We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best stay in Tasmania!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely the best stay in Tasmania!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a huge reflief this was. After days of travelling through the rest of overrated Tasmania, we "discovered" Mole Creek and its beautiful guest house. Nowhere else in Tassie came close to matching the quality of lodgings, food or service. We ate in for both dinner & breakfast and were thrilled to find Lonely Planet's recommendation to be correct.
If the rest of Mole Creek is as good as the Guesthouse (and we thought it was), then the rest of Tassie needs to have a good look at itself.
Value for money but more importantly, delivering what they promised. The only other place in Tasmania to do this was 41 degrees South: just up the road from Mole Creek. Between the two, they redeemed Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    19
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornbury, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our two day stay at Mole Creek Guest House was fantastic! We booked three rooms and all were gorgeous. The decor was stylish and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms are all upstairs and are entered from a very impressive hallway. There is also a lovely sitting room for guests to enjoy - with TV, games and coffee making facilities, as well as a lovely wide verandah to watch the world go by from and beautiful gardens and creek to wander through.
Best of all is the food!
The breakfast (included in the tariff) is scrumptious - lots of lovely fresh fruit and juices, and cooked breakfasts including home made breads, house granola, smoked salmon and eggs cooked perfectly.
Delicious home made cookies were in our rooms to enjoy with a cuppa.
We loved the dinner we ate there on our second night. On our first night we ate at the pub, where the food was very ordinary - a great place to have a few drinks and chat with the locals though. On our second night Laurie cooked for us. The eye fillet, the ocean trout and the flathead fish fillets were cooked to perfection and were beautifully presented - and so reasonably priced for good food! We shared four of the desserts and they were all to die for, as one after the other they melted in our mouths!

I cannot find one negative about this lovely guest house - from the hosts to the accommodation to the surrounds and the food - all were wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a good spot to stay in this area with comfortable rooms and excellent hosts. Make sure you eat at their restaurant downstairs because the food is really outstanding. The rooms are upstairs and spacious enough with ensuite bathrooms. Mobile phone coverage worked, though it is borderline (it's a holiday). A good choice in an attractive area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights as a stopover en route to Cradle Mountain and to visit the caves. The guest house was even nicer than we anticipated and Paul, Laurie and the staff were extremely warm and friendly. Breakfast was superb with lots of choices and the espresso drinks were perfect. We would come back in a heartbeat and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgrrl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place a for lunch or dinner. Very clean, the best place in Mole Creek ( that doesn't say much because there are approx 4 eating places in Mole Creek) - but its open for dinner and that's more than 2 of the competition. Food is good,

Price OK, service very good.

Room Tip: Sorry did not sleep here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night recently. We could not fault any aspect of our stay. From the first step inside Holly gave us a wonderful welcome and this continued from the rest of te staff at our evening meal and the tremendous breakfast the following morning. In hindsight we should have stayed for at least another night. Would highly recommend to all and sundry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the new year period. Owners were lovely and the attention to detail from the bedrooms, to the meals, to the gardens was immaculate. Home baked cookies in the room, real coffee and a huge choice of cooked breakfast in the mornings, not to mention a surround sound movie room with an intelligent choice of films. Nothing was too much trouble, even cooked special meals for our 3 year old. Very reasonably priced for the standard we received. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
24.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
993 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,323 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cott...
#1 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
719 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Guesthouse

Property: Mole Creek Guesthouse
Address: 100 Pioneer Dr, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mole Creek Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original bush-boarding house, this beautiful bed and breakfast offers the real Tasmanian country experience. Nestled at the foothills of the Great Western Tiers and the gateway to Cradle Mountain, take in the most gorgeous valley in Tassie and enjoy fine food and warm hospitality in the way life was meant to be. Creekside garden, duck bill platypus, lovely en-suite rooms, delicious country food and free WiFi go to make this an unforgettable stay in rural Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mole Creek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Guesthouse Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing