance to everything. Warm and friendly owners. Nice memories.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean3to4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hosts Margi and Geoff were perfect hosts. We used the bbq which was perfectly clean. Our room was pleasantly clean. The kitchenette facilities were as good as any ktichen in an apartment. It was convenient and would have stayed an extra 3 days if they had had availabilty. Word of advice book early!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speccy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou both Geoff and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Tassie. We left the ferry and headed straight to Shearwater Cottages at Port Sorell where we had booked for our first night! We found it spotless, tidy and certainly would have stayed another night had we been able to do so. Margie and Geoff were very friendly, and rewarded us with a carry bag with some goodies to take with us when we left! That topped it off for us!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your trip to Tasmania hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
561 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
53 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Property: Shearwater Cottages
Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing