We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza”

Scorchers by the River Gallery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Orford
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well worth a stop if you are in the vicinity - the place does not have a load of atmosphere but this is offset by the view across to the river and the food is very nice and reasonably priced - seems to be frequented by locals which is always a good sign.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    17
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Prepare to wait...overpriced sadly”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Although only two tables in the restaurant and our order taken first we waited over half an hour for a child's tomato/cheese pizza, ham/mustard pasta and a schnitzel. It appears that the take away orders get priority. They'd ran out of beef lasagne just as the restaurant opened! Pasta was lacking in flavour, kids pizza was the best and the schnitzel was served with a Bolognese sauce that resembled, not the rich redness I'm used to, but a brown concoction. If we werent paying $25 a plate I wouldnt mind but little overpriced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the best pizzas not only in Tassie but also in entire Australia. This is the third time we are eating here and our favorite is chicken and mushroom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SavasYazici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pizza Plus”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took our own wine and dined in for a pizza meal. Great service, and good value. Will come again on next Tasmania visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place for eating out in Orford”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped here to eat on a Mon night and we were lucky to get a table having not booked (warning to those who haven't traveled around Tassie before, small country restaurants are often very popular and amazingly, you need to book! Other warning, kitchens close relatively early). Cosy and very friendly atmosphere and service. Pizzas were the gourmet style with the accompanying usual prices for such (but not outrageous). Nice inventive mix of flavours using local produce. Non pizza options also available. A nice night out with the kids enjoying it as much as we did which always helps!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scorchers by the River Gallery Cafe also viewed

Orford, Tasmania
 
Triabunna, Tasmania
 

Been to Scorchers by the River Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing