We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Tasmania”
Review of Oatlands Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oatlands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oatlands Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Oatlands B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Tasmania”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Really, this is just such a wonderful experience. My first criteria for a good hotel, is a good, clean, comfortable bed. Tick. Then, service. Tick. Then character. Tick. Tick. Tick. Really, even if you do not plan to go to Oatlands, make the trip and stay here (it is only an hour from Hobart). It is also a lovely little town, so there is a bit to do (if you need an excuse). The gentlemen that run the place are extremely hospitable, and (if you're up for it), will certainly be in for a yarn. They also cook a mean breakfast. Lastly, it is VERY affordable. We also got a discount for staying two nights.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szwaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here during December 2010 for one night.

This is a quirky bed and breakfast in a renovated, traditional house. The owners are very friendly and were keen to help in any way they could, with fresh milk delivered to our room. Our room was on the first floor and the staircase is a little narrow for heavy suitcases, but the rooms are beautifully decorated in traditional style (complete with original squaky floorboards!) and it is clear the owners take pride in their colonial accommodation and like you to feel at home and encourage you to use the communal areas, again nicely decorated.

Breakfast was at a set time and you eat with the other guests and the owners if there’s space for them. The breakfast is made fresh, very tasty and is more than you could possibly need, two eggs, sausages and the whole plate piled up, the best breakfast we’ve ever had.

A word of caution about Oatlands, it is a small town and, as such, only had four places to eat all of which closed by 8.30 pm. We looked at two, which were bars selling fast food before we settled at the ex-servicemen’s club. This looked as if it was run by volunteers and the restaurant was no more than a village hall. We didn’t really enjoy our meal there although the service was good.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

One of my favorite stays EVER!!!!!! This little bed and breakfast is run by two very welcoming gentlemen. They were so nice and very friendly! We felt at home immediately. They offer couples their own room equipped with a bathroom. The rooms were very spacious and absolutely delightful. Every accessory was detailed to a tea! The décor of the home is so warming and pleasant. It gave me the feel of a country cottage, which I had never experienced anywhere before. In the morning, they (the two gentlemen who run the establishment) make you breakfast in the house’s main dining room. The serve you a full English Breakfast, and also provide cereal, pastries, toast and a variety of beverages. There is a common living room, which is beautifully decorated. When we arrived, the power was out, and continued to be out late into the night. This wasn’t a problem though, as the restaurant across the street offered us BBQ and candle light. This stay was most enjoyable and absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Oatlands Lodge Colonial Accommodation (c.1837) offering bed and breakfast (a great breakfast) We were the only guests so Gerard and Danny joined us for breakfast and provided great stories and conversation.
This Georgian sandstone convict-built residence is filled with fine colonial furnishings and our room was a good size and confortable.
This is an ideal base for touring the other fine Georgian buildings in Oatlands and the many attractions of the historic Midlands.
We were made to feel at home here and treated as friends rather than just guests
My wife considered this the best bed ad breakfast we stayed at in our 2 week tour of Tasmania

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller53sydney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
297 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Hard to describe this incredible guest house in remote Oatlands. A lovely building, Fantastic hosts, superb rooms and the breakfast......This was worth the visit alone. An incredible meal, fabulous company (mine hosts in sparking form) and great conversation. Brilliant - thanks folks!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Oatlands Lodge Colonial Accommodation (c.1837) is a stately home offering bed and breakfast accommodation at Oatlands. Oatlands is a historic town on the Heritage Highway in Tasmania’s midlands, sixty minutes drive from Hobart and similar from Launceston.
This stately two-storey Georgian sandstone convict-built residence glows in the sun as you walk up the stone pathway past colourful flowers. Some of the hand-made bricks in the interior walls bear the thumbprints of the convict workmen.
The historic atmosphere of this fully restored National Trust classified building is enhanced by the fine colonial style furnishings. All the guest rooms have ensuite facilities and there is a welcoming wood fire in the lounge. Generous English style breakfasts are served in the elegant dining room.
This is an ideal base for touring the other fine Georgian buildings in Oatlands and the many attractions of the historic Midlands. Gerard and Danny went out of their way to make our stay memorable with the best breakfast encountered on our trip and a truly home like atmosphere.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — bathroom a bit small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AndiP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oatlands
19.5 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oatlands Retreat
Oatlands Retreat
#2 of 4 in Oatlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ratho Farm
Ratho Farm
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
19.7 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oatlands Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oatlands Lodge B&B

Property: Oatlands Lodge B&B
Address: 92 High St, Oatlands, Tasmania 7120, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Oatlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Oatlands
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Oatlands Lodge B&B Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing