We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fox and Hounds Inn
Nearby Hotels
Stewarts Bay Lodge(Port Arthur)(Great Value!)
$128
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Parsons Bay Retreat(Nubeena)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport(Cambridge)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
$94
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
44
89
111
76
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
89
111
76
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor styleenglish tudorbottle shopmain buildingscallopstea and coffeeport arthur areawater viewunit
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 372 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Looks good from the road, but thats about it, rooms were dated, dirty and poor lighting. Restuarant was overpriced, dark and dingy, but food was ok. Its within a good distance to Port Arthur, but nothing else really there, just this place in the middle of the bush. I wondered why this place had vancancies when everything else on the peninsular was booked out, now I know why.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Despite other reviews, we had good service, big main course, and being farmers we need big feeds. The garlic and cheese bread was delicious and desert was fantastic. A really creative atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed two nights in a motel room in Middle of August. The room was adequate for the nights we stayed. It was cold outside and had no problems with the heater in the room. The bed was comfortable and the room clean when we arrived. Its not a 5 star motel so did not expect to much.

Had dinner at the restaurant both nights. Have no complaints about the quality or quantity of the food served. The service was alright even considering they had 90 teenagers in for tea on the first night. The service did not change for the second night.

There was not many people staying at the motel at the time we were as it was low season. I have no complains about the place and would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samurai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a fairly spacious room on the second floor of the motel with a nice view of the woods. Which was nice. But they were still standard issue rooms with no character and not feeling really very clean. There was barely any furniture in the room and the lighting was dismal. The heater was small, noisy and not very efficient. They said there was internet connection. but you had to walk outside in the courtyard to get passable reception. Even then these motel rooms were probably better than the rooms in the lodge, which was full of noisy teenagers when we were there. And yes, check your bill when you check out. We had booked the rooms on the phone a few days earlier and I strongly suspect they charged us more than the price they quoted.

Their dining room looked noisy and the menu unappetizing, so we decided to stay away. Which was lucky for us based on the experience of others. The only very good thing they did was to recommend to us the “Lucky Ducks” in Nubeena, several miles away. This place turned out to be a simple wayside cafe but with surprisingly good and imaginative food. The menu was limited but one dish we had was cold salmon, smoked quail, paté, a nicely tossed salad, and French bread

Room Tip: Take a lightbulb with more light output, if you want to do some reading
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed in one of the motel rooms and for the price it wasn't anything special. Bed a little uncomfortable, particularly for two nights.

If you can go else where for meals as there were not all that good. Service fairly shoddy and check your bill before you pay. If you want to buy anything from the bottle shop go early in the evening as it closes fairly early.

Plenty of other places to go for breakfast, a little coffee shop up the road or one of the B&Bs that has a cafe attached.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews