We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
59
162
134
48
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
162
134
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room key opens private gate direct access course dinner continental breakfast an overnight stay yogurt on site restaurant lovely view port tickets colony onsite pa convenience outlook
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 430 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Motel is literally on the Port Arthur Historic Site, rooms are perfectly suitable for an overnight stay. We had a room overlooking the Port Arthur grounds. There is a bar where you can chat with the locals and our meal at the restaurant was exceptional.
Audrey and Geoff - Thank you for looking after us

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donnalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Thank you we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

Good basic motel but the only one on site! They give you a key to the gate and you can walk through. Good parking and you can check out and leave your car there and use the key until you leave. Tv reception in the rooms is terrible and the free WiFi is very poor !
Breakfast is basic continental style cost $12 / head. Great location clean and comfortable

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank LaurelC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I spent two days at the motor inn. We loved how the motel overlooked the historic site, very beautiful location.
We had the Queen spa room and it was fantastic!
The water is a tannish brown colour which is interesting, so we just put shower gel in the spa to make it a bubble bath. This was sooo relaxing and we slept extremely well!!
This place is so lovely and the bar was a great Aussie atmosphere.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bianca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We booked sight unseen which is something we try not to do but accommodation is scarce so we bit the bullet. Rate was reasonable and it was only one night. Unfortunately, the first impression, driving in to reception, was terrible. A number of people, clearly the worse for wear, gathered outside the bar/reception/restaurant area, and the language was terrible. A couple were so drunk that they could hardly stand up. Reception was not manned, we had to run the gauntlet thru to the bar to find the manager and check in. We were quite wary about returning to the bar/restaurant later on, but wanted a drink and a meal. We later found out most of the drunks were locals and used the bar as their local watering hole. The management needs to take control, and try and ban the bad behavior and language. They have people from all over the world staying and it's not a good look. On the up side, the room was fine and the meal tasty.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

I am happy you enjoyed our rooms and our meals in the restaurant. If our reception is unmanned you do have the option to check in through our restaurant area and do not need to enter the bar as per the sign on the door
I apologise for your first impression of our hotel and it is not always as it seems. Both house guests, visitors and locals use our bar area .
Have taken your comments on board and will address the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We can use room key to open the gate of Port Arthur Historial Site. Stay here, we went inside the Historial Site at night and the next day morning. We are family with 2 kids. They gave us 2 rooms with a door in-between to walk through .

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nganpopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews