We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best In Taz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Arthur Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best In Taz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overnight stay with motorhome on a ten day tour, certainly the best that we encountered on the trip. Large individual bays with privacy, super clean ameneties, with a great location to the waterfront. Would defintely recomend to those looking for somewhere decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PUMPOP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    88
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
122
153
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geilston Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We regularly camp at this site and are always very happy campers! The staff are lovely. The amenities block and communal kitchen/dining area are always kept clean and have all resources you could need. Playground and camp layout very child friendly. Camp sites are very good size and most are quite private - we have 3 tents which fit wonderfully and occasionally share with friends too. In hot weather the beach is great at Stewarts bay - an easy 5 minute walk away! We have also stayed in the bunkhouse, which was roomy, clean and warm. We love it and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a water view cabin. Whilst not the Ritz, they are adequately furnished and comfortable. Remember, the price per night compared to plusher facilities is excellent thus in this context they are impressive value. As a family of five, the youngest being six, we found the children were constantly entertained. Bike riding, walks around the bay, good onsite play equipment and so on. It is very children friendly unlike our prior poor experience at a Caravan Park further south. The hosts here, Stephen and Leanne, are hard working & hospitable. Their attitude is one of 'How can we help?'....this gives the place an edge over competitors we have experienced. The beach nearby is superb and an easy walk. The cabins have reverse cycle heating and cooling, their own bathroom / shower and overall with older but fully functioning facilities. They have lovely views across the bay, unaffected by the recent fires further north and quietness rarely broken except by occasional children playing or boats moving in the bay. A good boat ramp is near the park thus many people bring their boat as fishing in the area is very good, with many sheltered bays. We have visited several times over the years and have always enjoyed our stay - Kids & parents which isn't always the case everywhere. Definitely worth visiting and using as your base to explore the region. Port Arthur penal colony is only a few minutes drive away. Pub up the road (Fox & Hounds) has good meals if you want to eat out as it is self catering at the Park itself. Plenty of free gas BBQ's are also available as well as full cooking facilities in the cabin. Overall, a very relaxing stay and only an hour from the airport approx.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped out of the car onto the park we felt calm and at ease being surrounded by the bush and natures wildlife! This park is instantly reminded me of what traditional parks were all about! Walking into the reception we were greeted warmly with a friendly face! We were greeted as guests and friends by Leanne - not just customers! In this day and age it is hard to find great customer service where the managers genuinely want to help... The best part here is that you could tell from the moment you meet either of the managers that they genuinely love there job!
I have visited this park breifly a few years ago and you can notice the change in management and the wonderful work the current managers have put in to making this park what it is today!
Clear directions were provided to locate our site- we had chosen to camp on a powered site. The size of the campsites is amazing... You really feel like you have room to move and your own little patch of privacy! Even better... Our site came with our own ensuite which made the stay seem like we had our own little block of land!
All the facilities around the park are fantastic, we went for a walk to have a sticky beak around and came across the communal bathrooms and can I just say I have never come across such clean and well maintained facilities in this style of park!
We utilised the camp kitchens for most of our meals... Again they were a great size, clean and well looked after!
There is a great playground availible if you have children and waking around the grounds you can make the most of this peaceful area and again veiw the natural wildlife. There is a secluded beach which is great for swimming, perfect for families or jumping on kayaks!
On one of our many walks we ran into another manager Steve who was working on the park ensuring that the sites were maintained, clean and ready to go for the next lot of happy campers! He also was warm, friendly and a pleasure to talk to, he made sure we were having a great time and everything was to our satisfaction! And we can safely say there were no complaints here!
The service we recieved here was nothing short of amazing, by far the greatest customer service we have received in this area since our arrival! We didn't want to leave! But sadly... All holidays must come to an end!
Leanne and Steve, we would like to say you are doing a lovelly job with this park and thanks for the experience!
We will be back again to stay at this little peace of paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This park is a must for any families looking for accommodation in a safe, picturesque and very child friendly environment. The managers, Steve and Leanne were extremely hospitable, and made us all feel very welcome straight away (even though we got lost and didn’t arrive until 8pm!) Nothing was a drama to them, Steve helped my husband fix our camper on his day off, using his own tools and wouldn’t accept anything more than a thank you for the hours he spent helping us to make our flight back in Hobart in time.
The facilities available to us were outstanding and the kids loved feeding the wildlife after dark.
I highly recommend this park to anyone looking for a place to stay on the Tasman Peninsula.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Traveling in our Kombi and tent - this park was well suited, bushland surroundings, amenities block new and clean, all the normal things you need for camping, great camp kitchen and washing area. Some local walks to Stewart Beach etc, kids area huge and well used by popultion.

Staying in a powered site for 4 nights whilst checking out the sights, Port Arthur etc (very close to the Port Arthur site only a few minutes in the car) You can even use the fire places, bring your own wood or purchase some form the shop.. the shop is well stocked and they even sell fuel for the car!

Sites are big and level - the rest of the park is a bit hilly, more so depending on where your site is so toilets can be a walk.

Staff very friendly - stopped for a chat and was most accomodating, even had an item returned to us in the post when found in the laundry, so staff go out of their way..

Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a site map to check your allocation, the toilets and amenities are all in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here 1 night in our campervan, would have loved to have stayed more!!, The owners made us feel so welcome and it is set in beautiful bushland , we arrived about 4 O'clock and bought some of the meat from the fridge in reception for dinner, the steak was delicious and tender cooked on one of the many BBQ's . The grounds were immaculate , the communal kitchen looked fantastic . the showers and toilets were spotless. the kids loved the playground and we did the walk down to the beach. As we had dinner outside the van as it got dark we were amazed to see potoroos and wallabys and lorikeets join us. It truly was a magical setting. We made use of the free dvd's and there are also games for use as well. Cant really find a fault!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.2 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
6.2 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Change Safety Cove
Sea Change Safety Cove
#1 of 1 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Arthur Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Arthur Holiday Park

Property: Port Arthur Holiday Park
Address: Garden Point, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Port Arthur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Arthur Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Arthur Holiday Park is the ideal base to explore the whole Tasman Peninsula. Situated at Garden Point, 1 km north of Port Arthur, it is central to the area's many attractions including the Port Arthur Historic Site, the Coalmines Historic Site, plus the many natural scenic features including the magnificent rock formations at Eaglehawk Neck and the Remarkable Cave. The Port Arthur Holiday Park encompasses 40 acres of landscaped grounds with an accent on individual privacy together with open outdoor activity areas which make it an ideal venue for groups and families with children.The park has 20 fully self-contained cabins, some with water views and private balconies, as well as powered, unpowered and ensuite sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Port Arthur Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Arthur Holiday Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing