We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing preservation of convict history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Arthur Historic Site

Port Arthur Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.87*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Port Arthur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing preservation of convict history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I traveled by coach with the Grayline tours out of Hobart, the coach driver was very knowledgeable and we had a couple of stops on the way down to have a look at some natural features know as the Tasman Arch and Devils Kitchen. At Port Arthur my husband and I decided to do our own walking tour which can be done with head phones or you can opt to go on a walking tour. There are a lot of plagues around that also gives information about the buildings you are going into or seeing. We had heard that there is a good ghost tour at night however we weren't staying the night so didn't do this but may if we go back down that way, which I would like to do. The buildings are well preserved and there is work on-going to ensure that this historic site isn't lost.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Koleenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,012
    734
    131
    38
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Truly a great day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We drove form Hobart. It's an easy drive for a day. Arriving around 10.30 we jumped on the boat for the cruise and then went on the guided tour. Afterwards we inspected all the buildings and enjoyed lunch. Highlights we're the swore ate prison and the governors house. This is an amazing place that's not to be missed. We didn't leave until 4. We visited the local blow holes on the way hole and these represent great scenery also.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well preserved, excellent guides, worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Port Arthur is well worth a visit if you are travelling around Tasmania. The site is very well preserved and has excellent museums and information on the sites history. We were very impressed with the guides that provided the free tours throughout the site (two tours were included with our bronze pass).

This was one of the few places in Tasmania were we were able to get really good information about the very interesting history of the island. Also worth visiting the 'dog line' and associated museum if you are driving past it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic site & Ghost Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

If your are in Tasmania, then this is a must-do! It's just simply stunning, full of history and you really appreciate the stories behind each buliding.

We did the day tour, and the Night Ghost Tour. I have been twice in 2 years and would go again, simply because there is never enough time in one day to see everything and soak it all in. The Ghost tour was a little scary, but I loved that about it! If you do this tour then it is a great idea to stay at the accomodation that is on site... you get to walk back through Port Arthur all by yourselves after the Ghost tour is finished... that was just so scary... and a privlidge to be trusted to have premium access to the site!

Already planning our next trip!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozy_agga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed so close that we could walk around the coast to Port Arthur. We paid for the bronze tour and did the Isle of the Dead boat tour. Most wonderful place, so full of history and photo opportunities. We also did the dinner and ghost tour experience that night. Absolutely wonderful and a real highlight of our trip. The guide was terrific and I was so scared. It was freezing cold, pitch black dark and scarey as hell! Loved it!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur Historic Site also viewed

Port Arthur, Tasmania
 
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to Port Arthur Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing