We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port Arthur”

Port Arthur Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.60*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Port Arthur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Port Arthur”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My Family and I throughly enjoyed the tour.
Geno from Adventure Island tours we found to be engaging, friendly and extremely informative.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jez s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,107
    769
    137
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Australian Historical Site”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic place to visit if you like history and walking, you can easily spend an entire day walking around here.
The day tour is very informative, The separate prison & asylum were definitely the best and most interesting places there. The cruise out to the isle of the dead was good too.
I recommend taking the Ghost tour, very freaky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seanzito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great historical site”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Friendly staff - great exhibit display when you arrive - very professional and informative.

Many things to see - helpful guides. Ghost tour is spooky but is well worth it - kids loved it (10 & 12).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank don11Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Well preserved reminder of our checkered history”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent today wandering around the beautiful Port Arthur, amazed and impressed with how well things have been preserved without being cliched. We began with the walking tour and our guide Tammy was great. Beginning with an acknowledgement of the layers of history beginning with the traditional custodians, she made it quietly clear what would be the focus of the tour without denying the long indigenous history, nor its more recent events. Her dry humour, insightful comments and focus on people was a great reminder that while what we see today are buildings, real history is about people.

The ferry ride complemented the walking tour and gave us a chance to see this are from a slightly different perspective, appreciating the beauty of the natural harbour.

Wandering around the buildings is a great opportunity to appreciate how people have lived over the time of the settlement and beyond. It is great to see that while buildings are being preserved, they haven't become touristy cliches.

The information centre, while interactive is not the strongest feature of the area, but doesn't try to be. It supports the natural environment, enticing you to get out and experience.

The tasteful memorial to more recent tragedies is a reminder of how history intertwines through the years.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A amazing learning experience”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Myself and my family went to Port Arthur Historic Site for the day. It was interesting and engaging. We really enjoyed looking around at all the old buildings. It was fascinating experience learning how the convicts used to live. The walking tour was informative, and the cruise was delightful. The Visitor Centre had a interesting walk through museum, where you could watch, listen and look at what it was like as a convict. We decided to do the ghost tour as well as the day tour.
It will only take half a day to look at all of the fascinating buildings. Definitely bring a camera, a water bottle and good walking shoes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur Historic Site also viewed

Port Arthur, Tasmania
 
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to Port Arthur Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing