We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hart warming & so comfortable pretty hotel”
Review of Rosie's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosie's Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
神戸
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hart warming & so comfortable pretty hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've never stayed at such a lovely rosy comfortable hotel before.
Rosie's Inn is best worthy to stay during the trip to Tasmania.

All the room are decorated with a lot of roses, and pretty hand made races
and bed linens. Never seen such a lovely inn before.

Also the servces are so heart warming and perfect to relax.

The garden is so wonderful. There are so many kind of
beautiful roses, where you can really enjoy the smelling.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anny神戸
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great B & B. Rosie & Colin are excellent and attentive hosts; the rooms are very well presented and ultra clean ... the decor is "floral"; breakfast great; bed comfortable; Rosie even went to the trouble of presenting my wife margaret with some rose cuttings because she had expressed interest in the roses in the garden. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallPaulOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay than Rosie's Inn. I don't know whether to start with the graciousness of Rosie and Colin Wood, the proprietors, or with the comfort, cleanliness and attractiveness of the property. (The garden is a delight). My traveling companion had stayed there many years ago and found it just as nice this time and was amazed when he was remembered. You will feel as if you are being welcomed by family that is really glad to have you visit. Add to this, that the Inn is walking distance to the central business district of New Norfolk and a 5 minute walk to the bus that will take you to downtown Hobart, a real bonus especially if you are planning to visit he busy Salamanca market on Saturday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

All the rooms were exquisitely furnished. Rosie and Colin are very hospitable and friendly hosts. Rosie's Inn is much larger than I had imagined but the beautifully kept garden was not as large as I had visualised. Our spacious suite was immaculate and simply perfect. Complimentary port is supplied which was most acceptable.

After relaxing for some time in our rooms we walked into New Norfolk. It is not a particularly attractive town, but it does have two bakeries, and after some searching we found the lovely Cake Lady Café at 3 Fowler Court. We arrived a little after the advertized closing time but that is apparently fairly elastic and Stephanie Wood was quite happy to serve us; she makes all the food herself and it all looked so delicious that it was quite hard to make a decision, particularly as regards her gorgeous looking cakes.

Colin was very informative, particularly about the Gordon River cruises. Apparently a large part of Tasmania is owned by a wealthy family who live in Melbourne; they own anything with the name “Pure Tasmania” which included one of the Gordon river boat cruises. We decided to book instead the World Heritage Cruise in Strahan, the red boat, which has been family owned over many generations and is the original cruise company.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amazingsunsetbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a lovely B & B to stay in. Rooms where very comfortable and clean. Everything you could possibly need has been thought of in these rooms. Breakfast was wonderfull, then for our history tour down the hallways reading all the information of the building. Before you leave be sure to have a wonder in the gardens, just beautifull. You can definately see the love, care, attention to detail and hard work that has gone into this accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed here for a night on a brief driving tour of Tasmania. Comfortable premises with lovely hosts who have been running this establishment for over 25 years! Lots of history abounds – the walls are covered with historical photos and news cuttings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We finally found Rosie's Inn after driving some time down (or is it up) from Queenstown via Russell Falls in Mt Field National Park. When we got our directions straight it really wasn't that far off the directions per Google. We had diverted to Russell Falls.

We were greeted by Rosie and she spent time visiting with us, which was our objective, otherwise just spend the night at a motel. She has several rooms and we may have been the only guests (can't remember). I think this may have been due to the floods up in Queensland that the Aussies had not been travelling. This was after mid-January.

Rosie's Inn is located at the end of a small street and is the largest building there and is well marked and surrounded by roses. You can't miss it once you found the street. Coming into New Norfolk you go straight instead of crossing the bridge. The street will be on the left a block or two. If you are an American be sure to drive on the left and look to the right at intersections as almost got wiped out by a garbage truck.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorers Lodge
Explorers Lodge
#5 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
83 reviews
15.3 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Inn

Property: Rosie's Inn
Address: 5 Oast St, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosie's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast Private Hotel offers you a home away from home. Elegance, comfort, attentive hosts, complimentary breakfast and all the modern facilities one associates with quality accommodation can be found at Rosie's. Situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac close to the River Derwent and surrounded by fragrant trees, shrubs and roses makes Rosie's an ideal relaxing location to visit the south eastern part of Tasmania. Just 30 minutes from the harbour city of Hobart or the wilderness of Mt. Field National Park, historic New Norfolk with is beautiful semi-rural aspect, provides ATM's, restaurants, antique shops, supermarkets, petrol and many other services which a town with a population of 6000+ has. Don't just spend a night! Give yourself time to savour the atmosphere and attention to detail that Rosie's is so famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Rosie's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosie's Inn New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing