We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this delightful stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This accommodation comes highly recommended - especially with the evening dining. Alice's room was spotlessly clean and had those little extras like home baked cookies and chocolates. The gardens surrounding the Guest House are beautiful. Breakfast was delicious (especially the home preserved apricots and apples).
The evening meal prepared by Laurie was outstanding. The eye fillet was divine. The desserts were decadent ( although how we managed to finish them after the main meal I just don't know!) And to finish off a lovely evening we had a movie on the BIG screen. Hosts were very friendly and we are glad we didn't miss out on this little gem.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Merran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed in the Alice room, spacious and beautifully appointed.
A great relaxing spot after hiking two days straight at cradle mountain and feeling a little leg weary.
The guest house also boasted a movie room as well as a fantastic cafe with the best Mersey valley steak my husband and I have ever tasted, cooked to perfection by the owner of the guest house.
Breakfast was included and the variety on the menu beggared belief.
The gardens themselves are beautiful with a small creek at the back and if you are lucky you may see the platypus there.
The limestone caves are also amust to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyagGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely guest house, lovely location, and excellent restaurant attached.
We stayed two nights in this most relaxing location. So easy to access Cradle mountains, honey and cheese factories, Tassie devil parks and Launceston is just over an hour away.
The guest house itself is very well furnished and comfortable, we heard no road noise, at night there isn't much traffic, nor is it busy in the daytime. As a previous reviewer has said there are platypus in the creek in the back garden.
The food in the restaurant was cooked by one of the owners and the quality was superb. Check it out, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

what beautiful accommodation! old school country style, very clean and homely. the food was very good, the people were nice, if i knew how beautiful this place was i would have stayed for more than one night!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingdolldisaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Mole Creek is absoulutely gorgeous and the Mole Creek cafe/ Guest House was perfect for us. The staff were welcoming to our family get together (despite us being a rather loud bunch) and what a wealth of local knowledge! Kept my dad talking for ages.. more coffee for us.
Kids had fun playing in the garden and looking for the Playpus in the creek.
The food was so fresh and tasty.
Dinner.. We had the steak! Mouth watering and so soft.
The guest house was perfect for our little stay in town. Lovely and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having read great reviews about this place I was really looking forward to our 2 night stay. I spoke to a lovely person on the phone and she recommended we would need 2 nights to check out the caves and surrounding areas, so this is what I booked.

Having driven, flown and driven again to get there with two children and my Mum we were keen to check in. We had 3 suitcases between 4 of us as we were travelling around Tassie. Having unloaded the car, we walked into the entrance to be greeted by a lady who told us that we had come into the wrong place. We were confused and thought perhaps we had entered the wrong door. No real explanation was given, other than 'you should be with the others, not here - back outside with Paul'.....I asked what she meant and said we weren't with anyone else and she walked off! A man (who I then found out was Paul) realised that she must be confused and after commenting on how many bags we had, told us he'd take us to our room!

The room was very nice, comfortable, clean and we all had a nice single bed each. My 6 year old asked if the teddies on the bed were to keep and she was seriously told - NO!

I don't want to go on a grumble but we were far from welcomed and from various comments made it was clear that children were to be seen and not heard. I'm not stupid and understand that other guests need to be considered so was offended by the way we were made to feel.

The breakfasts that were raved about were average. My children both asked for poached eggs - but they got fried and crispy. I mentioned this to Paul and he said 'oh, I didn't get that' with no offer to replace. Seems children aren't of major concern.

The movie room was freezing with a small heater. Whilst there was a lovely open fireplace we were told that wasn't to be used. The children were told NOT to touch any of the remote controls due to naughty children messing with them previously. So we cuddled up under blankets and tried to keep warm in front of the small heater.

Nice location and a friendly pub just down the road. We decided to have our dinner there rather than in a cold and unwelcoming environment.

Such a shame as the property has been done up really well and if the hosts made you feel more welcome I'm sure it would have been a great start to our trip around beautiful Tasmania.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurieRose101, Owner at Mole Creek Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

The owners and staff take this feedback seriously, and accept responsibility for communication that has left our guest with such a negative impression of our hospitality. This is an uncommon response by a visitor to the Guest House, and we hope that with our usual sincere endeavours to ensure our guests of a very happy and comfortable stay here, it will remain a one-off occurrence.
Laurie Rose & Paul Gerhard
Mole Creek Guest House & Cafe, Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A great accommodation, beautifully designed. Very lovely rooms and perfect backyard. A great dinner and breakfast is served. Good menue. The in-home cinema is unique. Landlord and landlady offer perfect service. Absolutely nothing to complain, we spent two great days there. Only one of the recommend trips (via Eastern plateau, Cressy and Deloraine was not that impressing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
24.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,017 reviews
13.0 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
64 reviews
16.7 mi away
Forest Walks Lodge
Forest Walks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Jackeys Marsh
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mole Creek Hotel
Mole Creek Hotel
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Guesthouse

Address: 100 Pioneer Dr, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mole Creek
Price Range: $99 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mole Creek Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original bush-boarding house, this beautiful bed and breakfast offers the real Tasmanian country experience. Nestled at the foothills of the Great Western Tiers and the gateway to Cradle Mountain, take in the most gorgeous valley in Tassie and enjoy fine food and warm hospitality in the way life was meant to be. Creekside garden, duck bill platypus, lovely en-suite rooms, delicious country food and free WiFi go to make this an unforgettable stay in rural Tasmania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mole Creek Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Guesthouse Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing