We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced but convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Arthur General Store - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Port Arthur General Store
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced but convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Like a 7-eleven, you pay for convenience here. You're much better off stocking up on some essentials before you come into Port Arthur.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newtowneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Port Arthur General Store.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

There is no actual township called Port Arthur, so it was great to find a general store, (handy to where we were staying), which stocked most things that a small supermarket usually has. The staff were efficient and friendly, and it was open at convenient times each day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Has what you need”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Has what you need and decently stocked for such a remote area. Staff was very friendly. Prices seemed very fair.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tareyton98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Found what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you've run out of something, they're sure to have it. We even managed to get cheese and bikkies to go with our wine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

food looked old and tired, even at 9.30 am!
we walked in, walked out and drove to Nubeena for our supplies

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur General Store also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing