We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But Nothing Special.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Ideally located for tour of Port Arthur. Top location.... Rooms basic but clean. Restaurant basic but ok. So long as you remember the price and judge it accordingly you'll enjoy your stay. This not a place you'd come to spend a week, but for your Port Arthur stopover its actually very good as its only a walk to the start of your tour.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I think that your review is spot on, we aim for simple clean accommodation with a marvellous site location right on the historic site. I hope you enjoyed Port Arthur and will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Port Arthur Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very basic motel that has not been redecorated since the 1960's. It is as close to Port Arthur's as you could wish - walking distance. The linen was clean but very tired and worn. The air conditioning unit is very noisy due to it age but it does work. You need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner if you want them separately. The continental breakfast is simple cereal, toast and tinned fruit. However for the price you pay it is good value. This is simply somewhere to sleep and not suited to an extended stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jwatkins168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thanks for your review, I agree it is fair on the whole, we do not claim any frills we do not have. The hotel was refurbished in 2004, the decor is not modern, but our queen rooms are attractive and clean. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was down for a 4 night stay with my Mother for work commitments. The room was very neat and tidy-clean. It was very comfortable and suited to all our needs, A great place to stay when you are out and about for most of the and exploring the historic site particularly as it is literally over the fence!
Parking is quite tight so I would suggest if hiring a car to have a small one! Although there is suitable parking for larger cars which is placed just outside of the rooms, but it is barely a walk at all so you needn't worry too much.
The staff were very kind and friendly. It does say that breakfast is LIGHT, and it is. A collection of cereal,toast and peaches although on one of the mornings of our stay we were presented with bacon and eggs which was really nice to have a more substantial meal.
We booked to have dinner for one of the nights and were very pleasently suprised, the meal was very very good and well presented!
All up we enjoyed our stay, the beds were comfortable and very clean. A great place to stay when you are touristing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 305Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus L, Manager at Port Arthur Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

How kind of you to take the trouble to leave positive feedback, I am so glad you found your stay pleasant and the staff friendly, I hope you will come again some time. Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

On fitting with the convict theme, this hotel really offers some extra features. The hard bed really makes you think you are sleeping on the floor and the hessian towels were an extra special touch. We only had dinner at the restaurant. The burnt parmigiana with tinned tomatoes and laden with cheese was disappointing as was the garlic bread with freezer burn.
Excellent location, glad it was only one night with the facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1B2C3D4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room was basic, but clean, if a little dated.
Location to the Port Arthur Historic site was great with the ability to enter via the gate using your room key.
We made a booking at the restaurant for 7pm, but due to a phone call we arrived at 7.15pm to be told by the woman behind the bar that she had sent the kitchen staff home!
When I asked her what the options were for dinner she laughed and shrugged her shoulders.
Fortunately we'd booked a ghost tour and were able to get a meal there.
Not a great way to treat your guests.
Breakfast was basic, and would suggest that the tinned fruit be replaced with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The proximity to the Historic Site is great; especially if you do the Ghost Tour. However, the room was meant to be a refurbished room - but the stained bed cover and carpet had clearly been omitted from the refurb as had the bathroom. Tasmania has great food but the breakfast here - tinned peaches as the only fruit option, cardboard bread and hair in the muesli - the exception. The chipped paint work and dirty ceilings in the dining room left one feeling dirty. This place needs some serious investment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The motel shares its boundary with the Port Arthur World Heritage site. This is very convenient as you can pay your entry fee at the motel and enter the site through a gate next to the motel. No parking worries, plus the convenience of returning to your room anytime during the day. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant and bar were good value. This establishment offers great value for money for convenience, views overlooking the Port Artur site and on site restaurant and bar. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Port Arthur site.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
0.7 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
579 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
324 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
242 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
409 reviews
2.8 mi away
Classic Cottages
Classic Cottages
#5 of 5 in Port Arthur
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Arthur Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Motor Inn

Address: 29 Safety Cove Rd, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Arthur)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range: $83 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Arthur Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Arthur Motor Inn is amazingly situated in the Port Arthur Historic Site precinct, it is this location which makes the hotel unique. Walk to all your tours direct from the hotel. Our Dining room has the finest view over the historic site, relax by the fire in winter and out on the terrace in summer. We cater for most budgets, with our Guard row rooms and our Officer row rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Arthur Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Arthur Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Comfort Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing