We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No competition and it shows”
Review of Eucalypt Cafe

Eucalypt Cafe
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Port Arthur
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately there just seems to be a lack of real competition in port Arthur for early morning cafes. This was our only choice. The place was very clean so well done on that. The menu however needs a bit of work as it was limited. What cafe in Australia cannot cater for vegemite toast?? Coffee was not good, though nor was the port Arthur site cafe! Not a great review but can't wait to see management excuses A, B, C.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Marcieandjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Eucalypt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

At last, a reviewer that can be taken seriously... take note all future reviewers, this review has no holes in it to explode in your face, it's not a personal attack and it's honest.
A. We agree... there is an unfortunate lack of of anything in Port Arthur town, let alone worring about breakfast competition.
B. We agree... there is no choice in this town of 3 shop fronts and we dare not speak on behalf of other businesses about their decisions to not serve breakfast.
C. We agree... our venue is clean and we appreciate your astute observation. It beats sitting on our butts all day with the knitting needles clickety clacking away.
D. We agree... our menu is limited, to just three 101cm plasma screens. It's as much as our miniscule population with remote rural tastes and absolutely no cafe-culture can handle.
E. We agree... Vegemite is a ticking time bomb when not on offer. As a result of your comment we will provide it for future travellers so they can enjoy something they have at home.
F. We agree... your coffee may not have tasted good to you. Taste is very subjective therefore no matter what's served it's subject to contentions of personal taste.
G. We DON'T Agree... with excuses, there are none. Everything we do is based on sound reasons of economics, statistical data and local demographics. It's business, not personal.
H.Thanks for your review, it's good to receive gripes in a manner as civil as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank god for the Eucalypt Cafe. I had a horrible experience at the Fox and Hound and was very happy to find a place that had decent food. Very friendly staff and the food was made with love. I would highly recommend this cafe if your staying in Port Arthur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank jodi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Eucalypt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

WOW, thanks so much for sharing your experience. Isn't it funny how a little old place like ours can be seen as an oasis in the wilderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I call into this Cafe 5 morning a week, to be greeted with a smile and a coffee made just the way I like it. You couldn't ask for anything more!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Vickis2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Eucalypt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hmmm, this is a tough one... we can't identify which of the morning regulars this one is?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had 3 excellent visits here and enjoyed high quality fairly priced food and drinks plus the owners were most helpful and friendly
Would highly reccomend this business

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank collieparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Eucalypt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

I bet you were the afternnon tea, breakfast then lunch = 3 visits. We certainly remember your group disposition being in a very happy state of mind... which made your presence in our venue a pleasure for us. Glad our responses and advice to your questions came in handy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I arrived to have a quick breakfast before we left for a boat tour and the man that served us turned his nose up at me when I asked for no bacon with my breakfast. He then made a rude comment and laughed. There was no reason for this and I decided not to eat in this cafe because of this. Maybe the man serving is was just having a bad day, but he was very rude and its disappointing because everyone else in this area is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Holiday12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Eucalypt Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Yes, we remember you as having visited two days in a row, it was good to see you again for a second time, sporting that special ring. Did you enjoy your stay at Larus Waterfront Cottage?
A. Your boyfriend ordered food with meat in it both days (scallops and eggs benedict) and ate it all both days, virtually licking the plate clean. That was nice to see.
B. He also ordered coffee both days and drank it all. But this isn't his enjoyable review is it?
C. You chose not to order, eat or drink on both days and just sat there watching others happily eating and drinking.
D. Haven't you seen a person wearing bi-focal spectacles before. They always turn their head up at funny angles... interpreted by you as 'turning his nose up'.
E. There are five breakfast options without meat on the menu so we have no reason to laugh at anyone who doesn't want meat... we definately cater for vegetarians. We know you are a vegetarian becasue your boyfriend told us right in front of you of that fact.
F. If we had turned a nose up, made rude comment or laughed at you as you claim then your boyfriend would have been angry at us wouldn't he?
G. We feel the feelings you expressed in your review are reality in YOUR mind... but subject to a totally different interpretation by those around you without a 'victim' complex.
H. I suppose our response will be regarded as a rude attact... it's not, we sympathise with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eucalypt Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eucalypt Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing