We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shingles Riverside Cottages
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed for one night in 'The Willows" studio style cottage. The queen sized bed (very comfortable) was made up with good quality linen.The decor of the room was modern and very tasteful. We were lucky enough to see a playpus down by the Derwent River at the owners private jetty. My only complaint would be that no spreads (eg. jam or vegemite) were provided as part of the 'generous breakfast provisions', so I had to be content with toast and butter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920brandycat920, Owner at Shingles Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
What a shame you did not have a selection of jams ect in your cottage as we normally do supply a generous selection, an oversite which is not normal. Our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The room is nice and well maintained and the view is very beautiful.

However our room was situated underneath the owners house - i.e. it's a split level and they occupy the floor above. As a result I could hear TV noise coming from above and I each time I went outside I never felt like I had much privacy as the level above can see right down into the back of the place.

I also felt self conscious each time I turned on the TV because I felt I might be disturbing the owners family.

To be fair though, I suspect that I am a little sensitive to unwanted, external noise and it's something that others may not even notice.

As a result of the noise and lack of privacy I never felt comfortable staying here and was glad to leave. I really felt like an unwanted intruder living in someones backyard.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
920brandycat920, Owner at Shingles Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
In response to this review The Shingles Riverside Cottages have replastered and insulated with sound proofing products to overcome the noise transferance from the television in the Birches Cottage (upper level of this building) to Paddy's Flat and belive this will overcome the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
167 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

One night during our 3 weeks trip around Tasmania in this shabby place: dead spiders and a very bad wellcome, the owner Veronica was Watching tv so she was hurry to let us in our dirty paddy's flat. On the walls there are some Veronica's photos that she sells at 12 AUD each: Nude woman in an old industrial zone. The "gourmet breakfast as she offered us was 2 slices of bread in the fridge (photos 1), no table, bad bed all that for 120 AUD Nice shot Veronica! To conclude when we left at 9 o'clock nobody was there so we understood that service is an unknown word in the Veronica's B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

There's so many good things to say about Shingles. The ground floor cottage we stayed in was charming, the owner was friendly and helpful, the garden and surroundings was beautiful, the jetty was peaceful and one could watch the rowers pass by or admire nature and God's creation. Breakfast is provided in your room for convenience. The decor is also tasteful. I can highly recommend Shingles. It's not far from Hobart but if you want to eat in New Norfolk I recommend Shanghai Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed in Paddy's Flat, which was a perfect alternative to a motel room or B&B. It is right by the river , with a beautiful view from bed and surrounded by lovely and well maintained gardens with plentiful small birdlife and birdsong. There is a small landing by the river where you can sit and contemplate. Cooking facilities are very limited - small microwave, small fridge and toaster, with generous supplies for a continental breakfast. Bathroom is large (shower only) and spotless. Good quality linen and bed. There is no table to eat at (not enough room); there is a good quality , large flat screen tv.

New Norfolk doesn't have a lot of accommodation in the way of motel style (ie not having to come to a central area for breakfast). Paddy's Flat however, would stand up against the stiffest competition (if there were any!) Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasanqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyogle, nsw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have just returned from touring tassie for 12 days. As we were free wheeling it, we found accommodation each night.
We had stayed at The Shingles on a previous trip, so popped in, with the hope of a vacancy, and we were lucky.
Individual exquisitly decorated B&B units which are in the middle of big gardens, which back onto the River in the centre of New Norfolk. Handy to everything.
The Unit we had which has 1large master bedroom was warm and cosy as the log fire was already lit. It has a separate lounge/dining area, split level ( 3 stairs up to fully equipped kitchen, bathroom ( with gold duck taps and the works) and bedroom. Fridge had juice, milk and all supplies ready for breakfast. Good array of tea bags, cereals etc.
Veronica & John remembered us from previous trip and found our name in their visitors book .
Overnight stay cost $125.00

Helpful?
1 Thank flossy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This was the last stop on an 8 day tour of Tasmania where we had been constantly impressed by the standard of the accommodation, but this place took the position as 'complete favourite'. The decor and ambiance were so inviting and comfortable, not to mention stylish too! We originally stayed here because there was little accommodation in Hobart and I'd definitely recommend the location. It's 45 minutes outside Hobart in an area that is worth visting anyway. It's tranquil and peaceful but has enough facilities (supermarkets etc) nearby, which you'll need if you're going to be using the bbq! Loved it, would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — The decor & comfort factor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
3.8 mi away
Heimat Chalets
Heimat Chalets
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
65 reviews
15.1 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#2 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shingles Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shingles Riverside Cottages

Property: Shingles Riverside Cottages
Address: 115-117 Glenora Rd, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shingles Riverside Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting fully self contained cottages on the banks of the spectacular Derwent River set in 2 acres of tranquil, private gardens with solar heated in ground swimming pool, private jetty and barbeque facilities. A short 2 minute drive to the town centre of New Norfolk, 30 minutes to Hobart and 45 to airport with all of Southern Tasmania's tourist attractions within easy traveling time, making this an ideal base for your holiday. A stunning location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shingles Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shingles Riverside Cottages New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing