We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Arthur Historic Site

Port Arthur Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.72*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Port Arthur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have visited Port Arthur a few times and its amazing every time. Very impressed as always with the upkeep of the site and would recommend it as a must see for anyone travelling around Tasmania.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,021
    735
    131
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historically interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

For me it was all about the history of the convict settlement as I am following in the footsteps of a convict descendent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nubeena, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Steeped in Convict History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Educational experience and lots of walking. Gardens and buildings are fascinating. You can bring your own lunch or eat at the cafes on site. There is a barbeque and a play area near the parking lot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mariahzwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“not eveything was open but still a good day out and about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'll be honest Tassie is too cold for my liking but this was a great day out its a real pity that not everything was open but you get that

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Topknotpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Half day in Port Arthur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

It was 30 years since we had last been to Port Arthur. Despite it's awful history there is a tranquility to the site. I foud the website a little difficult to navigate as tour times seemed to be only available if you rang. The boat cruise was linked to the tour time we subsequently discovered.

You can easily do the site in half a day by purchasing a bronze pass which gives you an introductory tour and cruise. Our guide was really good and passionate about the place. Keep an eye on your watch though as you might miss your allocated time for the cruise. Our tour went overtime by 6 minutes, which meant sprinting to the boat with 4 minutes to go.

On the way there or back make sure you stop at the waterfront cafe in Dunalley. The best home amde cakes, real cream and great coffee in a beautiful location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank n0maDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur Historic Site also viewed

Port Arthur, Tasmania
 
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to Port Arthur Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing