We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and fantastic B&B and Restaurant”

Tynwald Willowbend Estate
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in New Norfolk
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: Australian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hosts and fantastic B&B and Restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a delightful place to stay! Loved the tasteful decor and historical nature of the home. Such a comfortable bed! Had a scrumptious meal in the restaurant. The venison was magnifique! Thank you Pat and Gary for being such friendly hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed having a chat with you. We will definitely call again when we are next in Tasmania! Thank you from Alastair and Glenda.

Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
launceston, tasmania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The restaurant was cosy, and the menu tempting. We had a difficult time choosing what to eat. In the end I settled on the ox tongue for entree, wild hare stew for main and a whiskey custard for dessert. Possibly the ox and hare stew were a bit too rich a combination, but they were both delicious. Loved the Australian sparkling water too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank happychatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting insight to yesteryear”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was definitely a trip down memory lane - and before my time! The old house was very interesting, and the location scenic. The food was very good. Beds were comfortable.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TassieTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Well worth the time a very special experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Fabulous hosts who are both chefs stay for dinner you are in for a treat. The oatcakes were delicious. The lemon curd on toast, heaven. Atmoshere plus highlight of our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katdav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant in the town of New Norfolk. We were staying in Woodbridge but wanted to eat elsewhere....we discovered Tynwald, and what a find it was. Garry cooked the meal, Pat served it. A lovely evening. We wish we had found Tynwald earlier !

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tynwald Willowbend Estate also viewed

New Norfolk, Tasmania
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 

Been to Tynwald Willowbend Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing