We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penguin Waterfront Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Penguin is a sleepy little town but a good place to be in relation to Devonport & Burnie. This accommodation is very well positioned with all the mod-cons you could want (but I would have liked bath towels, blockout curtains, fly-screen to the balcony and an outdoor setting on the balcony to overlook the water - that would have made it excellent but I am just being picky now). I can't imagine there is a better place to stay in this part of Tassie.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry B, Owner at Penguin Waterfront Escape, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for your recent review and we are pleased that you consider us the best place to stay in this part of Tassie ,and this has been confirmed by us recently winning Best Deluxe Accommodation in our region. Cradle Coast Tourism .
Our response to the issues raised are, Outdoor settings ,to compliment amazing views are on site ,both on front and rear decks..
Fly screens and block out curtains, ,we decided early, not to place dark screens, over our fabulous views ,they have been previously described by a tripadvisor reviewer as 7 stars ,and we certainly do not wish these to be compromised in any way. Our semi blockout blinds we consider to be the best compromise.
Luxury Bath towels are provided and as we are on site back up supply is available at any time
Terry and Libby Burton
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at penguin waterfront escape for 3 nights and like all the other reviewers could have stayed much longer. The apartments are large, modern and extremely well fitted out. They offer a great view of the beach and coast. Not only do they have a front balcony with a great ocean view but also an equally large back balcony which offers nice views of the town, surrounding hills and sunsets. The apartments have 2 large bedrooms, and 2 beautiful bathrooms, plus massive living / kitchen area as well as laundry facilities.
The owners Terry and Libby are very welcoming and a great source of information for local attractions, dining and sight seeing.
This is a lovely place to stay and soo much nicer than anything you will find in the bigger towns of Devonport or Burnie. We highly recommend this property to anyone looking to stay on the north Coast of Tasmania.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank praks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We decided to base ourselves in Penguin while we explored the North West coast. A friend recommended these units and boy, am I glad he did! They are based centrally in Penguin (walking distance to everything) plus we are so close to the beach, you almost feel as if you could touch the water from the balcony! The apartment itself (unit 2) is a brilliant size for a family (there are 4 of us) or two couples. The bedrooms are good sized and the lounge room/kitchen/dining room is huge! The standard of quality is very high and the pictures on the website are great but the real deal is fantastic. Libby (host) introduced herself on the first day and was very helpful, answering all our questions. I would recommend these apartments (as I'm sure Unit 1 is just as good) to all! Cheers

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzietaff65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed twice now and I love this place. The units are exceptional. They are very new, modern and shiny. Very comfortable. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The views are beautiful.
If you are travelling to Burnie for work - stay at the Waterfront in Penguin - you will be so glad you did.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmBees2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed just one night as we were travelling through. Got a great deal on a stand by rate, as it was the middle of winter, but you wouldn't know it as the outlook was sun & blue!
The apartment is centrally located in Penguin, giving amazing views & they have thought of everything. The apartment is cleverly designed with large living rooms, functional kitchen with even cling wrap to use!
We will recommend to friends & family and I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benaly2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Penguin Waterfront Escape, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
thankyou Ben and Alyson for the review - we love that you enjoyed the large lounge/dining area - hope to see you both again soon
terry and libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legana, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This apartment was absolutely gorgeous, the view was AMAZING, the weather was great (while we were there), just everything anyone could wish for in a top-class apartment...oh, and Libby & Terry (hosts) are just the nicest people

  • Liked — The Apartment at the fantastic views
  • Disliked — The rain!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, at Penguin Waterfront Escape, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
hi linda
thankyou for taking time to review our property - glad the weather was kind to you look forward to seeing you again
libby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TASMANIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We travel the country a lot but the Penguin Waterfront Escape is by far the best accommodation for our requirements and we are a little fussy!! It is an excellently designed and furnished property with everything at your fingertips. It is spotlessly clean with all the expected creature comforts, such as big screen television, reverse cycle heating idf needed, electric blankets on the beds and even a large bath in one of the bathrooms. We stayed in unit one which has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and lots of space to relax. The equipment such as the oven, cooktop and microwave are quality and make life easy. If you require breakfast as we did due to an early rise, then an array of items are provided for a very reasonable cost. I have not mentioned the stunning view yet!! The magficent 180 degree Bass Strait ocean view to watch the sunrise and sunset, see my photos attached. Your hosts Libby and Terry are most welcoming and very friendly but are "not in your face", as some accommodation owners can be. The Penguin Waterfront escape has now become "our home" in the north west ans we cannot recommend this property more highly. It is also sited on the main street within easy proximity to shops, restaurants and the beach. It is a great base so you can visit all that the wonderful north west has to offer and we cannot wait to get back there!

  • Liked — The quality and design of the property and the view!
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer on this visit!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GR-DRISKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penguin
0.0 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
9.7 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
15.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
52 Main Beachfront Apartments
6.5 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
Bass & Flinders Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguin Waterfront Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguin Waterfront Escape

Property: Penguin Waterfront Escape
Address: 68A Main Rd, Penguin, Tasmania 7316, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Penguin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Penguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Penguin Waterfront Escape 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multiple award-winning luxury apartments 30m from ocean - absolute waterfront - 150m2 fully equipped kitchen and laundry - off street parking with free wifi - walking distance to shops and restaurants. Right in the heart of NW coast, one hour from Cradle Mountain National Park and l hour 30 mins from Stanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penguin Waterfront Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penguin Waterfront Escape Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing