We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see”

Port Arthur Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.06*
and up
Small-Group Tasmania Convict Trail and Port Arthur Day Trip from Hobart
More Info
$31.48*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
More Info
$100.89*
and up
Port Arthur Tour from Hobart
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Port Arthur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
nsw
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was a bit surprised at the entry cost to Port Arthur. We chose the $70 (a head for adults) tour and we certainly got value for money. We chose to do the cruise with the Isle of the Dead which was facinating. You could elect to see the boys prison instead if you wanted. In the afternoon we had our guided tour of Port Arthur. Such an important and fascinating Historical site. Lunch was also included in the entry price. We had a large bowl of soup, toasted sandwiches and a dessert. You also had other selections. The tour guides were very professional and informative. The buildings and the history amazing. A must see for any tourist.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank willow283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,187
    793
    140
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This is an amazing place you have to visit in Tasmania!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We took our 2 children ages 7 & 10 here we all found the history about the convicts so interesting. The grounds are beautiful, and there is so much to see and do. The displays, ruins and replicas are interactive and interesting. Well worth the $80 family entrance fee, which is for 2 days. This includes a cruise and a guided tour which is very informative.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You should spend at least a day here”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited Port Arthur with our 9 year old boys and purchased a package that included a short guided tour, a cruise across to the Isle of the Dead and we also received headsets with information for the entire site.

We spent the entire day at the site and found it incredibly interesting and fascinating. It is an important part of our history and it was wonderful to be able to share that with our children while also learning a lot ourselves. Not at any stage did either of our boys say they were bored, as there is so much to explore and learn.

Our guides were excellent and very knowledgeable. They were happy to answer questions at any time.

The self guided headsets are a great idea as you can walk around at your own leisure and learn along the way.

It really is a must see if you are heading to Tasmania.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank physiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Views ..”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Love how beautiful the site was in the daytime. Do the introductory tour as it is very informative and our tour guide was great. By the way, try the wedges at the cafe, it is sublime!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Check_ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a wonderful day there but didn't realise that if you bought a combined ticket it would be valid for 2 days. What a shame we were only there for one day. Will be back though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur Historic Site also viewed

Port Arthur, Tasmania
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to Port Arthur Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing