We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Explorers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Explorers Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I can't recommend Explorers Lodge highly enough. We had the Balcony En Suite B & B accommodation.
The sun room, gardens and lounge area with complimentary Port were much appreciated.
Breakfast was especially enjoyable with fresh fruit and home cooked bread to die for.
New Norfolk is such a pretty place and so close to Mt Field National Park, so many things to do and see. Unfortunately, I pulled a muscle in my back on the second day and had to return to bed for the afternoon. Our hosts Liz and Nigel were wonderful, providing me with heat packs and even crutches!!! Our lovely sunny room had balconies,TV and our own tea/coffee making facilities, so my enforced rest time was so much easier to bear. I hope to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you very much, certainly appreciated. We were glad that we were able to help you out in a small way and enjoyed meeting the four of you. Hope to see all of you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

11/10 for hospitality - Liz and Nigel went out of their way to make us feel welcome, lent guide books and umbrellas and provided for us fussy Brits e.g. leaf tea and a teapot in our room!!

8/10 for cleanliness - room was clean but a little dusty

We thought the price was a little high (we stayed at Freycinet for similar price).

We recommend Explorers Lodge which is an ideal base to visit Hobart and surrounding area.

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

About time we replied!!

Tim and Deborah many thanks for your kind words and we take note of all you have written!
A point about the price: we are sure you must have had a very special rate at Freycinet Lodge as the full tariff for their cheaper accommodation is almost 3 times that of our rooms.
Although we rate our Lodge very highly, we do not aspire to compare ourselves with Freycinet Lodge!
We enjoyed having you to stay and hope you return to Tassie oneday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I'm a senior lady who prefers to travel solo. Tasmania is my passion, and I've been spending my annual vacations there for the past 8 years. I'm fussy about my accommodation, and although I have to holiday within a budget, I also like to be comfortable. The fact that I've returned to Explorers' Lodge for the past 4 years, says a great deal about the quality of this lovely B&B in New Norfolk. Over the years I've stayed in each of the four guest rooms, and one day plan to book the self-contained unit - except then I would miss the hearty breakfast served by hosts Liz and Nigel Ashby. Unlike many B&Bs who tell you breakfast is served strictly between 7.30am and 8.30am, and that's that, at Explorers' Lodge there is a degree of flexibility offered to travellers who might have to get away early, or who have arrived late the night before and don't want to front up too early the next morning. The rooms, and beds, are all very comfortable; all have ensuites, and one room has a bath as well. Another attraction is the lovely sunroom, that offers the facility of a refrigerator for guest use, and the sunken lounge/TV room - with a decanter of port for guests to help themselves. The garden, too, is a delight, and is also available for guest use. This B&B offers great value for money, and is a place where a traveller can truly relax and feel genuinely welcome.

Room Tip: It's best to speak to owners, or email them, with your requirements. If they can help you, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This B&B was located on wotif but I decided to phone ahead and see if I could book the room direct, was told the specific room was already booked, I queried that it was still available on the web site, was told that it wasn't, but could have another room at $10 more. decided to go back via web and booked it at original price, either owners were telling porky's or shifted other quests around, I have my suspicions!!! The room was small for a queen bed, did have a ensuite and continential breakfast. free port was offered. we retired to our room for an early night. I think that the B&B was over priced and would have thought $70 - $85 would be fair. the room had a strange smell, couldn't put my finger on it! The bed was comfy...but no room for suitcases.

Room Tip: choose a room with private bathroom, but this comes at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellejeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

We had no ulterior motive and no clandestine plot was intended. This is not our nature. The other guests in the B&B section on Friday were staying with us for their fourth time, and in the room which they had booked months before. So nobody was “shifted around”. Another party had already booked the reviewer's room by telephone (half an hour before the reviewer’s call) but we did not register this on the internet soon enough. These people failed to arrive; we have since heard from them and they apologised for not cancelling. Had these guests arrived we would have given them the Balcony Room; this is our prerogative. We have the name and phone number if verification is needed.

The rubber covering on the flat roof adjacent to that room does sometimes emit a rubbery odour when rain is followed by warmer weather. We will try to devise a means of dealing with the matter. The large built-in cupboard in the room is recognised by Triple A ratings as suitable for luggage.

The guests who wrote the previous review on Tripadvisor stayed in the same room for two days. Their review indicates that they were satisfied with the room and that they appreciated the other facilities such as the large sitting room, sunroom, and the garden, all in a peaceful location.

All of our rooms have private bathrooms, including the room the reviewer occupied. We have 4 rooms in the B&B section: 2 small at $110 double and 2 larger at $125 double.

The price includes a substantial continental breakfast (with homemade bread), complimentary port and free wi-fi. There is more to an overnight stay than the size of a room. The quality of the mattress, the double pillows, the extra towels, the linen, hairdryer, electric blankets, heater and fan, soap and shampoo, as well as good quality toilet tissue all go towards a pleasant overnight stay. This would not be available at Pub rates: ($70- $85).

We regret that the reviewer was not pleased with what we offer. We take serious note of any dissatisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have been to a few B&Bs now and I have to say that this is my favorite so far. Great rooms, great hosts great location, lovely breakfast and lovely room to sit and read or watch TV.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcarlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Spent one night only on our travels but could easily have stayed longer. Very friendly hosts, nice room tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean, beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nosleep_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We've spent three nights at Explorers Lodge. The hosts (Liz and Nigel) were very flexible to our requests. They have accomodated our late arrival and served really good breakfast with Tasmanian Leatherwood honey. They are ready to help and explain all sightseeings around.

The house is really homelike, there is plenty of space for parking, the sunroom (porch) is a nice place to spend evening. There is also a drawing-room, so this place is really different from other B&Bs in that there is a lot of common space even when it's raining outside.

We have been travelling with a small girl and have booked smaller room (bigger one was not available for the first night) and later on moved to James Cook room which is for three persons, yet it is much bigger and comfortable, so my tip would be to go for a bigger room if one is available.

The location is very good if you are going to explore Mt. Field national park or MONA gallery (which was really a must see in Tasmania), yet the location is about 30 minute drive from downtown Hobart.

Room Tip: James Cook room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saulius_LT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.4 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
67 reviews
15.5 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 8 in New Norfolk
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#5 of 12 in New Norfolk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Lodge

Address: 105 Derwent Tce, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: $99 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Lodge is a charming New England style house set in lovely gardens in a quiet area of New Norfolk only 30 minutes from Hobart. The lodge offers a comfortable and affordable self catering apartment with a separate entrance, as well as four traditional Bed and Breakfast rooms in the main house. The self catering apartment has a king bed and a single bed in one ensuite bedroom and twin beds with a dedicated bathroom in the second bedroom. A sitting area with digital TV/DVD and an attached kitchenette, together with a small verandah (and a BBQ)which overlooks the garden and surrounding hills, make this the perfect place to relax after a day’s touring. The apartment is ideal for two people (one bedroom option) or for four people (two bedroom two bathroom option.) A welcoming breakfast basket with homemade bread is provided for the first morning.The bed and breakfast section has four ensuite rooms each with its own digital TV, with a choice of twin/king or queen beds. Tariff includes continental breakfast which is served in the baywindowed breakfast room or in the lovely sunroom. There is a large welcoming television lounge for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Explorers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Lodge New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing