We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is one of those places you just have to...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Glamorgan-Spring Bay, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stewart25...
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“This is one of those places you just have to visit!”
Reviewed December 27, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Watching the tides roll in and out from the kitchen window as we cooked up a storm. Sharing our beach with nesting travellers from the other side of the planet. Most of us rarely have the chance to live so intimately with the sea. What an experience!

With family and friends we retreated to Thalia to refresh our energy levels after an exhausting year. Within hours the waves and sun had started weaving its magic. After a day it was becoming a blur. Where were we again? Greek Islands? Oh that's right, on the east coast of the island of Tasmania in the southern ocean.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review -- I'm so glad your group was able to relax and re-group. It's always so restorative to live by the rhythms and changing moods of ocean and tides, such a break from the daily pressures of alarm clock, school bus and traffic :) We've put it some new games since your visit, as well as a high chair and baby cot with beautiful organic cotton sheets and bamboo blankets, so soft to the touch... Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALASKAHob...
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Striking Simplicity on the waters edge”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband & I have just returned home from an amazing 2 night stay at Thalia Haven.
it was a perfect choice for a much needed break & to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary.The owners have put a lot of thought into making this a very special place to stay & we both loved the fact that they use as many local products as possible throughout the entire home.
This home is absolute waterfront & being on 130 acres ensures complete privacy to allow guests to enjoy the outdoor bath & sauna!!!
Well done to the Thalia Team & we look forward to a return stay soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing,especially the fantastic water views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2014
I'm so glad you two were able to relax and enjoy your getaway. And congratulations on 44 years! I look forward to welcoming you again as soon as you need another break :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrienne...
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

10 retired couples had the most magnificent 4 day stay at what I can only describe as the nearest thing to paradise I have ever seen. The scenery was to "die for" and the Eco friendly house gave us lots of ideas for our own homes. It was easily the most comfortable place I have ever visited (even though we were 10 in a place advertised for 8) and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
We're so pleased that you had such a relaxing time. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique R
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking spot for our getaway -- so worth the trip to Tasmania!”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

There really are not enough words to describe how magical our stay was -- I could write 10,000 here and not even come close. Thalia Haven really is heaven on Earth -- we had such a relaxing time exploring the area, cooking up storms in the chef's kitchen and watching the sun rise from the outdoor tub. We aren't rich by any means so we unmmed and aahed about splashing out, but it was so worth it. If you're thinking the same, my advice is: Go for it!

Susan was an exceptional host. Before we even checked in, she had sent ideas on where we should shop, and alerted us to the Blood Moon eclipse that would happen during our stay. She really went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, and she was an absolute pleasure to meet.

Thank you for everything Susan, we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful house, magical location. We loved the soaps!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had such a nice holiday with us! Given how widely travelled you two are, your comments really mean something for us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday destination for our family”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thalia Haven is our favourite holiday destination! We got married at Thalia and have been back twice, now with our children. We love the location and the peace and quiet. We love the beach and the sauna. We love that there are treats for our dog in the pantry. We love having a break from TV. We love to cook in a fireplace. We love that they give you marshmallows to roast. We love how every time they have put in something new: binoculars, new board games, a freezer which was a pleasant surprise because I didn't think solar power could power one. They don't advertise it but they seem to give repeat visitors a discount. It's an easy drive from Hobart for our young family.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm wishes to you all from the Thalia Haven team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baladoola
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I don't normally write reviews for these sites, but I decided to in this case after I read one of the other reviews here. I worry it might mislead some people, and risk them missing a wonderful experience. (Sometimes people seem to write negative reviews just as pay back for some imagined failing; I see the reviewer states he was given a refund, but it was too "small", in his opinion.)

Our experience could not have been more different than what was claimed in the one negative review: we found the whole place immaculately clean and beautifully presented; the kitchen was certainly gourmet by our definition -- steam convection commercial oven, every appliance we could want, dishwasher, microwave, even lobster picks! We found no "chipped" crockery, all of which seemed high end and brand new. The hostess was fantastically helpful.

Certainly luxury by my standards: a wonderful place in a sublime location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Given that your wife is a chef, your happiness with our kitchen means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back to Thalia Haven during your next visit to Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgy44
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful position - badly kept.”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Thalia has been built beautifully and is in an incredible setting. The bath outside is a lovely addition. HOWEVER the whole place was very dirty, we had to clean everywhere - especially the kitchen. It says it sleeps 10 but 10 cannot sit around the table or in the lounge. From two of the bedrooms one has to go outside across the courtyard to the bathroom. crockery was chipped and the kitchen was not gourmet. Had it not been advertised as luxury and had the steep price tag, my complaint would not have been so great. We were given a very small refund when complained.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Thalia Haven. Even though your comments came 9 months after your stay, your opinion is important to us: we want to get things right for our visitors. For example, because of the feedback you gave me at checkout, we immediately changed our cleaning crew for a much more professional outfit. And we updated our kitchenware to offer new pots, pans, place settings, and cutlery. As I said at the time, I wish you had contacted me during your stay: we can’t fix things unless we know that something needs changing! At the time, you confirmed that my offer of an over 10% refund was fair, so I hope you still think so now that so much time has elapsed. Honest feedback has always helped us improve what we offer our guests, so again, thank you for your comments, and above all, thank you for choosing Thalia for your holiday in Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing