We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$99
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$98
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Parsons Bay Retreat(Nubeena)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$93
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wrest Point(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$114
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
285
250
64
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
250
64
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog cabinspa cabinstewarts bayport arthur historic sitewashing machine and dryerwater viewfull kitchenbeautiful locationbuffet breakfastliving roomtasman island cruisesonsite restaurantself caterself contained cabinbush settingsecond bedroomlonger stay
Filter
Updating list...
439 - 444 of 632 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked a three night getaway at short notice and selected the deluxe spa lodge. An easy drive (1.5 hours) from Hobart, Stewarts Bay lodge is nestled unobtrusively in the forest, overlooking the bay. Rather than impose itself on its beautiful surroundings, the property seemingly blends into them. The deluxe spa lodge is spacious, with plenty of storage space and a well-stocked kitchen with every imaginable utensil you may require to cook. The TV comes complete with Bose sound system, but honestly the view from the deck was the real show. Absolute waterfront, while again not sacrificing the forest. The cabin's namesake, (the spa) was very generous, big enough for two and complete with panoramic window. As we catered for ourselves, we did not dine in the restaurant, but a good breakfast is served there. Naturally the selection is not huge, but it is more than enough, and the spinach is a nice touch. No, there is no WiFi, but you are here to enjoy the magical surroundings and disconnecting from the world for a few days is not a bad thing. Environmentally responsible, and staffed by cheerful, welcoming staff, this is the perfect choice for a quiet mini-break. Could definitely have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlitzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Stewart Bay Lodge, and would have loved to spent longer. The newer cabins are superb, with every facility you will need for a stay longer than 1 night. In cabin 32 it has a kitchen with every implement you would need to cook any type of meal, the bedroom has a king size bed with plenty of hanging space, a lovely large bathroom with spa bath and walk in shower, a large kitchen, 1 x sofa bed, and 1 x 2 seater standard sofa, a large led/plasma TV with surround sound, and a lovely elevated deck with beautiful views.

Around the lodge are some wonderful short walks, one to a beautiful small beach, and the other slightly longer walk to the Port Arthur Convict Site along the coast line.

The lodge area has other facilities, a tennis court, playground, BBQ’s and a great restaurant.

If you want to do the Tasman Islands Cruises 3 hour eco tour, its office right next door, and the cruise leaves from a jetty located a 2 minute walk from the lodge restaurant.

We did not have breakfast at the lodge’s restaurant, Taylors Restaurant, as we made our own breakfast every day. But if you do go, the guests only pay $15 for a buffet breakfast, from my experience this is a very good deal.

Overall, this is one of our favourite places to stay anywhere, and we will always stay here while on the Tasman Peninsula.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer cabins
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stewarts Bay Lodge exceeded our expectations; the cabin (a deluxe waterfront cabin) was easily worth the price, and we wish we had booked for at least two nights to soak up the atmosphere. Set amongst the trees and overlooking the turquoise water of Stewarts Bay, our balcony was a perfect reading retreat in the morning sunshine. The cabin itself was very new and having enjoyed the great spa bath, I was very impressed at the hot water, heating and overall comfort of the whole cabin. The kitchen is well equipped, and so if you are not having dinner in the area (and there are a few good options), it's worth bringing supplies to enjoy the setup. Breakfast at the Lodge was surprisingly excellent quality - we were very impressed. We hope to return, and thank Jordy for his fantastic and welcoming service.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lexielot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Magnificent spot. Make sure your book deluxe spa villa at front, with view of bay. Cabin had great amenities except wifi, was the only let down. Lovely breakfast but could have been hotter. Perfect location. Very friendly service. Would love to stay there in summer.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe spa villa at front. We had room 22 at front over looking beautiful bay. Walking distance to beach and to Pt Arthur convict settlement.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great cabin, everything you could need,we found the staff friendly and helpful, this was the second stop on our 20 day road trip around Tasmania and was chosen for its location to Port Arthur, it is in a great spot nice and quiet great for photos and if you wanted you could walk to Port Arthur, only problem I found was the reverse air conditioner heating did not reach the main bedroom so it was cold once you left the lounge kitchen area, a small one in the bedroom would have been nice, I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews