We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? The moment we arrived, we were blown away with the view! The owner John greeted us and he was very friendly and helpful as it was him n his wife who helped plan our trip and booked it for us at no extra charge! Our room had a old English touch to it. AWESOME! Room was spacious and extremely clean. The service they gave us was very personalized! We had dinner there and it was amazing! We will definitely go back. Only problem is its about 30mins from Hobart CBD and 50mins from airport. this hotel doesn't provide pick up from airport. apart from that, everything was top notch!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwastherewoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Iwastherewoohoo

Yes, I never tire of looking at that river either - there is something very soothing about looking at water, and especially when it is so close that you can see every ripple!

Delighted that you enjoyed your time at Woodbridge and hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future...... I personally love that drive to us, hugging the river, but next time you might consider the 'add on' experience of a limo transfer from the airport (with a black Jag option) or even a helicopter transfer !!

Regards
Laurelle Grimley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a pleasant surprise from a warm and friendly check in from owner John to be escorted to our excellent quaint suite with lovely afternoon sun and then to enjoy absolutely wonderful meals ... Up there with your top quality big city restaurants we enjoyed breakfasts and dinners on our 2 night package ... The restaurant is delightfully furnished and overlooks the river ... The service was warm and attentive from the lovely Italian Christina and Fransesco's food was stunning and he would often come out of the kitchen and chat ... You could feel his pride and passion for the food ... Would thoroughly recommend Woodbridge for a romantic time away and it's worth the interesting 30 minute drive from Hobart

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river ... The suite nearest the restaurant is great and has minimal s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Cliff G

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Woodbridge. We agree with you that The Pavilion is a lovely space - the staff joke that it is really tough working there!

Woodbridge is a bit of a serendipty for many of our guests, and they ask "Why haven't we heard about her before?". While we hype, our philosophy is ambitious: we aim to "under-promise and over-deliver".

Having found us, please do come again!

Regards
Laurelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forth, Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned from two nights of indulgence and relaxation at Woodbridge. Our hosts John and Laurelle and their fantastic staff Christina and Francesco together with Sharon made us feel welcome and immediately at home in this beautifully restored boutique hotel. Francesco's amazing food was faultless culminating in a delicious 9 course degustation dinner to farewell 2012. We will return to this jewel hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Paula 7310

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Woodbridge and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, in the not too distant future. It will be our pleasure indeed.

Regards
Laurelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had the most memorable stay at Woodbridge. The staff, Christina & Francesco were a delight and made us feel very welcome. The restoration of the property by John & Laurelle is fantastic. This property has earns its right to be included in the Small Luxury Hotels of the world guide.
The food was exquisite and the service superb. A touch of France in Tasmania.
We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a special getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrimley, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Ross F

How wonderful to open the computer in the morning to a fabulous review such as yours! Thank you!
Our staff, those that you got to meet as well as those that scurry around behind the scenes, will be delighted by your comments, as are we.

However, what is most important is that you have had a wonderful time with us - that you have relaxed, enjoyed, found a haven or run yourself ragged doing exciting things, as you wished! That is really all that matters.

I don't know if you were there when the guests informed us that we did not have a platypus, we did, in fact, have 2!!! We hope we may soon have more! I hope you got to see them courting!

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Woodbridge some time in the future.

Laurelle Grimley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed using a living social voucher. The customer service here was amazing! Very attentive. The food was to die for, would highly recommend the quail, lamb and trout but not so much the risotto or wallaby (both still nice though). For dessert the creme brûlée was amazing! The room had a beautiful view over the river and mountains. We would have expected a king size bed though. The toiletries and bathroom were good and could not fault cleanliness. The only downside was the spa which was so over chlorinated that we couldn't breathe in that room and had to leave. We informed management and they apologized for this. All in all, a fantastic place to stay as a special treat if you can afford it but for the very expensive prices it may almost be a little let down.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nessa23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrimley, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear nessa13_11

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world - we do hope that you got to watch our platypus which has been very active both at breakfast and dinner time!

Thank you for commending our 'fantastic' service. Our staff certainly do put in every effort to ensure guest comfort, but there is, of course, a cost to a 1:2 staff/guest ratio like ours.

Oh, how we would love to be able to fit a king bed into all rooms and suites, but unlike highly commercialized, purpose built edifices, Woodbridge is an1825 mansion built with its own unique wall angles which often will not accommodate larger than a queen bed. Sorry!

Thank you for alerting us to the chlorine smell which actually indicates under-chlorination rather than over-chlorination as one might expect. When we investigated we found that a guest had left the jacuzzi on 42 degrees which had 'cooked' all the chlorine out of the water into the air - and yes, we gasped also!!

Chef Francesco will 'smile all over' that you enjoyed his food!

Regards
Laurelle Grimley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent just one night at this place but we will definitely return for more. The staff and owners are all extremely nice and our room was great.
We chose to have dinner and breakfast there and that was the right thing to do. Staying there for a longer time would make dinner every night a bit too expensive though.
Wireless Internet access is available in the pavilion but not in each room. I didn't mind that at all - it was nice to forget about email and Facebook for a while!
It's quite simple to drive there from Hobart and MONA is only about

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Hairy_Nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnTasmania, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Andrew_Hairy_Nerd

Thank you for your great review - we are delighted that you had a 'tremendous escape'.

My apologies for the lack of Internet in the private rooms. Wifi can't get through the 400mm thick walls, and we are having reoccurring problems with our router, which we hope will soon be rectified.

We appreciate that dining on successive nights can be expensive, which is why we have a greatly reduced rate if you choose to dine every night of a multiple night stay. This time, we only had the pleasure of your company for the one night, but on your planned 'longer stay' return please do take advantage of the every day dining option on the Booking Button of our website.

We look forward to welcoming you to Woodbridge on your next escape.
Regards
Laurelle Grimley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Four of us (2 couples) booked for a Saturday & Sunday night in Early November 2012. The booking was made to include dinner and breakfast for all of us on both days. In order to book, one must first select a package, Silver, Platinum etc. As it turns out, this make no difference whatsoever to the room booked it just changes the pricing. There are only 8 rooms & they are rarely all filled, so choice of rooms for them is not a problem. Anyway, to provide the same product to 2 couples travelling together booked at a similar time, they charged $70 plus credit card charges difference in the price. Go figure. I enquired as to the difference in price and was given a lengthy response about filling gaps, special pricing and only one special price per day????

When people travel together, they generally compare notes. Preferential treatment for one of the group always causes dissent. When a business is running below par for occupancy the last thing it needs to is irritate its existing customers.

Having said all that, the staff namely Christina & Frencesco were lovely & attentive. He is a great chef & she is just delightful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobFandPammyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgrimley, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear RobFandPammyB
Thank you for your words of appreciation for our staff - all of our staff, both front of house and those behind the scenes work tirelessly to ensure a wonderful stay for our guests. Thank you also for your perfect or near-perfect ratings that you assigned to all categories. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We regret that our phone and email communications to you have failed to explain the price variation to your satisfaction.
We use an online booking system so that guests can peruse the options at their leisure and select the combination of length of stay, room price, dinner options etc to meet their requirements. This does lead to a slightly more complicated booking page, but the upside is that guests can tailor their stay to their own preferences.
When you booked there was a special deal available for a single room for 2 days between two very heavily booked weeks. Our Channel Manager had put a special (reduced) offer for these 2 days in this single room to promote its sale. You wisely secured the only room at the reduced rate, but perhaps did not notice the notation saying that there was only 1 room available on this deal. When your friends later went online to make their reservation, they chose from the then available options and the choices they and you made resulted in a slight difference between the final invoices for the 2 day stay of each party of $70.
Thank you for taking the time to ensure that we understand how distressed that you are by this $70 variation and I will discuss your concerns with our Channel Manager to ensure that we are offering the best possible combinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
15.3 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
436 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
16.0 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
229 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
16.0 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge on the Derwent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge on the Derwent

Property: Woodbridge on the Derwent
Address: 6 Bridge St | New Norfolk, Hobart, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodbridge on the Derwent 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbridge on the Derwent is a spectacular Heritage listed Small Luxury Hotel, on the banks of the Derwent River. Woodbridge has only nine luxury suites and rooms, and a maximum of 18 guests. Amenities include the Reading Boom, the Ballroom, riverfront Pavilion, sauna, hot-tub, complimentary bicycles and kayaks.The valley and the river provide walks, cycling, kayaking,fly fishing, wineries, cooking schools. Woodbridge offers personalised service, wonderful food and wine, and rich and luxurious rest and relaxation in one of Australia's oldest Grand Homes. Woodbridge is the only Five Star hotel in Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodbridge on the Derwent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge On The Derwent New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing