We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the enthusiasm and the effort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Woodbridge is the pride and joy John, its owner, who has restored the beautiful building by the Derwent and its surrounding gardens with love, great style and attention to detail. This is reflected in the service offered by his wonderful staff, who anticipate your every need in a non-obtrusive and friendly way.

We spent our 45th wedding anniversary in the perfect hotel being pampered, enjoying superb food and local wines, resting in the quiet, beautifully furnished rooms and soaking in the spa! Perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MelbournePhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

An absolutely stunning experience from beginning to end! We actually got engaged during the weekend that we stayed at the Woodbridge in March 2008 and they couldn't have have been more accomodating.

The hotel is warm, friendly and impressively decorated. The food was fresh, local and very tasty! John and his wife and staff were wonderful and made us feel at home straight away. My fiance had arrange numerous things for us to do through the hotel all of which were perfectly co-ordinated. They couldn't have been more helpful.

Would strongly recommend staying at the Woodbridge on the Derwent for a Romantic break away... and if you are thinking of getting engaged, definitly a great place to go! The complimentary port in the Lounge was a lovely touch too. We will definitley be going back...

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I am a member of the exclusive Small Luxury Hotel www.slh.com and Derwent on Woodbridge is a germ under their banner.
Our group of 4 including 2 teenagers were welcomed by John, the owner in person. My last minute request of 41 field roses for my friend's birthday (shhhhh.... don't link the number of roses to the age) is fulfilled by their staff.
My suite (3 bridges) is spacious and homey. It is our gathering place for playing cards, chat and enjoy the wine bought from nearby vineyards. In the afternoon, we walked a few steps outside the suite, dip our feet in the cool river of Derwent and drink more wine!
John recommended a local who owns an open-top Mustang and took us wine tasting. We are now converted to Tasmanian Pinot Noir (sorry to the Kiwis).
I am a regular biz traveller and Woodbridge in Derwent is the opposite of the hotel chains. It is personal and it is small. I have truly unwind while I am there and thanks to John and his team.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Schweiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

From the proprietor to the chamber maid, it was sublime.
The service, second to none. Friendly, caring, almost like your own family.
Not a detail was left to chance.
Cleanliness was impeccable. Breakfast was worth waking for.
I miss the breathtaking views, of the river, from my room.
Thank you for a wonderful week. Hope to visit again soon.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank KazVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

After reading the two previous reviews, I cannot believe they could have stayed at the same hotel.

The hotel was beautifully restored and a wonderful experience.

The 4 course meal cost me US$50 and was superb. I got a wonderful local drop of wine for US$30. These prices were far from overpriced.

It is strange that the previous review described it as noisy and on a main highway. You can hardly hear anything through the 3 feet thick convict built walls and that "highway" they must be refering to is a single lane road that crosses a bridge nearby (highway indeed).

The review was right about one thing. It is not suitable for children, not with the superb collection of period artwork and luscious furnishings.

I have returned to the states after a wonderful holiday, with the highlight (so far as accommodation is concerned) being my stay at Woodbridge.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Laurar103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My wife and I were very enthusiastic about this place... the reviews were ... perfect and the photos looked great.

Having re-read the write-ups, a lot of what they wrote is correct. It is a lovely building which has quite obviously been redeveloped by new and adoring owners. The river fronting is lovely and the reading room is a delight.

In saying that, I wonder about these previous reviews... How could one writer know that "all rooms are different, modern and elegant", plus why was there no mention of the multi-lane log-truck bridge 20 metres from the building?! Whilst lovely, the bridge makes it noisy if you are positioned on the near side of it. To his credit, John moved us when we complained and offered plenty of personal touches which a comparably priced hotel (Sheraton, Hyatt) would not offer. The location is part of a town (on the edge) and makes the feel less solitary than we expected.

Best wishes to this small business.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Maclevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

This little hotel is a real find. 1825 heritage building &Only nine suites all different and simple elegant MODERN furnishings, no musty old reproductions. Fabulous river front location, and lovely walks along the river. We chose the in house dining and the food was excellent lovely flavours and personal service. The breakfast in front of a fire was something else - fresh hot croissants and bubbling coffee pots - amazing effect on taste buds;

the staff are friendly and helpful so we,ll be back

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ontourtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
15.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
15.3 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 47 in Hobart
465 reviews
15.8 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 47 in Hobart
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
233 reviews
16.0 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 47 in Hobart
429 reviews
15.7 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge on the Derwent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge on the Derwent

Address: 6 Bridge St | New Norfolk, Hobart, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range: $380 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodbridge on the Derwent 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbridge on the Derwent is a spectacular Heritage listed Small Luxury Hotel, on the banks of the Derwent River. Woodbridge has only nine luxury suites and rooms, and a maximum of 18 guests. Amenities include the Reading Boom, the Ballroom, riverfront Pavilion, sauna, hot-tub, complimentary bicycles and kayaks.The valley and the river provide walks, cycling, kayaking,fly fishing, wineries, cooking schools. Woodbridge offers personalised service, wonderful food and wine, and rich and luxurious rest and relaxation in one of Australia's oldest Grand Homes. Woodbridge is the only Five Star hotel in Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodbridge on the Derwent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge On The Derwent New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing