We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent start to our holiday”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Tassie. We left the ferry and headed straight to Shearwater Cottages at Port Sorell where we had booked for our first night! We found it spotless, tidy and certainly would have stayed another night had we been able to do so. Margie and Geoff were very friendly, and rewarded us with a carry bag with some goodies to take with us when we left! That topped it off for us!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Pleased you enjoyed your trip to Tasmania hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here in November 2010. I remember it being very well kept and clean and good amenities and close to town and shops and just a lovely little spot to stay altogether. I went as a couple and we were very comfortable in our room, which is very large. Handy having a laundry and BBQ facilities and we used both of these. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Both Geoff and I are pleased your enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Even though we are only 20 minutes away, just love staying here - it;s like a world away.
Clean, peaceful and close to everything. Love that there are only a few units as well. Great hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou Jenny hope you can come again some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My cousin & I were visiting my brother & sister in law for my brother's birthday & rather than
putting them out we decided to book at Shearwater Cottages & are we glad we did.
The setting was perfect, the owners couldn't have been more helpful & the accomodation was
just like home. Loved it !!!!!

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room as they all appeared to be idyllic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thankyou Carolyn we are so pleased your stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Ideal location for exploring the Tamar wine region, Devonport and Cradle Mountain. Quiet community but all amenities nearby. Great BBQ area, comfortable open floor plan and self laundry available. Hosts were very welcoming. Will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thankyou Pam for your review we are pleased that you chose to stay with us, it was a pleasure aving you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outback, NSW
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights March 2012 and having booked off the web were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation and the delightful garden setting. Pleasant hosts, a comfortable, large room, super value and only a short, scenic drive off the ferry from Melbourne. After breakfasting in East Devonport, we did some shopping in Devonport and Latrobe before wandering over to Shearwater. Host Margie suggested we could have phoned and checked in earlier than 2pm, this might be a good option for those still groggy after the ferry crossing. Really, we need not have stocked up on Tassie goodies as there is a well-stocked IGA about a minute or two away from the cottages, which are located very close to services in Shearwater.

The slightest downside for my wife and I was the bed, which was a tad softer than we'd normally like. Personal preference, of course.

A most enjoyable location, and one which I'd be most happy to return to in the future. A real gem of a room in a a delightful location, one which we'd missed in previous travels around Tasmania.

Room Tip: They're all very much the same, placed around a large central garden with a well-equiped BBQ are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are pleased you had a wonderful stay, look for ward to seeing you on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I would thoroughly recommend Shearwater Cottages to anyone wanting a peaceful surrounding, superbly maintained apartments and very friendly and helpful owners. We had two wonderful nights there, everything was just perfect
with beautiful gardens surrounding each aprtment.

Room Tip: All rooms would be suitable as they are far enough away from street straffic, there is no highway t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thankyou for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
114 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
94 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
48 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tranquilles Luxury Spa B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Property: Shearwater Cottages
Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing