We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
59
162
134
48
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
162
134
48
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location private gate direct access course dinner continental breakfast an overnight stay yogurt on site restaurant lovely view port tickets colony onsite pa convenience outlook heater
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 430 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a family room which had a connecting door. Both rooms were basic and dated but had all we needed for 1 night stay and were clean. Rooms had a bar fridge, tea/coffee facilities and a tv. The pub onsite has a pool table and a great little atmosphere. The restaurant onsite is way over priced and the food was ordinary. The location can not be beaten, just through a gate and your on the grounds of the historic sight. The staff were very nice. While this is not 5 star accommodation, we had a great time and would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Tarzie-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

Though nicely located near the historic site, the room itself is in poor condition. There were no lights along the corridor making it scary for women traveller. The bed was in poor condition, the blankets and bedding dusty & dirty. Traveller checking in after 3pm (in summer) had to queue up in the pub to get service.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank travelbugnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am a little unsure that you have the right property as we do not have a passage all our rooms face outside with a walkway and we have doonas in all rooms not blankets. All our bedding is of good quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Basic motel with average rooms and prety dated bathrooms. Rooms are of reasonable size but the bathrooms are super small and refurbishment is long overdue. Mixing hot and cold water in the shower was a hit and miss! Wi-Fi was not available in the rooms and access to the rooms in the wing we stayed was via stairs. Bit inconvenient if you have large bags to carry. TV was about the size of a large i-Pad!

On the positive, there is ample parking and private access to Port Arthur Historic site with the gate that can be unlocked with your room key. This was especially useful when we did our ghost tour at night. Rooms were generally clean and basics were provided.

Port Arthur has limited accomodation and for one nights stay (as we did) we found the Motor Inn quite alright and good value for money.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank OZ-Travelling-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017

I chose this based on the reviews I had read. Yes it has a great location, able to walk in to the Port Arthur site. However the bathroom was not what was pictured with poor hot water. Upon arrival Christmas party in progress, difficult to get any assitance after initial checking in. Wifi password not given or any details on how to access site. Did not eat her after looking at fairly high priced menu, ate in the historic sight. I was most disappointed, very run down and not welcoming. Management had note to speak to them if any complaints, tried to find them amongst party on three occasions and then gave up. I would drive back to Hobart as it stays light out till late.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ozuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey N, Owner at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Yes our bathrooms are of the older type but they are maintained and spotlessly clean with only quality towels and bathroom requirements. Our meal prices are comparable to all other restaurant's in the area including the Historic Site with only fresh produce sourced. The Christmas party finished at 6.00pm. Management is always on site to answer all questions and on checking with staff there were no complaints on check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2017

This accommodation is very handy to the historic site. The rooms are in need of a make over but adequate. A number of staff were smokers, smoking close to doorways and where guests had to walk past. Really tainted the fresh air. Cigarette butts and cigarette packet was thrown into the back of a staff members ute- unsightly and I wondered if this rubbish was blown out when ute was driven away.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews