We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour - make this place part of your destination stop on your trip around Tassie”
Review of Companion Bakery - CLOSED

Companion Bakery
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: All of our food is made freshly in the bakery using locally grown flour ground at Callington Mill, located opposite the bakery. No pre-mixes or weird stuff. Graham the baker is usually available to show visitors around our wood-fired bakery. Please ask for a tour at the cafe counter. Companion Bakery was the only bakery finalist in this year's Delicious Produce Awards. Our sourdough has been celebrated by Gourmet Farmer and Poh's Kitchen. We make meat pies using local meats and our own recipe, not the premix goo used by other bakeries. Vegetarian options range from full meals to cakes, and vary from day to day depending on what is locally available. Please ask our chef Alison for her recommendation. Coffee? We aim to make the best in Tasmania, brewed from locally roasted Villino coffee beans. We love these beans because they are not over-roasted. If for some reason our barista gets it wrong, simply swap your brew for another.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour - make this place part of your destination stop on your trip around Tassie”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Aussies say that the POMEs whinge but, reading some of these reviews, I would say that our antipodean cousins win on their reviews of the Companion Bakery!  We enjoyed the place so much on our trip around Tasmania going North that we planned our journey to stop there for another great meal there going south.

The team could not have been more helpful in their preparation of the food, their advice on what to eat, and making a picnic lunch for us to enjoy on Cradle Mountain. The cafe atmosphere was great, being both warm and friendly. The  'ploughman's
Iunch', muffins, pies, fudge and cheesecake all got top marks. The coffee was excellent - all five cups!

There is now a toilets/ facilities for use on site - used and confirmed.  But having travelled around Aus, including Tasmania, it's not the first cafe not to have facilities on site. Many beach cafes direct you to the public ones down the road/ in another building. And a stroll down the road makes for a good stretch to waken you up after a long drive.

And finally, the pricing point. Great value for money.  It's not the cheapest, but definitely in line with similar establishments around Australia.  Remember, you are not buying mass produced products, in low quality 'road side' establishment. These are fresh, artisan products made from finest ingredients. Places like the Companion Bakery are destination stops where people go for great food at a reasonable price to match the quality.

Overall, great job, well done! And for those reading this, do yourself a favor and make this a 'destination' stop on your trip around Tassie. You wouldn't be disappointed. I am just disappointed it's so far way otherwise I would come here for lunch regularly. My partner is somewhat happier - it means that I won't put on so many calories!

Thank you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stop at this bakery/cafe every 6-7 weeks due to travelling the state. First things first,the food
is pretty good,but its downhill after this., The mature woman (probably the owner), rarely smiles and often seems moody & flustered, like she doesnt want to be there! Due to the position of Oatlands, many people use this as a halfway stop on their journey. When arriving for lunch, one naturally wants to wash hands and use the toilet.No toilet here (at this licenced) cafe, says the staff,for the 20th time today! Customers are directed out in the cold, & across to the Mill toilets,where the owner of that cafe(@ the mill), informs us we have to continue down the road & acorss to the public toilets, which are horrible, to say the least! The Companion toilets are
supposedly "under construction",& this has been the case for the past 6 months.On our last visit (last week) we noticed all the prices had risen dramatically for the table service menu. That
would be ok if the sevice, atmosphere & hospitality matched the price rises, but they dont.
Actually it seems to be getting more slap dash every time we go there. Maybe they should just
sell take aways. I also agree with the previous review re the coffee. The coffee used to be good,but the last 2 visits its been bitter and disappointing. No baristas here I'm afraid. Many many Tasmanian businesses fall down in the sevice dept. & Companion wasnt great to start with, but now it has really caught the 'appauling service disease'! It seems to be 'aim for mediocrity' and head to the bottom from there. And to get these poor reveiws and not even bother to post a REPLY! Go figure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traci o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamPrichard, Owner at Companion Bakery, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I operate this bakery with my partner. Glad everyone is happy with the bread and food in general.

We go to the same trouble with everything we make...including coffee. Since starting 3 years ago we have tried several varieties. Up until recently we used a locally roasted, Certified Organic variety. I agree with the comments here that it was slightly bitter, probably the result of over-roasting.

Our new coffee supplier is considered the best in Hobart. He does not over-roast his beans and most importantly he is prepared to travel to Oatlands to train our staff. So expect a big improvement in the coming weeks.

Service...well you have to put it into perspective. Our staff are 'life proven' real people with the guts to stick it out in a town like Oatlands. One of them even comes from Parattah, which our local miller recently referred to as 'the home of serial killers'.

Believe me, our staff have hearts of gold and only want the best for you. They aren't just serving...they are cooking amazing food from scratch...no shortcuts.

Agree that every food place needs a toilet. We moved to the new shop thinking that we had 3 of them...but Council determined that the old ceramic pipes were not up to standard and needed replacing. I agree with this decision but it means that we have to excavate the slab and upgrade the entire toilet block. That is very expensive and we sought funding....which was recently declined:(

We have since looked at another option and will have a single operational toilet by mid September (2012). Keep in mind that currently our own staff and the owners also use a toilet external to the building....we want one too!

I can not think of any other place in Tasmania that uses 100% freshly milled organic local flour...this flour costs twice the price of the standard flour most places are using. Regarding pricing...a high quality cake in Hobart costs around $12 - $15 sit down, and it is likely they are not using organic flour. Our cakes are still sub $10 sit down, or cheaper take away.

One person suggested that prices should be cheaper in a country town...I need to inform you that costs per customer in a country area are generally much higher than in the city. You do not operate a country cafe to make bundles of money...you do it because you like living and working in the country.

We are making improvements and I appreciate your comments.

Graham (Baker and owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Probably better to go elsewhere.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

A certain "Black Books" air to this place. The lady in charged seemed irritated by having to deal with customers, although, to be fair, she was balanced somewhat by a pleasant and smiling offsider. Pricing was ridiculour for small cafe in rural Tasmanian town. There was lots of competition and few customers so Oatlands seems to be the one place on earth where market forces dont seem to apply. Eating a sausage roll at the wooden table almost doubled the price of the food. A slice of cake cost over $9, " to cover costs" we were told (with a scowl). Honestly, people! A smile goes a long way. Better that than your customers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wish I could take this little find home.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

The whole menu looked amazing and it was definitely a hard choice. I had the Roasted beet root & feta quiche which was to die for and a very good coffee. Great selection of grainy & sourdough breads too. Hearty soups.... Hot cross buns... Sausage rolls & lentil pasties. The only downfall is that it doesn't open until 9am.

Helpful?
1 Thank Genna-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best sour dough bread in Tassie!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This little bakery makes and bakes on the premises the best and freshest sour dough bread in Tassie for the flour which is freshly milled at the nearby Calington Mill. Other foods are available including lunch and morning and afternoon tea. The food is of a high quality and is made from good natural ingredients.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank erica_norgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Companion Bakery also viewed

 
Oatlands, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing