We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and unhelpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude and unhelpful”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stopped here after attending a wedding in the area. The staff were rude start to finish and unhelpful to our group who were simply wanting a quiet drink and some food which they were unable to provide. We phoned around and found an alternative place who were more than happy to accommodate. Such a shame to see what could be a landmark pub so poorly managed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    95
    64
    46
See reviews for
73
152
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've already left a review here but strangely enough it's gone missing !!???? Would not recommend a meal here , food was awful and my scotch fillet ( hmm don't think it was scotch fillet) was 90% fat and dripping in oil !!! Yuck !! left very hungry and very disapointed !! Also way to expensive for such poor quality food .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Arthur hotels

Yeppoon, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Fox and Hounds Inn is a short drive to the Port Arthur Historic Site and we decided to stay there on the recommendation of friends. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and adequate for our one night stay. However, it was a basic motel room, pretty old fashioned and probably a bit overpriced for what you got. It was cold, windy and raining when we stayed and, once we worked out how to use the heater, we had a nice warm night in the room with no issues. The TV and phone reception is not very good but it is like that in the whole area, you also have to pay for WiFi. We were in a stand alone chalet right on the water at the back of the complex so had plenty of privacy and a fantastic view, not sure if the double storey block of units would be as good to stay in but there were plenty of other people there and it seemed like a popular choice. We had dinner at the Restaurant and both had excellent meals. The restaurant, bar and menu are Olde English themed which is something different. The meals were a little bit pricey but in saying that the meals we had and saw were huge and we found most meals in Tasmania to be more expensive than we expected. Overall it was a pleasant enough experience and I would recommend it to people and probably stay there again.

Room Tip: The stand alone rooms might have better privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had made a booking for 19:30 to eat the restaurant, upon arriving none of the staff had a clue as to what was going on which was annoying and the beginning of a trend. The man was heavily tattooed and looked like a bouncer and was the un-friendliest person you could ever meet.

After finally been shown to our seats we were left wondering as to what to do as no one approached us or even spoke to us around ordering a meal, and the staff(waiters mainly men) walked around as though they were the missing extras from Star Wars (Stormtroopers), it was kind of unnerving for my partner. after 10 mins we went to find out what we needed to do to place our order.

A waiter finally came and then took our order but didn't even ask how we wanted our meat(steak) cooked. When the meal finally arrived mine being "The kings Banquet", which was 3 sausages, 1 egg, 1 lamb chop, 1 Steak, 4 pieces of bacon, tomato, onion and finally chips. Well once again I was let down, but this time by the Chef.

The food was oily very oily the steak was so overcooked it was like rubber, the sausages were very tired looking that they had many wrinkles and one would think how long had they been sitting in the fridge or sun, the chips were cold and onion was covering/smothering them so much that they became wet.
The bacon was nice but yet again smothered in oil, I was beginning to wonder if they had deep fried all the food as it came out in record time to our table and staff claim they didn't leave food in a bay marea and that it was all cooked fresh. After complaining to the staff all they could offer me is to talk to the chef and most people know what happens to your food if it comes back to the table for a 2nd go so I chose not too.
Also it appeared the staff could not give a crap about complaints or even had a policy around what to do.
If you wish to throw money away eat here, if like me you want good quality food and good price then eat at Port Arthur Restaurant "Felons" as we ate there the night before and it was wonderful food and great service.

This place needs Gordon Ramsay to come down and sort the chef out because this was my worst Kitchen Nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm-on=Tees
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This pub offered a clean chalet accommodation with a popular restaurant offering wholesome pub grub which suited our needs for a one night stay. The historic site of Port Arthur was 10 minutes drive away which is well worth the visit. Tip. There is a reduced entry fee to the site after 4pm which allows you time to walk around the whole site and imagine what it was like for the prisoners and the wardens.

Room Tip: It was reasonably quiet when we stayed so can't comment on other than our room which had views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antipodean-52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Tried calling to make a booking, but the girl on the phone said "I don't have time for this" and hung up on me! Needless to say, I was rather annoyed and did not stay or eat here so I have no idea what it is like, but after having read some Google reviews I'm pretty glad that her rudeness turned me away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenE7470KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,139 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Rooms a fair size, good views, beds ok. Bathroom small, shower a bit aged. Location is good off main road with easy access to tourist areas. Restaurant reasonable on site for breakfast and dinner, access to ghost tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.0 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
356 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds Inn

Property: The Fox and Hounds Inn
Address: 6789 Arthur Hwy, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and Hounds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox & Hounds Inn is an Olde English Tudor style hotel situated only 2km from Port Arthur. We have both motel style and two bedroom self contained villa accommodation separate from the main hotel. Landscaped gardens, water views, tennis court, children's playground, native wildlife, private jetty, restaurant, bar and bottle shop make this the ideal place to stay when visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fox and Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Port Arthur
The Fox And Hounds Inn Port Arthur, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing