We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Cradle Mountain and wished we had stayed longer. Very pretty spot with lovely gardens, quaint rooms and one of the nicest restaurants we came across in Tasmania. There are fantastic walks nearby with stunning scenery. Breakfast was delicious and as a bonus there is a large movie room. Its currently up for sale and the current owner is also the chef - hope it keeps up to this standard. The only fault was the beds- 2 single beds pushed together were not comfortable but overall really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Mole Creek Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Situated on the main road of the village of Mole Creek, the GH backs on to a small garden hugging the picturesque creek, where if you are lucky you can see the platypus. The rooms are furnished in keeping with the olde world style of the building & we were able to put our 6-year old in the second bed in our room. The room was cosy, evn if a little crowded. But that does not matter as you may make use of the lounge along the corridor where you can make log fires in the winter (& you need them) & also where you can take the evening meal. The food was exquisite: well prepared, presented & very tasty. My wife, who is South African, fell in love with the bobotie & swore she had never had as good back home in SA.
The welcome is warm & friendly & your hosts are interesting to talk to but never pushy. One big treat for us was to sit in the TV room after dinner, covered by a big blanket, and watch one of the many movies available projected on the giant screen.
The surrounding area has plenty to offer, with a superb lookout over the Cradle Mountain National Park only 45 minutes drive away, although the last 5 kms are up an unmade road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbadosBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had both always wanted to visit Tassie and finally got the chance to recently for a week away. We took this holiday as a desperate need to get away from busy, noisy Melbourne city life. Mole Creek Guest House was exactly what we were after!! We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the quiet town of Mole Creek. Our hosts were friendly, welcoming and do a wonderful job at making you feel at home. Including a scrumptious home cooked meal in the restaurant & not to mention the pancakes for breakfast! Delicious.
The surrounding views are breathtaking and there's plenty to do and see that's only a car trip away (caves, walks, visit other towns etc).
The Guest House is beautiful with old-cottage style rooms, lounge room with an open fire, big balcony that faces the mountains and a well kept beautiful garden.
We are both in our late 20's Hand wanted a secluded, quiet place to stay and this exceeded our expectations. Highly recommend this place for a nice get away, wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sair_callahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon at Mole Creek Guest House.
It was everything we hoped and so much more. The setting was breathtaking, the facilities delightful and more than adequate, the service was remarkable and made us feel we had a home away from home.
Our hosts were so welcoming and attentive. The small touches like Port in our room with home made cookies made the stay so personal. The breakfasts were second to none. I am a food enthusiast who loves to cook. I found my match and better in the fare produced for us at every meal. We ate in so many nights as really the food was so good and competitively priced.
I would heartily recommend this Guest House as a must whenever visiting Tasmania. If you really cannot stay overnight (which you ought, as it is so elegant and a real rejuvenation) then at least stop for lunch. The tarragon seasoned scotch fillet focaccia brought me back en route for our flight home. It was soooo good!
Delightful in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

This place is a gem and I'm glad I found it. There is nothing to fault at all. The room is extremely clean and well decorated. The restaurant has the best steak. The breakfast was so delicious that we came back again for it after leaving Craddle Mountain. It was a Monday and the restaurant was closed in the morning but Laurie insisted that she'll cook something up for us. Laurie and Paul are wonderful hosts. They provided a lot of useful information as to where to visit. There is also a creek behind the guest house where platypus could be seen at sunset. They have a shop where they sell items with a good cause. The paper bags they used to wrap what we bought are from India made by poor children and supported by an NGO. I heard that they might be selling the Guest House so do hurry and drop by before its gone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We chose Mole Creek Guest House because it was a suitable driving distance to Cradle Mountain after a late afternoon arrival in Launceston. We received a warm welcome and were given a suite. The room was well appointed and well equipped, with a very comfortable bed. In addition, there was a full lounge with cooking facilites on the same floor as the guest rooms. We enjoyed a relaxing walk thru the beautiful gardens and looked for the platypus in the stream. Breakfast menu had excellent choices and the food was hot, well cooked and well presented, with home made bread and cappucino. I would recommend using it as a base and only going to Cradle Mountain immediately after doing a weather check, as there are lovely walks in the area of Mole Creek and better weather. The owners were most helpful with maps and directions for walking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

The accommodation is wonderful, very clean and comfortable and in a lovely setting. Staff were lovely and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReganMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
24.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,007 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
16.7 mi away
Forest Walks Lodge
Forest Walks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Jackeys Marsh
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,372 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mole Creek Hotel
Mole Creek Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Guesthouse

Address: 100 Pioneer Dr, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Price Range: $99 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mole Creek Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original bush-boarding house, this beautiful bed and breakfast offers the real Tasmanian country experience. Nestled at the foothills of the Great Western Tiers and the gateway to Cradle Mountain, take in the most gorgeous valley in Tassie and enjoy fine food and warm hospitality in the way life was meant to be. Creekside garden, duck bill platypus, lovely en-suite rooms, delicious country food and free WiFi go to make this an unforgettable stay in rural Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mole Creek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Guesthouse Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing