We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location with amazing views ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Field National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Russell Falls Holiday Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best location with amazing views ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The cottages and relatively new and very spacious and clean.
Host was really friendly and helpful on arrival and despite previous guests leaving late, managed to prepare the rooms ahead of time.
The cottages and located within a shot walking distance to the park. View from the back veranda is to the forest and river. Cottage has a lounge and in our case, two bedrooms with a full kitchen. Only down point were the flying insects coming through the bathroom vent at night, but was already advised that flu screens are been put in place.
Only

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I fell in love with our cottage and location. Listening to the sounds of the river and overall nature is the secret of unwinding. Mt Field National Park was conveniently across the road, or I should say bridge. We would have wine, beer and canapes while relaxing in front of an open log fire. The waterfalls, wildlfe, trees and glow worms are superb. Our cottage had everything we needed and if we needed anything, our hosts Leesa and Troy obliged. They are lovely people, the cottage waz very clean and well supplied. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 112Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My stay there was wonderful. The cottage was clean and fantastic and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is spectacular, right outside the entrance to Mt Field National Park and along the river. I will absolutely be going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NinaC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location!
We spent a night here and loved the proximity to the national park. Had the riverside cottage and enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the river.
Good facilities - couch a little uncomfortable, but good size etc.
My 6'2" husband would have appreciated a queen size bed rather than a double so his feet didn't hang over the edge...
Everything else was fine though.
Please put an egg flip back in the cabin - was the only utensil missing :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatHnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I would live here if I could.....we recently spent 2 nights (and I wish it were many more) at this property. We had the cottage near the river. First of all, it has everything you need to be comfortable; a kitchen with dishes, toaster, microwave/frig etc,; living room, comfortable bed/pillows, laundry room with a washer/dryer (a wonderful plus) and bathroom (small shower, but adequate); decent heating. Nice and quiet. Great porch out back to sit/relax. There were lots of windows and the views were wonderful...nicely landscaped. My husband and I are National Park enthusiasts...so best of all, the cottages are situated right outside of beautiful Mount Field National Park...just walk out your door and walk across a small bridge and you're there. Mount Field National Park is like a "fairytale land"... it is an absolutely gorgeous hike through the rain forest with beautiful falls. The owners of the cottage have thought of everything to make you comfortable. It was decently priced. The cafe inside the national park center has good food if you don't want to cook. I have a new favorite place on earth... Tasmania...absolutely loved it. The only "con" I can think of is that the slatted vent in the bathroom (near the fan) was not covered and bugs had a tendency to come in. Too, you had to open a window near the washer/dryer to help with the condensation build-up. At night when we were there, that could get a little "cold", but you can shut the door between the laundry room and rest of the cottage. I killed a couple of "small spiders"...but on our final day, there was a really "huge" spider on the bedroom ceiling that my husband pointed out as I finished packing.....good thing he showed it to me after I finished or I would have made him pack it all up. I understand that it can be a common occurrence, and I'm not a "sissy-girl"...I just prefer spiders like that to be "outside"..not in the bedroom...(ha). So if there were any possible way to cover up that slatted/open air vent to keep them out and still let air in/out...that would be my only suggestion to make this place top-notch. Even the big spider would not deter me from coming back though... we loved it here, were very comfortable, and would come back in a heart-beat. So if you love nature and the outdoors....book it...you will be glad you did. Owner very nice...even when I woke her up early to return the key because we had a flight to catch in Hobart and I wasn't sure where to leave it... These cottages are a Great Choice!

Room Tip: Get the cottage by the River...nice/relaxing...go outside at night...the stars are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

On our recent trip to Tasmania we stayed at the Russell Falls Holiday Cottages. We found the cottage to be very clean & comfortable. Playground for the kids nearby, and large park for ball games near by also. The cottage was clean and had kitchen facilities to make your own meals. Fantastic views and near by stream ran past our cottage. The Russell Falls are only a short walk away and the obvious highlight of the area. Would stay here again if we go back to Tasmania again. Tanya was quite pleasant and happy to offer advice & help if required.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at Russell Falls Holiday Cottages to get an early start on a Mt Field day walk. Arriving late, our cottage was ready and waiting. The cottage had a large lounge dining area, kitchen and laundry and would be a good base for a longer stay. It served it's purpose well and could easily have accommodated more than the 2 people we were.

There were some details lacking, one curtain coming off the rails a little, one slightly dubious light switch, couch had perhaps seen a very parties.

All in all though, as a base for exploring the beautiful surrounds of Mt Field - it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xdamianx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Field National Park
0.3 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
7.0 mi away
Giants' Table and Cottages
4.0 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#1 of 7 in New Norfolk
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge
Hawthorn Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bushy Park
25 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
5.2 mi away
Sassafras Springs
Sassafras Springs
#1 of 1 in Ellendale
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Falls Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Falls Holiday Cottages

Property: Russell Falls Holiday Cottages
Address: 40 Lake Dobson Rd, Mount Field National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mount Field National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mount Field National Park
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Russell Falls Holiday Cottages Tasmania/Mount Field National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing