We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!”
Review of Explorers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Explorers Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The perfect way to end our holiday. Mum and I travelled around Tasmania for a couple of weeks and spent the last 2 nights in the B&B main house of Explorers Lodge which was definitely a highlight of our trip. The warm hospitality of Liz and Nigel and the great efforts they went to for all the guests to make recommendations regarding local attractions and food options were second to none. Their BEAUTIFUL breakfasts, our immaculate and charming room (with great shower, other creature comforts like electric blankets, and vase of freshly picked roses) and pretty gardens make this the best B&B we stayed in. We will definitely be returning in the future and have already raved about this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 68 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice homely place to stay - fantastic breakfast!! Hosts were very friendly and gave us good advice on where to eat and local places to visit. We stayed in a king room which was upstairs and overlooked the gardens - nice communal lounge, well stocked with books and lovely sunroom. Only minor negatives were a very small TV monitor, and peeling paint and cobwebs on the onsuite ceiling. All in all a very positive experience!! Best hairdryer I've ever used :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyandcamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in the Tasman Hideaway which is self contained. The fixtures and fittings were a little tired but everything worked. It was quite cold at night but the heaters and the electric blanket worked well. The small kitchen was manageable as we cooked dinner there one night and made breakfast both days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We now have brand new carpets throughout the Tasman Hideaway and new ceramic bathroom tiles in the ensuite to the main bedroom. The reverse cycle airconditioner is new and works very well as does the new digital TV.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent a single night here on the way to Strahan. Really historic area, feels like it's a million miles from Hobart. The lodge is set in spacious grounds next to river parkland, great views from the upstairs windows. The beds were very comfy and the rooms were tastefully furnished. The owners were very helpful with recommendations about attractions and dinner etc. The breakfast was great, I'll definitely be going back there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My daughter and I visited Explorer's Lodge in April and we were warmly welcomed by Liz and Nigel. The accommodation was quaint and spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was plentiful, hot and delicious and cooked to order. All in all a relaxing, homely and comfortable stay in a convenient location to explore Richmond and Mt Field National Park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creaturefeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent only one night here on our tour of Tasmania, and only regret we didn't stay longer. New Norfolk is a very historical and interesting place to visit, but also a good base to see other parts of Tasmania.The Explorer's Lodge was tucked away in a very beautiful part of town, not far from the river. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean and roomy. We had the B &B option upstairs, however, there was a self catering option and a room for handicapped people downstairs. We had a very satisfying continental breakfast the next morning.
I left a some clothing behind, and the owner kindly sent it back to me in Sydney at her own expense. We will definitely be returning. I'll try not to leave anything behind next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255060Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed, everything was perfect, highly recommend, would go back again if visiting Tassy in the future. Facilities were all as described. Breakfast was delicious and fresh :) lovely area to explore too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racheal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.5 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#5 of 12 in New Norfolk
42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Lodge

Address: 105 Derwent Tce, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Lodge is a lovely New England style home set in a leafy quiet area of New Norfolk and only a 30 minute scenic drive from Hobart. We offer three newly updated ensuited bed & breakfast rooms in the main house. Guests have the use of a welcoming lounge with open fireplace and a sunroom which overlooks the garden & hills. Breakfast is served in the bay windowed dining room. The Sassafras Apartment is self contained with independent access and offers a large master bedroom with king bed, ensuite, a separate lounge, kitchenette, small balcony with BBQ. There is an option to increase the apartment to two bedrooms to accommodate families. This room has two long single beds & a separate bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Explorers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Lodge New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing