We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most incredible place”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sophiehx
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The most incredible place”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Thalia Haven is one of the most incredible places we have ever stayed. It's difficult to say what's more beautiful - the views of the wild, sweeping landscape of Great Oyster Bay, or the wonderful architecture of the property. We loved the open plan layout, filled with light even on a somewhat grey Tasmanian weekend, drinking Tasmanian pinot that we picked up from a local cellar door whilst playing board games and overlooking the sea, the outdoor bath and woodfired sauna, and my boyfriend loved cooking steak across the open fire.

The architecture and interior of the property were beautifully designed, with lots of nice touches (colouring books for children, birthday cake candles etc, map of the view) which really enhanced what was already an amazing location. Susan was incredibly communicative and helpful both prior to and during our stay, and we couldn't recommend it more highly - friends of ours have already booked to go later in the year. We're a young couple, but would recommend to all ages and families, and we wished we hadn't left our dog in Sydney!

The house was the perfect place to relax and feel like you were worlds away from anyone, and yet easily accessible and close to top Tasmanian East Coast attractions (we visited Coles Bay and Maria Island). An incredible weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
I'm so glad you two had such a lovely time - it's hard to go wrong with Great Oyster Bay right outside :) It's good to be able to relax together, and with Freycinet National Park, Wineglass Bay, Maria Island, Douglas-Apsley National Park, the East Coast wineries, even MONA, all easy day trips from Thalia, there are activities to suit lots of tastes. Not to mention a beach to explore, games to play, and glasses to fill! Please come again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clamber
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxed, gorgeous location.”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Our daughter's mother-in-law was visiting from the UK and we wanted to show her some of Tasmania's really beautiful and unique locations. Thalia was the number one pick to show off! Once through the gate from the highway, you wend your way through farmland,then through coastal scrub, wondering just where the trail is leading you. Catching sight of the house is quite wonderful. The views from the house are simply amazing, and the house itself (if you can call it a house - more a series of dwellings) is spectacular. At the same time as the house impresses, it also welcomes and enfolds its guests. The wind can be howling outside, but inside all is calm and peaceful. The kitchen provides both fantastic vistas of the spectacular Oyster Bay and every mod con. The bedrooms are independent of each other and allow just a distant hint of the sound of the waves rolling onto the rocks; enough to soothe anyone to sleep. Our group of five adults and five children (including babies) was easily accommodated. The written instructions were clear and easily understood and allowed the 16 year old to produce her own birthday dinner! It is difficult to overstate just how lovely this place is, in every way. The nearby, private beach is a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to choose between the view and the accommodation. Both great.
Liked least: There was genuinely nothing we did not like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
Thank you for such a thoughtful review! I'm glad to see that Thalia's separate buildings worked well for your extended family, with lots of ways to be together, or to have private space and time apart - perfect. Please come again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy M
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special place for a special occassion”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spent a long weekend here in October 2015 - the annual 'sibling' catch up. What a perfect place to do this - a spectacular location and a wonderful, comfortable and calming home. We liked: The kitchen - we're foodies so appreciated having all the bells and whistles. The views - so mesmerising to watch the roll of the ocean and the play of light on the sea and sky during the day. The sounds of nature - waves, wind. The isolation - made us feel like we had escaped! The sauna and bath - all well used! We didn't like: the lack of ensuites for each room. But hey, that's a minor overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the isolation and ther kitchen
Liked least: lack of ensuites
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed our beautiful East Coast. And Thalia's separate cottages/bed rooms work well for a group such as yours. Please come again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGC976
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I absolutely loved this place- two nights here felt like a week away anywhere else. From the moment we arrived, we felt hunkered down in this beautiful building perched above Great Oyster Bay. The building itself is built incredibly solidly and even though it was blowing a gale outside (great bushfire weather), the foot-thick walls and double glazed windows made it feel calm and serene. Although you enter the property via a narrow, tunnel-like path, once you are in the courtyard you start to get a feel for what awaits. Once in the main building, there is this incredible contradiction between the womb-like walls on the courtyard side and the expanse of glass facing the bay. I have honestly never been in a building so perfectly suited both to the landscape and the climate.
The first day was spent bodysurfing, exploring the beach, rocky cliffs and rockpools followed by some lazy reading under clear blue skies. Watching the kelp beds sway in the current was mesmerising. The second day was more of the same, but we managed to fire up the sauna and run an outdoor bath, spending a couple of hours alternating between the two as the sun set as we watched dolphins chasing fish off the cliffs. Evenings involved collaborative preparation of meals eaten under the candle chandelier, board games, more reading and great conversations. The second night we were blown away to see the most incredible aurora from the cliff-top seat - a perfect viewing point for a spectacular display.
If you are expecting 1000 thread count sheets and power showers, this is not the place for you. If you want somewhere that you can truly relax without worrying about the kids scratching a priceless antique then this place is perfect.
The day we got back we started organising our next stay. We are incredibly grateful to have had the opportunity to visit and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That nothing was precious. That we were able to connect with each other in such a beautiful location. That my kids wanted to do nothing but explore - they did not miss TV or internet at all.
Liked least: We drove past the property twice before we worked out which gate to drive through ! (though this ended up adding to the charm)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
I'm so happy to see that your family had such a lovely holiday, Please come again, soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldece C
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best visit ever!”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the best visit in Aussie! The place is neat & tidy, good for both family & friends for 6- 8ppl. Kitchen equiped all tools and the view is awesome! Though September is not suitable for water sports/activities, we still can do some indoors like board games.
Absolutely will come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2015
Thank you for your visit! And thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
82Muke
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“A very great place”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It is a very great place to stay for family, we very enjoy the time we live in there and will recommend it to our friends. Just my personal option, It would be better if there is WIFI....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay on our beautiful East Coast. I hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to Tasmania - and I hope you'll be able to stay a bit longer so that you can fully relax into Thalia's off-grid experience :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tassietra...
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Getting away from it all.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thalia is unbelievably peaceful. From lounging in the outdoor bath in front of the beautiful ocean to sitting in front of the fire it was so relaxing. Particularly as there is no mobile reception (for some) or TV so we played board games, chatted endlessly, cooked masterpieces in the amazing kitchen and took long walks to the private beach and even to the amazing wineglass bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is even more beautiful than the photos and so quiet and peaceful.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
I'm so glad to see that your Thalia experience was so relaxing and regenerative (and delicious)! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing