We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mole Creek Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mole Creek Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stopped at Mole Creek Holiday Village for 2 nights on our Tassie trip.
It was very pretty with lots of gardens surrounding the cabins.Their were laundry facilties and we could cook in the kitchen if you chose to do so, but we were very busy seeing the sights so eating out. the caves minutes away were lovely and the township of Mole Creek was surprisingly pretty and we found very neat. I loved the red post office, and we enjoyed a lovely meal at the hotel.

Room Tip: All were similar I think...Be prepared to climb a few stairs, so not really wheel chair friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mole Creek Cabins, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's also nice to hear your complimentary review of Mole Creek, our local community works hard to keep it neat and hopefully enhance your stay in this area. I will pass your comments on to our post-master and the publican, thank you. I note your remark on the fact that we have lots of steps to our accommodation, which we do! We do, however, have one set of chalets which is accessed by a gently sloping ramp and is therefore suitable for people who may have difficulty with stairs. Thank you again for taking the time to review our accommodation and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We (a Kiwi couple in our 50s) stayed at Mole Creek Holiday Village for three nights in May at the end of a 10 day tour of Tasmania. It was not the high end of the tourist season as it was heading into winter, and indeed on our very last day we were lucky enough to see a coating of snow on the Great Western Tiers. These cottages are a great place to base yourself for a range of activities, particularly if you like privacy, being located out of town (but within an easy drive to Deloraine) and in the countryside surrounded by a lovely garden setting. The cottages are well appointed and have great views of the Great Western Tiers. We felt very at home and highly recommend the cottages as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoleCreekHolVillage, Owner at Mole Creek Cabins, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home in our cottages. I am glad that you had the opportunity to see the Great Western Tiers with snow on them, it is a lovely sight and one worth the visit to our beautiful valley to see (I think). Winter can be a spectacular time to visit this area and the snow adds another aspect to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

To all dog lovers and anybody traveling with dogs (or without pets): You must stay at Mole Creek Holiday village when visiting Tasmania. It’s a wonderful place to tour Tasmania from with or without your favorite pet! We stayed at the holiday village for nearly three weeks, with our 2 years old bouncy and boisterous (and sometimes naughty) dog, and all of us loved the experience. The cottages are clean, well equipped, Tracey and her angel helpers (mother and mother in law) made sure that we haven’t missed anything. Bathroom, kitchen, rooms are really nice, charming and equipped with anything you would need for your comfort in both cold and warm weathers (heaters, extra blankets, air conditioning… and we just had to wish for anything extra (slow cooker, herbs from the garden), Tracey would fulfill our wishes immediately). We stayed in one of the cottages set aside for pet lovers, and our doggy could stay inside (which was amazing, most places would only allow dogs outside in kennels). The pet-lover cottage is set at the furthest corner of the village, making sure that pets wouldn’t disturb other guests. The sheep paddock adjacent to the cottages was just perfect for our early morning walks, and plays for our doggy. The sheep in the paddock are used to dogs and didn’t flinch a bit when our dog tried to encourage them to have a play together. Lenny the hand raised sheep was a good playmate for our puppy and sometimes they nearly ended up having a good chase around in the paddock. The sheep paddock is surrounded by blackberry bushes: what a treat in the morning, a nice stroll with the dog and munching on a handful of blackberries… and admiring the views of mountains across the valley…
There is also an option to leave the dogs in the kennel behind the house, but we ended up taking our dog with us everywhere (Huntsman Lake is just 20 minutes drive away, perfect place for fishing and for a swim for puppies). Restaurants, honey and cheese factories, caves, Wildlife Park, shopping and bushwalking opportunities are all in easy drive away. Thank you Tracey and all your helpers making our stay so fantastic and easy, hopefully we will have the opportunity to come back and stay with you again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CsibeWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoleCreekHolidayVill, Owner at Mole Creek Cabins, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments about your stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time here and that Csibe (your lovely bouncy dog) had fun too. We hope that you can come back and visit us again in the future. I'm sure our sheep Lenny would be 'happy' to see Csibe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed there for only one night in December and we LOVED it. The cottage itself was all wooden with all the facilities you need: well equipped kitchen, nice bathroom, TV with DVDs. There is a small balcony with amazing views!
On the other side of the house was the sheep's park. They were very curious, trying to look at us through the window and jumping around (you cannot feed or touch them as there are fly screens on all windows).
The "holiday village" was the most adorable I have seen. Lots of beautiful flowers and plants everywhere. Everything was so clean and tidy, with the little wooden houses, we would feel like we were in Switzerland!
I strongly recommend the Mole Creek holiday Village. The owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful and you could see they loved the place and took well care of it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFlamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy F, Owner at Mole Creek Cabins, responded to this review, November 13, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our accommodation. We love that you loved our place and hope that you will return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

Nice, quaint self contained with a wonderful terrace/balcony view. The rooms are neat and clean and the kitchen was well equipped and very useful. It's a good base to the caves, a wildlife park and a honey farm. Really enjoyed our stay here, especially with a toddler, who had ample space to run around and a suitable place to sit and eat. There was also a small laundry room outside and all other facilities you'd probably want in the room. Only thing was that may be just me not being used to a place in a remote area but at night, it was a bit scary, as there were noises (animals? the house itself?) and it happened to be thundering and pouring one of the nights.

  • Liked — Self contained facilities, clean, pretty, quaint, peaceful, nice view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
2.9 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
14.2 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blackwood Park Cottages Mole Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#1 of 9 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.6 mi away
Lemonthyme Wilderness Retreat
19.4 mi away
Cradle Forest Inn
Cradle Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Moina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Cabins

Property: Mole Creek Cabins
Address: 1876 Mole Creek Rd, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mole Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mole Creek Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The self-contained timber cottages, The Farmhouse and Trappers Lodge at Mole Creek Holiday Village are situated in the heart of the country on the edge of the Tasmanian wilderness. Tracy and Simon welcome you to one of Northern Tasmania's premier places to stay. Stay a while amongst friends. Unpack, relax and settle back in a comfortable self-contained chalet. Admire the views and the beautiful cottage gardens. We are conveniently positioned within a one-hour's drive from The Spirit of Tasmania Terminal & Launceston Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mole Creek Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Cabins Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing