We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, if you like history and architecture”

Port Arthur Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.04*
and up
Port Arthur Historic Site 2-Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Port Arthur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Port Arthur Historic Site is the best-preserved convict settlement in Australia and among the most significant convict era sites in the world. It has won many awards and has been called one of Australia's great tourism destinations. The Site combines rich history and scenic beauty to tell the stories of the harsh discipline and determined industry of the settlement. It is a place to discover Australian history and connect with the origins of Australian culture.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yes, if you like history and architecture”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Due to time limitation, we had a quick stroll (around 1 hour) at the site, day time without escort. Among all the spots, I would say Separate Prison is the one not to be missed. Spend a little bit of time to read their intro, you will find the purpose of 'separate prison' is good; the convicts were asked to be in silence for 23hrs a day, basically is almost no interaction with anyone else. Personally, I think this is a good idea for self reflection, with no external influential factor.

Helpful?
Thank SenMING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,136
    774
    138
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mona Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a lovely day”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Was a bit expensive for the whole family but we thoroughly enjoyed our day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Pittwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Now how many people can say that they enjoyed their time in jail?! We had a great day at the Port Arthur Historical Site. Arrive early and plan to stay for the ghost tour in the evening. We purchased the gold pass which included all the little tours, audio guide and meals and felt in the long run that it was a good deal. (The snacks we had were delicious and the evening meal at Felons was good, but we were late for lunch and many of the choices were already gone.) We did the introductory tour and then continued on with our map and audio guide, which provided some good information. The buildings are well maintained and the tour of the Isle of the Dead was interesting. Whether or not you believe, the ghost tour was good entertainment. I suggest staying in the area so that you don't have to worry about driving far in the dark after the day's visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOn9928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic day trip from Hobart”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Port Arthur was well worth the trip. We did the overview ticket which was just enough information to enable us to walk around the site. It also included a 20 min cruise which was a wonderful interlude on a beautiful day.

Helpful?
2 Thank judef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic historical site”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a great place for any age to visit and learn about Australian convict history. It has a vast array of sites to visit and activities to enjoy. Come prepared for any weather and wear good shoes. Also getting an audio guide is a must to get a detailed story of the place.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SDL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Arthur Historic Site also viewed

Port Arthur, Tasmania
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 
Port Arthur, Tasmania
 

Been to Port Arthur Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing