We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buy new towels!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Arthur Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Buy new towels!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Port Arhtur Motor Inn, although the location to the historical site was great this was all the Inn had going for it. When we walked into our room the first thing I saw was a shower full of black long hairs and towels that looked like something you would use as a rag, went to open the curtains and found a window sill full of spider webs and bugs.The restaurant was also a disapointment the food was overpriced and very average. Had to ask for toilet paper on arrival as we had none in our room. Definately won't be staying again or recommending to friends..... Words of advice- in desperate need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Whilst it is hard to read your review, you gave us your opinion when you stayed with us, so this is no surprise. Since your stay we have shaken up our cleanliness in a big way, you came just after we had opened after being closed for 15 days with the fires, we were certainly not at our best. Lets hope we have done enough. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    129
    105
    35
    22
See reviews for
51
191
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salamander Bay, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went here for dinner on our last night in Port Arthur, there isn't a great deal of choice for dinner here, but if you are holidaying or just visiting Port Arthur, don't miss this one. It's a Motor Inn with a Restaurant. The welcome was really warming. Jude looked after us really well. All of the tables have a view over Historical Port Arthur, but the 4-seaters are right at the window, and the view is breath-taking. It looks out over the site and across to the harbour, and as the night approaches the bunnies come out hopping all over the gardens. We didn't stay until dark, but there are hundreds of wallabies there too, which you would be able to see once it's dusk. Back to the food, absolutely superb. An excellent variety to choose from, well-priced, sumptious desserts and a great selection of cold beverages. Topping it off with coffee & chocolates was a delightful finale. We would hightly recommend this gem, it doesn't seem to be advertised much, but we stayed at the Port Arthur Holiday Park, and it was mentioned in their guest information booklet. You'll be sorry if you miss out on this highlight to the Port Arthur area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, you have no idea how fantastic it is when people go to the trouble of writing in with good comments - most people seem to only comment if something went wrong. How lovely to hear your story. Judy is fantastic isn't she, I would come for her service alone! Glad you enjoyed the food and views as well. Hope the rest of your trip was great.
Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was really looking forward to staying here. Thought it might be something special but was sadly disappointed. Rooms where just average.....ours had an 'old' smell about it. Nothing special here.

The hotel was under booked (due to recent bush fires), probably only one third full, but they put everyone in the same area. Normally fine but we could quite easily through the walls. A bit of distance would have been nice since they were so under booked.

Still the most disappointing thing by far was the service. They talked us into getting our Port Arthur Convict settlement tickets for the next day from them, as well as the Ghost Tour tickets, but provided no extra guidance or advice. Luckily we got down to the Visitor Centre later that evening (they are open late) and got all the info we should have been told when buying the tickets....like there was a guided tour and cruise as part of our ticket price that we had to book in for and where to meet etc. The Motel, as a ticket agent, should have at the very least just pointed us in the right direction.

Was told there was a complimentary continental breakfast in the restaurant. When we went to have breakfast the next day it was all locked up. Apparently breakfast is served between 8 am and 9am only. We were there at 9.15. Wouldn't that have been something worth mentioning to us?

Just like the room, I think that the receptionist was too old and stale. As there was another lady on the next day when we checked out that was quite pleasant, I feel it only fair that I mention provide further details. The lady that let us down was taller and had a snarly bulldog type face. Sorry to characterise someone that way but I dont want to get the wrong lady in trouble and this persons looks were quite striking and the appropriate people will know who I mean.

The service we received for our evening meal in the Restaurant by the waitress and chef was very good.

We wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggotGuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I am so sorry you were so badly let down by one receptionist. That is disgraceful as we all know that we have to put our guests in the full picture when purchasing tickets from us. All I can say is that this will be dealt with asap. Please accept my apologies, I know exactly whom you are describing (well not the bulldog bit, but otherwise recognisable ). Of course you would not know what to do unless you had been told, I promise however that normal practise is to inform guests fully of how to use the tickets. To be able to walk through our gate into the site is wonderful, but it comes with an obligation to explain the procedure.
About breakfast, I really think you may have misheard her, as she does always say breakfast is between 8 and 9, sorry you missed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Arthur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a perfectly good option for a short stay in Port Arthur. It's uninspiring, but I think they can get away with that because the town has a constant stream of tourists and there aren't many other accommodation options. The exterior of the buildings is quite outdated, but the rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped. There's plenty of free parking and our breakfast was included, which is fortunate as there are very few options in Port Arthur to eat. You are on the edge of the historic township and it's well worth a wander in the evening to see the township without the crowds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BContour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. A fair review, and I hope you enjoyed Port Arthur, it is a beautiful place isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

As other reviewers have said, the location is wonderful, and walking back to the hotel from the ghost tour is an atmospheric experience. We were not looking for luxury, and 'simple' would have been fine, but what we found was a feeling of neglect. The towels were frayed, the sheets tired (though clean), and behind the breakfast buffet (tinned peaches in this land with some of the best fresh fruit in the world) stood a broken chair with all its stuffing hanging out - just a moment would have moved it, but it seemed that no-one could be bothered. We were pleased that we had not taken the special offer that included evening meal, and instead escaped to the excellent Taylor's restaurant for a most enjoyable dinner: how we wished we'd known that they do accommodation too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your response, I guess we are all a bit tired after the fires have hit us so badly, we are glad you came down however, as so many have cancelled. I think that had you tried the restaurant you would have been very pleasantly surprised, whilst we in no way compete with Taylors, which is marvellous, but in a completely different price bracket to our motel, our meals are extremely well priced and well cooked. I am sorry about the chair, I use it in the kitchen waiting for people to come in for breakfast, looks like I will have to go without the seat now. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our first overnight stay in Port Arthur and, we all thought, this was a good choice!

As far as motels go, it is well above your average, the place is rather stylish in a 19th century kind of way, fitting perfectly with the Port Arthur buildings architecture, who'd want a super modern kind of hotel next to a Historic site?

Clean, with comfortable beds and an 'on site' restaurant for early breakfasts, it's offering great, no frills accommodation but, above all, it's proximity to the actual prison grounds, makes it ideal for those that take the late(ish) "Ghost tour" as, it is only a short 6 - 7 minute walk from the Tourist visitors Center.

A very pleasant lady greeted us at reception and gave us all the information we needed for our visit to Port Arthur.

The rooms have a rear common veranda, great to catch some sun on a chilly early Tasmanian morning!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and, I have no hesitation to recommend it to other fellow travelers, that don't expect Intercontinental style accommodation in the middle of a Historic site.

Room Tip: Leave your car there and take the short pleasant walk down to the Visitor's Centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBrown1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I thank you for being very fair to us, and for mentioning our best points. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for tour of Port Arthur. Top location.... Rooms basic but clean. Restaurant basic but ok. So long as you remember the price and judge it accordingly you'll enjoy your stay. This not a place you'd come to spend a week, but for your Port Arthur stopover its actually very good as its only a walk to the start of your tour.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I think that your review is spot on, we aim for simple clean accommodation with a marvellous site location right on the historic site. I hope you enjoyed Port Arthur and will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.5 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.2 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Arthur Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Motor Inn

Property: Port Arthur Motor Inn
Address: 29 Safety Cove Rd, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Arthur)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Arthur Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Arthur Motor Inn is amazingly situated in the Port Arthur Historic Site precinct, it is this location which makes the hotel unique. Walk to all your tours direct from the hotel. Our Dining room has the finest view over the historic site, relax by the fire in winter and out on the terrace in summer. We cater for most budgets, with our Guard row rooms and our Officer row rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Port Arthur Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Arthur Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Comfort Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing