We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly cosy and lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly cosy and lovely setting”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I now stay here when visiting Devonport ( but I have a hire car) this is a lovely little town with these cottages ideally located near a supermarket and the beachfront. They are studio rooms in a group of 6 with a QS bed and a sofa bed - one of the cottages has 2 singles and a QS bed. The owners are friendly and personable but give you your privacy. The rooms are always clean and reasonably priced ( not cheap but reasonable) . Cooking facilities in the room , TV and internet ( free)wifi access. It is 15 mins from Devonport and cant recommend it highly enough with a pleasant/easy drive there. They look onto a central garden with BBQ facilities but strategically landscaped so you dont look onto anyone else. Carpark just out the front of the cottages.

Room Tip: Studio 6 is best if more than a couple staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thankyou Wendy, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice and tidy place. Everything you need. Walking distance to everything. Warm and friendly owners. Nice memories.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean3to4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hosts Margi and Geoff were perfect hosts. We used the bbq which was perfectly clean. Our room was pleasantly clean. The kitchenette facilities were as good as any ktichen in an apartment. It was convenient and would have stayed an extra 3 days if they had had availabilty. Word of advice book early!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speccy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou both Geoff and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Tassie. We left the ferry and headed straight to Shearwater Cottages at Port Sorell where we had booked for our first night! We found it spotless, tidy and certainly would have stayed another night had we been able to do so. Margie and Geoff were very friendly, and rewarded us with a carry bag with some goodies to take with us when we left! That topped it off for us!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your trip to Tasmania hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here in November 2010. I remember it being very well kept and clean and good amenities and close to town and shops and just a lovely little spot to stay altogether. I went as a couple and we were very comfortable in our room, which is very large. Handy having a laundry and BBQ facilities and we used both of these. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Both Geoff and I are pleased your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Even though we are only 20 minutes away, just love staying here - it;s like a world away.
Clean, peaceful and close to everything. Love that there are only a few units as well. Great hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou Jenny hope you can come again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My cousin & I were visiting my brother & sister in law for my brother's birthday & rather than
putting them out we decided to book at Shearwater Cottages & are we glad we did.
The setting was perfect, the owners couldn't have been more helpful & the accomodation was
just like home. Loved it !!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room as they all appeared to be idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou Carolyn we are so pleased your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
115 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
552 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Property: Shearwater Cottages
Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing