We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, thoughtful manager”
Review of Junction Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Junction Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, thoughtful manager”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The manager is very friendly and thoughtful. Upon check-in we were given some fresh milk and local cherries. The motel grounds and rooms have a range of quirky, attractive art displayed. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated and had a well equipped kitchenette. The coin-operated washing machine and dryer on site was handy. We left a phone charger in our room which the manager kindly posted to our home in Canberra at his own expense - very thoughtful and much appreciated!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamB993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks Tamara, its was a pleasure having you stay with us. Many thanks for your review, its good to get feedback. Hope that you Ladies enjoyed your Tassie trip and hope meet you again
cheers and many thanks
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
30
68
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Junction Motel in New Norfolk was a great place to stay, it was easy to find, very clean and tidy, friendly and homely and the Manager, Tim, went out of his way to be helpful. It was a busy time of year but nothing was too much, he even found me the perfect box in which to pack my extra luggage and Fresh Cherries and Milk on arrival made for a royal welcome.
The restaurant there was very cosy.
I would highly recommend Junction Motel New Norfolk and I will be going to stay there again when next in Tasmania. Thanks Tim.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but mine was good, I am sure they all would be much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HariLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Harilou, glad that you got your box full of Tassie purchases home safe. Many thanks for your review of as at the Junction, we are always trying to make our Guests welcome and happy..When I first started as a chef when I was 18 , my employers motto was " People make the Property" Ive always tried to have the same
Once again many thanks
cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The innkeeper knows his business, clean rooms with quirky decor, dining room filled with antiques and attentive staff. Given the age of the premises this could have been a poor experience however the staff made all the difference.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JSVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi JSVW, many thanks for your review of us at the Junction Motel. Wow great wrap thanks, yeah the place is old but we trying to give it life again . I have been slowly doing it up over the past years as I can afford it, together with my amazing staff were doing the best we can. Once again many thanks and hope to see you again if passing these parts
cheers
tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here late December and the place was great. The room was spacious and clean and we were offered the dinner at $25 per head for a four course buffet and It was beautiful. From pawns and mussels to a roast dinner with stacks of desserts to choose from I would recommend it to anyone

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bennygeetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks Benny for your review of us. It was a pleasure having you with us over Xmas -New Year. I really hope that you enjoyed your Tassie trip and hope that we made your break a little memorable. Yes the food always gets great wraps, its our way of saying thanks for staying with us in New Norfolk at my little motel
cheers
tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

it's a really cosy place with good food and OUTSTANDING service! highly recommended.
motel situated close to restaurants. comfortable beds and restaurant has pleasant decorations.
beautiful scenery nearby and best to go during summer.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hey Girls, we just loved having you two here ,your the Awesome ones.. people like you is the reason we do what we do. Once again many thanks
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Tim was very helpful with things to do around the area and where to eat. We arrived on motorbikes with the weather getting bad. Tim offered his car because there is no car hire in New Norfolk. Great stay. Priced right.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks Mick for your review of us here at the Junction. Enjoyed having you guys here too..we have many motor Bikes come through as Tassie is fantastic to cruise about ....Oh apart from our all over the place weather sometimes. ....Joys on being on the bottom of the world !
Once again many thanks for your kind words and would love to see you back next time your in our beautiful Island home
cheers
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived just before 7pm, tired and exhausted, to be given an excellent room rate plus be in time for the 4 course $25 per head (in house guests) dinner. We were amazed by the quality and range of food on offer - the Junction Motel was considerably the best all round value for accommodation and food during our 3 1/2 weeks in Tassie. Rooms very clean, comfortable and well appointed and staff could not do enough for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timlast, Owner at Junction Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks Shauna, for your review of us at the Junction. Its great to hear that you considered us the best value on your Tassie trip, that's exactly what we are trying to achieve. We want to be known for exactly that. Being so close to Hobart we have to compete with the big chains and we are just a small business trying to give the best we can for the price..Once again Shauna many thanks and all the best for the New Year.
regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
1.9 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#3 of 12 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Motel

Property: Junction Motel
Address: 50 Pioneer Avenue | Cnr Lyell Hwy & Pioneer Avenue, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Junction Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Junction... Where country vibe and prices- meets city service.. The Junction Motel is a clean, value for money 30 room, Motel and Function Centre situated in the picturesque town of New Norfolk, the gateway to the West Coast and Wilderness National Parks- Mt Field,Styx Valley and Lake Pedder.The "Best Food experience" awarding winning Agarian Kitchen is in Lachlan 10 mins away. Whilst also being just 30 minutes from Tasmania's capital city - Hobart or what the locals call Slobart. Also only 15 minutes away from the much controversial Mona Museum of Old and New Art at Moorilla Estate Vineyard (Berridale). Port Arthur and the HuonValley are about one and a half hours drive from New Norfolk.Lounge-Bar is only open Monday - Friday for HouseGuests and PreBooked Out side Guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Junction Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Motel New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing