We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and wonderful hosts”
Review of Heimat Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heimat Chalets
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Am staying here tonight. Chalets are first class. Well appointed and top standard. Linda and Frank are wonderful hosts. Thoroughly recommend for anyone travelling around Tassie or wanting a high quality place to stay for a few nights. Will definitely be back again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We don't often write reviews here, only saving our effort for the outstanding spots we stay at. Heimat Chalets is one of those places. The owners were welcoming, friendly and happy to share their thoughts about living in the area (we are thinking of moving here from interstate). The chalets are immaculately appointed with absolutely breathtaking views of the valley. Thos has been our third trip to Tassie and this is without doubt the nicest place we've stayed - would not hesitate for a second to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merwoodtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Fairy, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Of all the six places we stayed on our Tasmanian holiday, this was the best. It originally seemed a long way from Hobart as a base, but the 40 minute drive is well worth it, plus you are only 10 minutes from the nearest supermarket at New Norfolk. Perched in the hills with fantastic views, Heimat Chalets was more like a resort, a destination in itself. The kids did not want to go out in the morning as there was so much to do. There is a great, safe playground that the kids had to themselves. There are lots of farm animals that the kids got to feed such as goats, alpacas, donkeys and calves as well as Sienna the cutest dog you will ever see. The chalets are well appointed, warm, clean and modern spread over two levels. There is a well equipped BBQ hut full of detail and character, good laundry facilities and we even found a dunny with stunning views ( which I had to explain to the kids what it was for). Thank you Linda and Frank for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrizwalds_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Heimat Chalets is in a terrific location only about 40mins from Hobart.
We stayed with our motorhome on one of the two ensuite sites, lovely ensuite, exceptionally clean and provided everything we need and also a shared laundry to use.
Spectacular views, lovely friendly animals and very welcoming hosts.
There is a fun, well equipped BBQ hut with a great open fire and also an outdoor BBQ and dining area. Very easy just to relax and enjoy the private peaceful setting.
I wish we had discovered this property sooner, of course we will return, hopefully many more times. Thank You Linda & Frank!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I came across Heimat Chalets while travelling through Tasmania and wished we'd had stayed longer. It was absolutely perfect. Very friendly, picturesque, well appointed, clean and fun. We had a chance to meet the goats and Alpacas and took a bit of time to enjoy the views and landscape. We've already made plans to go back and have shared with friends overseas, recommending it for their vacation. Do yourself a favour if you're going to Hobart, drive the extra bit and go to Heimat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canukinauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Heimat Chalets (and ensuited motorhome /caravan sites) were definitely the BEST accommodation I have EVER stayed at ... Hosts Linda and Frank EXCEL at excellence in hospitality. I felt like I had 'come home' from the moment I drove up the driveway and met them. I loved the rustic facilities, the peace and tranquillity of the hills, the panoramic views, the bush walks and the very friendly farm animals. For 8 glorious days I stayed at one of the ensuite motorhome / caravan sites. Each site (there are two) has its own private spotlessly clean bathroom with verandah. There is a share laundry with washing machine and dryer. At the end of the block is an outdoor kitchen sink which was great for cleaning up after cooking in the really special BBQ Hut, in the camp oven in the camp fire and or in the outdoors dining area (there's another BBQ there too). I loved all the personal touches that Linda and Frank provided ... real handtowel in the bathroom, fresh clean tea towels at the sink, the warm home baked muffins on a freezing Sunday morning, candles down in the BBQ Hut and outdoor dining room, the list goes on and on ... it was everything I could want for and more ... my little piece of heaven on earth.
While Heimat Chalets are just 40 minutes drive from Hobart and 10 minutes from New Norfolk (which make it an ideal spot to stay for those visiting Hobart and the Derwent Valley) ... I didn't want to leave. I will certainly be back to stay; next time in one of the cosy chalets which REALLY ARE everything others have said before me - modern, well equipped and spotlessly clean - perfect for couples or families. The kids play area made me wish I was a kid again!!! And the adults are also well catered for with the BBQ Hut, the camp fire (complete with chopped dry wood), outdoors dining room and for those who want / need exercise there are four well marked bush walks on the property. And the farm animals really are very friendly and endearing ... I loved it all.
Thank you so much Linda and Frank (and Sienna) for an unforgettable 8 days.

Room Tip: Both chalets looked divine however the motorhome / caravan sites were perfect for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

What an unexpected surprise! Our reservation at another place had been given to a group; the Test cricket was on in Hobart. Accommodation was at a premium. We were unsure where we might end up. And then a treasure was found! The Chalet was just beautiful - so clean and quaint - and private, even though there were neighbours. The welcome was warm, the complementary breaffast was generous and nature was at its sparking best - and we werge there in the centre of it. staying at Hiemat Chalets was one of the highlights of our time in Tasmania. Take the challenge - go off the beaten track for a wonderful surprise.

Room Tip: I think every chalet, if it was like ours, would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAntoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
3.8 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
152 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shingles Riverside Cottages
Shingles Riverside Cottages
#3 of 7 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#3 of 12 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
92 reviews
12.9 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heimat Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heimat Chalets

Property: Heimat Chalets
Address: 430 Blackhills Rd, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heimat Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are extemely proud that the Tourism Industry Council of Tasmania announced in November 2013 that Heimat Chalets is the winner of the 2013 Tasmanian People's Choice Awards. That means that feedback from our guests has placed us as tourism operator number 1 in Tasmania.Equally suitable for couples or a family with children, Heimat Chalets offers absolute peace and relaxation in a variety of luxury but reasonably priced accommodation set on 40ha (100acre) of picturesque farmland in the heart of the scenic Derwent Valley.Heimat Chalets' accommodation comprises:♦ a luxury gypsy wagon with its own ensuite, just perfect for a romantic get away with a difference for 2 people;♦ two modern and stylish 2 bedroom 4 star (self rated) self-contained farmstay chalets;♦ a luxury motorhome ensuite site; and♦ we also manage a lovely 2 bedroom self contained timber cottage located on an adjoining property.Why not experience a farmstay with a difference? - Come and join us each morning and experience hand feeding and patting our friendly alpacas, sheep, cows, miniature donkey and goats, not to mention our dog and 2 cats. Heimat Chalets is a private and secluded holiday retreat - yet easy travelling to almost anywhere in southern Tasmania! Don't stay in a city hotel that's just like any other - Instead make Heimat Chalets your beautiful farmstay country base for exploring Hobart and its surrounds, including New Norfolk and Tasmania's extraordinarily beautiful Derwent Valley and Central Highlands. Why not stay a night or two while travelling on the Rivers Run Touring Route on your way from Hobart to Strahan.And all of this just 45 minutes from Hobart, 8 minutes from New Norfolk and only 50 minutes from Hobart Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Heimat Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heimat Chalets New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing