We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shearwater Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very friendly hosts. Clean and very quiet but handy to cafes and grocery store.Lovely gardens/ No hesitation in staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandparents2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thankyou for your review, sorry about the WIFI but if people are booking over the internet studios 1and 4 have a better reception, if booking by phone please mention that you need to use the internet and we will do our best to accommadate you with this request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Shearwater Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 42 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

The self-contained cottage was surrounded by a lovely garden, was spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything that you needed in the kitchen was already there, and the BBQ in the garden outside had utensils/sauces etc ready to be used. The hostess was very friendly and helpful, providing us with advice and information we needed. Very close to local shops. The only thing was the WiFi did not reach the cottage we were staying in, had to go to the BBQ area to use the internet. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We had suite 3 which was too far for the WiFi and had to go out into the garden. Ask for a room that...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Shearwater Cottages was a real delight. The self-contained cottages provide you with every need while you are visiting the area. The cottages are in a residential area right next to a shopping centre, bottle store (liquor store) and RSL restaurant. The rooms are sparkling clean units with table & chairs, cook top, fridge, micro and home-like quality dishes.

The gardens inclusive with communal BBQ and the eating area and pleasant and private.

Likes:
- Free Internet (WIFI) - but only near the BBQ area
- inexpensive
- separate showers with lots of pressure and a movable shower-head (good in Aussie standards)
- screen doors
- coffee service
- outside patio with chairs
- 2 minute walk to restaurant
- owners helpful but not intrusive

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Thankyou for choosing us to stay with and we hope you enjoyed your trip around beautiful Tasmania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Very friendly hosts, close to the beach with nice clean rooms, lovely touch of water and chocolate on departure. Will stay again.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
Thank iMac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

We are both very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This was the closest accommodation that we could get to Narawntapu National Park that ticked all the boxes for us.

The property was immaculate, the price was affordable ($124 for one night over Easter), the hosts were friendly, the room was large and well equipped.

Overall, we enjoyed the night that we spent there, and would highly recommend the property if you are in the area.

(I gave it a 4 for location because Shearwater is a bit off the beaten track, in that it is a good 30min drive to Narawntapu Park, and almost 2 hours to Cradle Mountain. It did not get a lower score because it was quite close to Devonport (25 mins).)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriniAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thankyou for your comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

There is no one thing which screams "exceptional" about this establishment. It is just that everything is just right. It is neat, clean organised , friendly and personal. The layout of the units allows for privacy or openness dependant on your mood. It is a nice pace at which to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoddogTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axlemack, Owner at Shearwater Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

We aim to please and to make sure our guests have a relaxing time whilst staying with us.
Thankyou for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go visit Narawntapu National Park, which is famous for its wildlife (photos from the park are attached). We drove to Shearwater on Christmas Eve, without hotel reservations, and late on the afternoon of December 24, threw ourselves on the mercy of the proprietor of the Shearwater Cottages. Although the hotel was otherwise empty and she was about to leave for family Christmas celebrations, she gave us a room, and left open the laundry room so we could wash our clothes. She made us welcome, gave us local information, and left us to our own devices, asking only that we lock up when we left on Christmas morning. This is the kind of generous hospitality that has long vanished from most of the world.

The Shearwater Cottages was a haven to two weary travelers. Although it is on a main street, no more than 200 meters from a well-stocked grocery store that provided us with a roast chicken for our Christmas Eve dinner, the units are tucked away behind a wall that shelters a quiet, private, beautifully landscaped courtyard with a barbecue area, and with huge blossom-laden fuschias that shelter a table and chairs by each unit's door. The room was very large, and spotlessly clean, comfortable and convenient, with the kind of spare modern decorating that is characteristically Australian. There is a kitchenette with a microwave, cooking utensils including an electric frying pan, a refrigerator and a sink. The building is one floor and each unit has its own entry on the courtyard.

The Cottages is convenient to everything. There is a nice bakery/coffeehouse two blocks away, the stationer and post office is just beyond the grocery store. Shearwater is about a forty minute drive from Narawntapu National Park and its beautiful empty beaches. Archer's Knob is an easy walk to views over the unspoiled coastline of northern Tasmania. If you are in this part of the world, you cannot do better.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Sorell
9.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
102 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 5 in Devonport
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shearwater Resort
Shearwater Resort
#1 of 1 in Shearwater
55 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shearwater Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Cottages

Address: 9 Shearwater Bvd, Port Sorell, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Sorell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Sorell
Price Range: $106 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shearwater Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in beautiful peaceful surrounding, clean comfortable affordable accommodation. Complex contains 6 studio apartments 5 with Queen beds with double sofa bed, 1 studio with double and 2 single beds. Kitchenette, Laundry, Barbeque, Free WiFi facilities. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Close to Cradle Mountain and other iconic tourist destinations within Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shearwater Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearwater Cottages Port Sorell, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing