We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penguin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inglenook by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 3 Penguin B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A place to stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Previous reviews capture the essence of this well located and beautifully maintained B and B. Rooms are spacious with attention to detail and colours warm and welcoming. Hosts Ron and Jenny were helpful in recommending places to dine and routes to take. A fantastic breakfast prepared and served by two very gracious people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at this wonderful B&B as my husband fell ill during our holiday in Tasmania and we urgently needed a "home away from home". Both Ron and Jenny went out of their way to assist us.

The B&B is beautifully maintained with great beds, a delicious breakfast and a wonderful ambiance. It does them great credit. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night in this place and it was great.

The hosts, Ron and Jenny, were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.

The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious, bacon and eggs with all the trimmings, cereal, fresh berries and the most amazing cherry jam. They also bought gluten free bread for me as I had advised I couldn't eat wheat.

The location is good, but a little way out of Penguin itself. Not a problem if you have a car.

Overall defiantly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed for one night at this lovely B and B. The hosts were extremely welcoming and hospitable and the breakfast was scrumptious. I noted the beautiful artisan jams and bread.
The room was impeccibly clean and neat. I would recommend this B and B. It was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Inglebrook by the sea is a definite cut above other B&Bs we stayed in for hospitality and customer service. When booking, it was suggested that we may like a meal at the local restaurant Wild and so they were able to secure a booking for us at this popular excellent often booked out eatery. I then rang the day before to enquire about where we might be able to see penguins as my son was very keen on this. Jenny rang the local penguin society for us to get the information. I also had to visit the local hospital with a minor emergency and while there for the couple of hours, had a phone call from Ron to make sure things were going ok. All very appreciated when traveling away from home and just showed the level of attention to making sure you had a good stay. We stayed in the family suite upstairs - big bedroom with queen bed and adjoining bedroom with a bunk. Perfect for our family of 4. Bathroom is down the corridor but we had exclusive use of that so was as private as an onsuite. Breakfast was generous and delicious. Highly recommended. If you can't easily find their website on Google (as I did), it is just www.inglenook.com.au

Room Tip: Family room is great for traveling families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed one night at Inglenook in the charming little town of Penguin. Our host Ron was terrific - friendly and full of useful information on where to go and where to eat. Ron recommended a drive to nearby Gunns Plains where we saw some of the most beautiful scenery on our Tassie road trip. Our room at Inglenook was clean, spacious, bright and comfortable. We both slept well in a very comfortable bed. Ron's cooked breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend a stay at Inglenook.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Ontheroadagain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Impromptu stopover.Warmly welcomed by Ron and Jenny. Room facing the sea, perfectly presented and very roomy. Breakfast nook area was delightful and colourful, breakfast excellent and even the morning paper as well.

Room Tip: Stairs may present a problem for some, and shower little small...but that is trifling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penguin
1.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Ikon Hotel
Ikon Hotel
#1 of 6 in Burnie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Glenbrook House and Cottage
3.3 mi away
Blueberry B&B
Blueberry B&B
#2 of 2 in Heybridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.7 mi away
Penguin Waterfront Escape
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inglenook by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglenook by the Sea

Property: Inglenook by the Sea
Address: 360 Preservation Dr | Sulphur Creek,, Penguin, Tasmania 7316, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Penguin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Inglenook By The Sea Penguin, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing