We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
55
155
132
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
155
132
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room key opens private gate direct access continental breakfast an overnight stay lovely view yogurt site port colony pa convenience torch outlook heater tassie
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 416 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We booked sight unseen which is something we try not to do but accommodation is scarce so we bit the bullet. Rate was reasonable and it was only one night. Unfortunately, the first impression, driving in to reception, was terrible. A number of people, clearly the worse for wear, gathered outside the bar/reception/restaurant area, and the language was terrible. A couple were so drunk that they could hardly stand up. Reception was not manned, we had to run the gauntlet thru to the bar to find the manager and check in. We were quite wary about returning to the bar/restaurant later on, but wanted a drink and a meal. We later found out most of the drunks were locals and used the bar as their local watering hole. The management needs to take control, and try and ban the bad behavior and language. They have people from all over the world staying and it's not a good look. On the up side, the room was fine and the meal tasty.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

I am happy you enjoyed our rooms and our meals in the restaurant. If our reception is unmanned you do have the option to check in through our restaurant area and do not need to enter the bar as per the sign on the door
I apologise for your first impression of our hotel and it is not always as it seems. Both house guests, visitors and locals use our bar area .
Have taken your comments on board and will address the issues you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

We can use room key to open the gate of Port Arthur Historial Site. Stay here, we went inside the Historial Site at night and the next day morning. We are family with 2 kids. They gave us 2 rooms with a door in-between to walk through .

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nganpopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We stayed here on our final night of travel around Tassie. The owners were very friendly and welcoming - as were the locals! We enjoyed a lovely meal from the restaurant and all food is prepared onsite so was like having a home cooked meal. Our room was lovely and clean and had a lovely view outside. As we were traveling in July when it is obviously very cold (and we are from sunny Queensland!), we found the heating system in the room was not as effective as other places we stayed during our travels but there were plenty of warm blankets. Excellent for access to the Historical Site - just wish we'd had more time to explore!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kerryhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

Told to wait as they can’t find our booking on system. Rudest customer service by Audrey I’ve yet to have in my 60’years of living... tell you what if I were you I would never come to this place.. room was dirty and disgusting,, smelt musty too..
will be spreading word around don’t worry about that.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davebave05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you had mentioned the state of your room to us as this is definately not our standard and would have been rectified immediately. We pride ourselves in clean and tidy facilities for our guests. Being friendly is paramount to our business but beng rude to guests although not tolerated can sometimes be misinterpreted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

We booked this hotel as it was the only accommodation on the Port Arthur Historical Site. It had it owns access via a gate to the site so it was an easy walk to do the Ghost Tour the first night and explore the site the next day. The rooms were a little outdated but were clean and tidy. Beds were very comfortable. There is a restaurant and bar on site so we ordered our dinner prior to the Ghost Tour and upon returning our dinner was served. Hot and very tasty. Hosts are very friendly and accommodating. Definitely recommend as it ticks all the boxes.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews