We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lovely facilities, just a bit more love would be nice ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, lovely facilities, just a bit more love would be nice ...”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Just a two night stay in Mole creek on the recommendation of friends who stayed here some years ago. The Heritage cottage was truly gorgeous and the farm setting with the sheep and alpacas was a treat for the kids. The place was ideal for a short stay because of the proximity to the local caves and the Tassie devil wildlife sanctuary.

The owners were friendly enough ... and the bread and muffins were appreciated (plus the eggs, milk and juice left for our arrival) I just got the feeling that a bit of
"customer love" was missing. But, hey, it was still more friendly than a hotel.

My only serious complaint: please guys, fork out for a comfortable mattress in the Heritage cottage. Those beds were not up to scratch.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battelley, Owner at Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
I'm sorry you found the beds uncomfortable. We were very surprised to hear this. New mattresses have been installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed in the Heritage Cottage for 3 nights
Pros:
The owners weren't particularly welcoming however their accommodation is wonderful and attention given to the smallest details to make our stay a postiive experience.
Fresh bread baked daily, plentiful breakfast supplies, comfortable bedding, very private, exquisite gardens and beautiful views.
Cons:
Only one and that is a lack of laundry facilities due to the need to conserve water supply. Owner was kind enough to do one small load of washing for us, however with three adult travellers wearing layers of clothing we needed to do laundry and lots of it.
We found a spotlessly clean laundrette in Deloraine but the charge for drying is quite expensive at $1 for three minutes

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Swan_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in the Heritage for one night, definitely wished it had been longer. Beautiful cottage with beautiful surrounds. Spacious and clean. Wonderful barrel woodheater/fire. Full kitchen for self catering. Provided freshly made muffins and bread on arrival. Will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed in the "Hobbit Cottage" and it was perfect. There were Llamas feeding in the front garden and birds singing from early morning. The cottage was very spacious and clean. As it was winter and a little cold the host had the fire going for us when we arrived.
Michelle, the owner baked us fresh bread and cakes each morning and provide fresh eggs. There are three cottages in total and they are ideally situated for exploring the northern part of Tasmania. There are some great walks close by and fantastic scenery and walks around Craddle Mountain. Regretfully we lost a day due to the ash cloud over New Zealand and would have liked a lot more time here. In the summer the garden of the cottage has BBQ facilities and it overlooks a duck pond.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinnersMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This was a wonderful experience. Comfortably furnished cottages in a picturesque peaceful location. Nestled in the rolling countryside with stunning views from every lookout point. The grounds and gardens are so pretty and very well maintained- so pleasing on the eye.
The owners Alan and Michelle gave us a very warm welcome with delicious home made Muffins and Bread, they were also very helpful in assisting us with other places of interest to visit.
We can hardly wait to do it all again.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly1255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed in the Heritage Cottage for the last 2 nights of a 2 week trip to Tassie and I think we saved the best til last. The place is beautiful and it was lovely to sit at the dining table with a cup of tea and home-made muffin whilst the kids ran around exploring the "fairy garden" and shyly trying to pat the baby alpaca.

A lot of love has gone into the Blackwood Cottages and it shows. There are 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed and en suite and one with 2 singles and separate bathroom. The lounge is open plan leading to kitchen and dining area in a "conservatory" type space with doors opening to the amazing view. This is a great location near to the caves and great foodie places to visit, along with horse riding up at Blaze Trail Rides.

I would certainly recommend Blackwood Park Cottages to anyone looking for a rural stay and some well-deserved peace and quiet.

PS probably the only thing I would change would be delivering the following mornings bread, still warm the afternoon before..... unfortunately it never made it to breakfast as it was too good lol!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is the third time that we have stayed at the cottages. We love this place, it is our home away from home! We are booked in again for later on in the year. Could not say enough wonderful things about the place or owners - absolutely lovely caring people. Thankyou so much for always making us welcome!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huskysx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
1.8 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
106 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
61 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Cradle Forest Inn
Cradle Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Moina
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Wesleydale Heritage Accomodation
11.7 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#1 of 9 in Sheffield
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek

Property: Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek
Address: 445 Mersey Hill Rd, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mole Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful self-contained cottages situated in Mole Creek, Tasmania. Mole Creek is the gateway to The Great Western Tiers, a magical area full of natural wonders. Peaceful, tranquil accommodation in beautiful gardens, with majestic views. For romantic getaways or for families or groups looking for a unique rural holiday experience. 24 Hour on-site support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing