We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish accommodation in a beautiful location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Waterfront Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish accommodation in a beautiful location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Beautiful, stylish, clean and comfortable apartment overlooking the stunning beach vista.
We enjoyed a lovely weekend at this spotless and stylish apartment equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing and indulgent stay. The big deep bath was heavenly after a day exploring the local area and surrounds. The fright train was a bit of a fright in the early hours, but more than compensated for by the soothing lull of the waves gently lapping the shore.
Pengiun is a gorgeous little town with a fabulous new cafe The Letterbox (part of the old post office) and some quirky shops. The area is lovely and peaceful and the locals very friendly.
We would highly recommend the apartments - they are just what they say they are: Penguin Luxury Waterfront!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Penguin Waterfront Escape, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks for the amazing review so happy you enjoyed your weekend with us and we Hope you comeback again
Libby
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our last night in Tasmania and we ended it in this luxurious apartment. Fantastic views of the coast and beach. Modern and spacious. Lovely hosts. Had we known that Cradle Mountain was only 90 minutes drive we would have stayed here the night before as well. if I could I would give this place 10 STARS !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roadstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very luxurious and beautifully-appointed apartments somewhat incongruously located on the first floor above a retail outlet! A lovely view of the sea, with an outside deck, and easy access to main street shops, cafes, etc. No lift, so be prepared to lug your suitcases up several flights of stairs. Also, astonishingly, no tea or coffee provided.

Room Tip: Both flats look similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and loved the accommodation. Fantastic views. Lovely morning sunshine. Two decks at either end if the apartment to benefit from the sun. Very modern and spacious. Friendly hosts. It might be worth noting the train line behind the apartment with an early morning freight train (7am sat, 6am sun) but it didn't detract from the enjoyment of the apartment and location. Near by shops, pub and tourist office. And you could almost throw a pebble onto the beach from the balcony.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank enners78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My friend and I stayed 5 nights and used Penguin as a base to discover the North West. Had we known that we could drive to Cradle Mountain in 90 minutes we would have stayed longer. This is our third January discovering yet another region of Tasmania, and the accommodation and location were the best we have stayed in. We loved sitting on the balcony watching the world go by, and on the first day saw a seal lolling in the water about 5 metres from shore. The apartments have a back balcony too. Terry & Libby were welcoming, but not in your face, and very obliging. The Penguin Markets are a must on Sundays and the town has an excellent bakery. The coastal road from Ulverstone to Penguin is magnificent. Try a Harley motorbike ride on this road- on offer at the Markets!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Penguin is a sleepy little town but a good place to be in relation to Devonport & Burnie. This accommodation is very well positioned with all the mod-cons you could want (but I would have liked bath towels, blockout curtains, fly-screen to the balcony and an outdoor setting on the balcony to overlook the water - that would have made it excellent but I am just being picky now). I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in this part of Tassie.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Penguin Waterfront Escape, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for your recent review and we are pleased that you consider us the best place to stay in this part of Tassie ,and this has been confirmed by us recently winning Best Deluxe Accommodation in our region. Cradle Coast Tourism .
Our response to the issues raised are, Outdoor settings ,to compliment amazing views are on site ,both on front and rear decks..
Fly screens and block out curtains, ,we decided early, not to place dark screens, over our fabulous views ,they have been previously described by a tripadvisor reviewer as 7 stars ,and we certainly do not wish these to be compromised in any way. Our semi blockout blinds we consider to be the best compromise.
Luxury Bath towels are provided and as we are on site back up supply is available at any time
Terry and Libby Burton
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at penguin waterfront escape for 3 nights and like all the other reviewers could have stayed much longer. The apartments are large, modern and extremely well fitted out. They offer a great view of the beach and coast. Not only do they have a front balcony with a great ocean view but also an equally large back balcony which offers nice views of the town, surrounding hills and sunsets. The apartments have 2 large bedrooms, and 2 beautiful bathrooms, plus massive living / kitchen area as well as laundry facilities.
The owners Terry and Libby are very welcoming and a great source of information for local attractions, dining and sight seeing.
This is a lovely place to stay and soo much nicer than anything you will find in the bigger towns of Devonport or Burnie. We highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay on the north Coast of Tasmania.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penguin
0.0 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.7 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
52 Main Beachfront Apartments
6.5 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Waterfront Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Waterfront Escape

Property: Penguin Waterfront Escape
Address: 68A Main Rd, Penguin, Tasmania 7316, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Penguin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Penguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Penguin Waterfront Escape 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning luxury apartments 30m from ocean - absolute waterfront - 150m2 fully equipped kitchen and laundry - off street parking with free wifi - walking distance to shops and restaurants. Right in the heart of NW coast, one hour from Cradle Mountain National Park and l hour 30 mins from Stanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penguin Waterfront Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Waterfront Escape Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing