We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location! Good Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Australia
Level Contributor
602 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good location! Good Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hotel backs on to Port Arthur historical site but even thought they promote your room key opens the gate to the site as advertising, they still charge you $25 p/person entry fee to get through the gate. The room was spacious and as the area is not a tourist friendly society the hotel worked well for us. They include a contenial breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the historic site and that was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    130
    113
    37
    24
See reviews for
52
200
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised to see that it was directly overlooking the site of Port Arthur. Despite forewarning we would check-in late, the duty manager was not happy when we arrived.

The rooms were comfortable & the showers had high pressure heads, so we were satisfied.

A basic breakfast was also included and served in the dining room overlooking the grounds. We arrived at the time stipulated in the hotel instructions only to be 'told off' by the staff that we had missed breakfast.

It is a basic hotel and is conveniently located to the surrounding sites (highly recommend the Port Arthur ghost tour), but don't expect great or any customer service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TD191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Really disappointing, small, dirty, cold and damp, maybe it's supposed to make you feel like a convict so you get the whole package but come on guys spend some money and fix up your place. I could'nt help thinking wow this is a great site, lots of tourists , great view over the port arthur site, lets rip down this dump and build something decent. Just think about the numbers you would accomodate each year, thousands and thousand of visitors to port arthur alone. Please take my advice and stay somewhere else like Hobart, less than 1 star here.

Room Tip: Choosea room in Hobart instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Arthur hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
191 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Terric views over Port Arthur and convent access to the park after dark. The room was in tip-top shape. Breakfast was thin, however, and below reasonable expectations.

Room Tip: Get a spa room. Units 1-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This Comfort Inn is a good choice if you're looking for a clean place and value for your money. You are able to enter the historial site by way of a latched gate beside the motel. The staff is very friendly and although some of the rooms have been remodeled, the place has lots of character (complete with creaky floors). When I was there, internet access was dial up and there were 2 tv channels available, The continental breakfast was mainly cereals and breads. I plan to return once again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Visiting the Port Arthur Historic Site really takes a good 2 days minimum so staying here was ideal. The hotel adjoins the site and provide a gate to re-enter which is handy. The rooms are basic but clean. The A light breakfast was included in the room price which was also basic. No frills but served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Great place to stay, has a gate leading straight onto the convict settlement. Nice comfy rooms. Good bathroom. Air conditioner took a while to warm up the room, but to be fair we arrived on a rainy day and it was blowing a gale. Bed comfortable. Breakfast included, dining area very nice, great food in the restaurant and a nice open fireplace. Staff very polite and helpful. Definitely the place to stay while visiting Port Arthur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the officer's row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandmastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
0.7 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Arthur Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Motor Inn

Property: Port Arthur Motor Inn
Address: 29 Safety Cove Rd, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Arthur)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Arthur Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Arthur Motor Inn is amazingly situated in the Port Arthur Historic Site precinct, it is this location which makes the hotel unique. Walk to all your tours direct from the hotel. Our Dining room has the finest view over the historic site, relax by the fire in winter and out on the terrace in summer. We cater for most budgets, with our Guard row rooms and our Officer row rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Arthur Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Arthur Hotel Port Arthur
Port Arthur Comfort Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing