We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Feed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Feed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Port Arthur late in the afternoon. We were informed that the restaurant at the historic site was booked out and that another one does not open on Tuesdays. We ended up going to Fox and Hounds with no booking and they fitted us in. The decor is amazing and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. The staff were amazing, advised us of all the specials. I ordered the lamb chops ( sorry it was something mutton but I can't recall what it was) and my husband ordered the Knights of Olde which was steak with garlic prawns and scallops. Both meals came with chips and salad ( you can have vegetables instead) and were massive, I could not finish mine. We did consider dessert but as I couldn't finish mine we didn't. Meals was just delicious i do have photos but cannot get them to the iPad from the samsung right now. Staff were telling me about how they had that many bookings for dinner, but due to the amount of walk ins they had no tables. So we were very lucky. Will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    91
    60
    46
See reviews for
71
144
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booking my stay at the Fox and hound was the most pleasurable part of the stay. I had emailed them about availability over the new year period and they responded quickly telling me they had no motel rooms left but did have a 2 bed room apartment they would let be have at 160 a night, what a wonderful deal i thought.
When we arrived i was greeted by a lovely reception lady and made our way to our room where we were met by our neighbors investigating a loud banging noise, they said it had been happening all night and would report it to reception and i thought nothing more of it and headed up to the restaurant for dinner.( don't bother, over priced prepackaged deep fried food)
On returning to our room we discovered that the banging had become louder and more frequent, with some investigating realized that that is was a pump house next to our bedroom. i called reception and asked if there was anything that could be done and they replied that unfortunately the main pump was broken and that someone would be around the next day to fix it and offered a complementary breakfast.
I assumed that the banging would stop during the night when people weren't running water. How wrong i was. When we woke on the second day with very little sleep we did see 2 men in the pump house and thought every thing would be ok and headed out for the day. On our return at 4:30 we were greeted by the loud banging once again and no sight of the 2 men that were supposed to be fixing it. My partner decided to read some reviews and found one from 2 YEARS AGO! complaining about the same thing. Fearing another sleepless night i headed up to reception to be told that it wouldn't be fixed until the next day. i asked if they had another room but they were booked out so told them that i could not possibly spend another night in that room and that i was leaving and would only be paying for one night.

I believe after reading the review from 2 years ago about the same issue that this is an on going issue and that they only put people in that room at peak times and that is why they offered it to me cheaply but that being said has left a sour taste in my mouth and i will not be back. If you decide to stay at the Fox and Hound make sure you ask not to be put in apartment 33.

Room Tip: look else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grump1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Arthur hotels

Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The worst meal in tasmania. For the price of $38.50, I ordered a queens banquet with hot and cold seafood. The fish was disgustinging, fresh water basa I am most sure, and no amount of tartare could save it ... and the calamari was not real but highly processed cheap frozen calamari, needless to say the rest of the meal was equally as bad. Lets say i arrived hungry and left equally as hungry as it was so horrid. I would be incredibly embarrassed if I owned this establishment. We had better dinner at the cafe down the road the night before for a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworthville, NSW
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

One night spent here and that was enough. I found the place 'spooky' - maybe it was because I'd visited Port Arthur beforehand. The room was large, I'll give it that, with a sofa, table & chairs, but the bed was as hard as a rock. Even though early December, the weather was cold and the room hard to heat, plus there was 1 inch gap under the front door, letting in a draught. I also had a couple of "unpaid" guests, a 'daddy-long-legs' (spider) in the shower stall and woodlice, bathroom floor. Towels hard and well used, no shampoo/soap (only dispenser) or shower hat. A noisy weird-looking bathroom exhaust fan. And to top it all, the tv reception is non-existent, so be warned - it kept going off the channel. My room was upstairs, no lift, so you have to lug your bag up. Thin walls, could hear my neighbour. My room did have a large window overlooking the lake, with a couple of black swans and there are beautiful white gum trees about the lake. That's the only good thing I can come up with.
I did have a 3 course meal in the restaurant, which was quite good, except for the "fresh" barramundi, which was frozen before cooking so I found out, it had no taste. The rest of the food was good, so was the buffet brekky next morning. I gather the inn was trying to create a Christmas atmosphere, with all the windows covered in black curtains, the log fire and xmas lights, but it was so lovely & light outside still and so I felt very 'closed in'. It would have been better with the curtains open and a candle on the table. What made me laugh the next morning, was one of the serving staff, a young guy, wearing a baseball hat on backwards, taking away the used crockery in the dining room. I'd say that's a NO NO. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possomchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here one night recently with family. Had two rooms next to each other. Parking is easy as it is directly outside rooms. Restaurant is very good. The meals are lovely and service good. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

As I was travelling with family with easy access needs good staff who are willing to help are essential to helping everyone enjoying their stay. They are here and I highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Fox and Hounds Inn for 2 nights and overall it was pretty alright. The rooms were clean and the views were absolutely gorgeous. Also the proximity to the heritage site was excellent. Food wise a bit overpriced but decent. Not too bad for a motel I guess!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimiprimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although we didn't stay overnight, we had two wonderful dining experiences. The staff were accommodating and friendly and the meals were fantastic! Thanks for helping us out when the place we were staying - Port Arthur Motor Inn could not provide ANY food service whatsoever. We shall book with the Fox and Hounds next time we stay in Port Arthur. Thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 930suzanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.0 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds Inn

Property: The Fox and Hounds Inn
Address: 6789 Arthur Hwy, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and Hounds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox & Hounds Inn is an Olde English Tudor style hotel situated only 2km from Port Arthur. We have both motel style and two bedroom self contained villa accommodation separate from the main hotel. Landscaped gardens, water views, tennis court, children's playground, native wildlife, private jetty, restaurant, bar and bottle shop make this the ideal place to stay when visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox and Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Port Arthur
The Fox And Hounds Inn Port Arthur, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing