We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average meals, above average price”
Review of Casablanca - CLOSED

Casablanca
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Casablanca - is and A La Carte restaurant based at Penguin Surf Lifesaving Club
Tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average meals, above average price”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Whilst the location and decor are appealing I really felt that the quality of the food let the place down on this occasion. I had the eye fillet of steak and as Manu Feidel would say "where is the sauce?". When my plate arrived I was disappointed to find that other than a nice piece of fillet steak all that accompanied this dish was a small serve of mash potatoe (the size of an egg ring), a sprig of asparagus another of broccolini and a small sliver of pumpkin - all for the princely sum of $42. When I swapped my steak for another on the table (yes, they presented me with the wrong steak) I found the steak tender, but dry.
Another guest at our table had the fish of the day which was Barramundi - their comment on this was that they found it a bit "mushy".
Taking all things into consideration I found this dining experience pretty disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Legend64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oatlands, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service on a busy night”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Good variety of dishes and wine choice. The restaurant looks out over Bass Strait. Highly reccomended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful ambience, great service and small selection of interesting, well prepared but delicious food. Dining just on sunset is special with wonderful water views.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had heard great reviews about this restaurant and had wanted to go to this restaurant for some time, and weren't disappointed.

From the moment we walked in until the time we left, the service was fantastic, as was the food.

I recommend you try the sampler plate. I had the lamb rack which was perfectly cooked and delicious. My partner had the steak which was also perfectly cooked and lovely and tender. We shared a pannacotta for dessert which topped the meal off perfectly.

An absolute gem. I couldn't fault a thing. Can not reccomend it highly enough. Thank you :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I've dined at Casablanca a few times now, and every visit has been exceptional. Yummy food, the portion size is generous and the service is pleasant. Well done Casablanca.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHHE6193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

 
Penguin, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing