We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service”
Review of Gateway Cafe

Gateway Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Orford
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.whitepages.com.au/business/gateway-cafe/orford-tas/B%7CT00W%7C80bb8e4b%7CGateway+Cafe
hobart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

we arrived half an hour before closing time, older lady serving was unfriendly, blunt and barely acknowleded us until we shuffled at counter.when we started to order of blackboard told us kitchen closed so we had to order pre made food out of the front display cabinet. food was stale and overpriced. could tell she was keen to close up soon and annoyed to have to serve us. wont be back !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HobartRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    37
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on our way up the coast. Good food for all the family. Fresh, clean, comfortable. Picturesque village with a lovely beach for a walk and playground for the kids to have a run around.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastGael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best Café on the East Coast!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We held a function for 55 people at this lovely café and were very impressed with the service and the quality of the catering. Julie the owner and her wonderful team were committed to making the event successful and went out of their way to make this happen. This certainly made organizing a function of this kind remotely a breeze.

The food was delicious and beautifully presented and surpassed our expectations.

If you’re thinking of a birthday party or event, can’t speak highly enough for Julie and her café.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stop for a cake and tea. They had some of the best variety of cakes I could of chosen from.
It all looked wonderful to eat. Sitting outside overlooking the river added to the experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We lunched here today and I had one of the best chicken burgers ever. Fresh and juicy with hot, crunchy chips and wonderful, friendly service. I can't find anything at all to complain about. I would've enjoyed sitting there for an entire afternoon soaking up the atmosphere and gorgeous view. I will be returning, especially for the great Frank's Pear Cider.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway Cafe also viewed

 
Triabunna, Tasmania
 

Been to Gateway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing