We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Great value!”
Review of Classic Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Classic Cottages
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location! Great value!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Great value and amazing location. We stayed in Old Oakwood which is basically a family's actual holiday home. I had only two issues. The outside seating needed a clean and is covered with dust and spider webs, which was a shame because we couldn't sit and enjoy the the view. Also there are signs and notes literally everywhere! These signs tell you what to do and what not do; some even come with warning of consequences if you do not obey. There was a big ugly hand painted sign in the middle of the otherwise beautiful water view telling us to keep off the jetty, which we had already been told by the sign attached to the entry door. These signs were a bit of a vibe kill and not necessary. I think all that was needed was one well located and well presented list of rules, requests and recommendations. Apart from that the place was great!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Manager at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Laura ,

Thank you for your comments and Happy you enjoyed ... Yes there is 2 signs about the Jetty and boats ; We used to have only 1 at the front door and we discovered it was not enough to keep people away from our neighbor and friend property ...

Yes outside covers need changing and new materiel has been made available to the owners 2 years ago ...

Spiders there is hardly a spider web inside ( unless they build a new one after we cleaned ) but I have issues attacking natives animals in their habitat , don't we do enough damage every day on climate and Wildlife ; I believe we need to learn how to live with them. By the way should I destroy the birds nest ( they come back every year ) over the patio table too ?

Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Situated on a lake setting, we stayed in the Port Arthur Cottage. Everything had been thought of, kitchen had everything we needed. There was even a book exchange in our house, you could either take a book and leave one behind or you could buy a book, which is a great idea. The bed was so comfortable. The owners were so helpful, beautiful people. They were able to advise us of things to see and do during our stay. We wanted to stay an extra night but had to be elsewhere. We will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Owner at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you Nicole for taking the time to write a review , Happy you enjoyed and wanted to stay longueur ; we had a couple last night in the Port Arthur Cottage booked for 2 nights they just asked for a 3rd night ! The water views are not a lake ( yes it can look calm ) but it is the Southern Ocean.
Happy you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our little area ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We loved our stay at Old Oakwood. We'd booked 2 nights and considered ourselves lucky to extend to a 3rd night. The outside might be a little rough but it's a gem inside. Everything's there and everything works. It's in a great location with brilliant views and plenty of wildlife. It was cold enough to have a fire in the evenings and would be a great base to explore the Tasman Peninsula from. The bathroom is separate from the cottage by a few feet and this might be a bit of a challenge when it's really cold. Dennis and Raquel were very helpful and we certainly hope to return for another visit here to see some more of this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Manager at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Very happy you enjoyed Gary , Yes it is rough around but owners like it that way ... Yes bathroom is 2 steps outside but we don't get snow here and very little ice ( once last year ) . Yes Old Oakwood has All anyone will need , plus amazing Ocean views and a patio like no others ....

Thank you again , be nice to see you again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely view driving in and very nice owner. Kevin's cottage was clean. Furniture very out dated. Shower very small considering the bathroom was a fair size. Bed very hard and uncomfortable, had trouble sleeping had to put a pillow under my hip, it was that hard..No washing machine..couldn't get TV to work..Kitchen stocked with the very basic of utensils & pots & pans..cheap at $70 the night but would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Manager at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review ; Sorry you could not use the TV ...Why don't you came to the Office to ask for help or text us ?
What do you mean by "outdated furniture " ? or should I say like our customers last night said " we run an accommodation business in Cairn , we know the issues with people destroying everything around them " ... What should we do ?
Sorry to hear that the shower was too small ; I weight 136 kg and I have no issue using this shower ..
If you had hip issues why don't you slept on the softer bed in the lounge ? People like soft beds , people like hard beds , For $70 a night what do we do please ?
We should have a washing machine for $70 a night , Tasmanian electricity rates are between 6% and 10% higher then anywhere in Australia ; There is a note in the compendium telling you Port Arthur has a laundrette .
Happy you won't book again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Quaint little cottage nestled in the hills of Port Arthur, only minutes off the main road. Everything you need for a short stay is here and available. The kitchen is well stocked with crockery and cooking requirements. The only thing we couldn't find was a wooden spoon. There are games and puzzles for kids entertainment and a small selection of books. The bed was a wee bit firm for my liking, but still comfortable. Everything is nice, clean and tidy. The property runs on tank water, so be prepared for short showers. Overall, we loved our stay, extending it another night and will definitely be going back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Owner at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . we have added a wooden spoon or 2 . You should have came and ask for 1 .....
Yes we are on tank water , no choices ......this year our rainfall since January has dropped by 1/2 ...
I have review the Bed Soft or Hard above .
The fact that you stayed an other night speak for itself as well as the score you gave us ...
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nubeena, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in Kevin's Cottage which was an awesome change after staying in hotel and motel rooms for several preceding nights.

You get the whole house for the price of a hotel room. Everything you need is included except perhaps a washing machine.

The location is fairly rural but there is a great view and it's not far to find somewhere to eat out if you want.

This was the last place we stayed on a road trip all the way from Perth to the Tasman Peninsula and this was the best value accommodation of the whole trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozneilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TasmaniaDen, Manager at Classic Cottages, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for the score you gave us and the Title ....yes I believe we could be ! Best Value for Money in Australia!
Wish more people were like you and be more realistic ....Wotif , Booking.com takes 15% of your total booking .
We work on very tight profit margins .....
Washing machine we commented on the previous post and we have a laundrette at Port Arthur , we will like our customers to support them because if they go .....
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
2.2 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
573 reviews
2.8 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
356 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
316 reviews
1.8 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
398 reviews
2.9 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Cottages

Property: Classic Cottages
Address: 6 Andersons Rd, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Classic Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Cottages Port Arthur, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing