We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a close up with Tassie wildlife”

Trowunna Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trowunna Wildlife Park, 65 acres sanctuary for our Native Tasmanian Wildlife. Tasmanian Devils; Wombats; Quolls; Echidnas; Forester Kangaoos and an array of birds, ducks and Cape Barren Geese to name a fewTrowunna is approximately 12minutes west of Deloraine, 40 minutes south of Devonport, 45 minutes west of Launceston and 75 minutes east of Cradle Mountain. Trowunna Wildlife Park is open every day except Christmas Day with 3 daily interactive tours at 11am, 1pm and 3pm. Come and see the wombats roaming free at Trowunna hand feed the 'friendliest kangaroos', mob of 50+. Relax and lose yourself in the tranquil sanctuary that is Trowunna. Trowunna Wildlife Park has been successfully breeding Tasmanian devils since 1985 and we are also active in other conservation projects such as Quoll and wombat breeding programs and native Tasmanian wildlife rehabilitation program.
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great for a close up with Tassie wildlife”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our third trip to Trowunna, as we had taken previous visitors. Our niece from Brisbane was visiting and we thought she might like to visit and get in to very close contact with the Tassie wildlife. To say the least, our niece was overawed with what she did that day. Being able to cuddle a wombat, they needed a crowbar to pry the wombat away, and being able to pat two beautiful Tassie Devils was the icing on the cake. The 11am tour is a must as this when you are able cuddle and pat the wildlife, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and very open to questions. The day was a big hit :o)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Androo K, Finance at Trowunna Wildlife Park, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Trowunna and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    72
    14
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Entertaining”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the mole creek holiday village so making the trip to the wildlife park was a no brainier. The service was excellent. Our tour guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. Holding a sleepy infant wombat and patting baby devils was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Em3xus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth the $20 entry!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

At Trowunna, you can see that they really are a wildlife rescue and rehab centre. There are orphans of various species all around, including 3 wedge-tailed eagles with various degrees of wing damage.They are in the midst of building new devil runs and making the whole area wombat proof so that they can release wombats into the park before being taken back into the wild. Koala[s], Kangaroos, Quolls, Devils, Paddimellons, Cape Barren Geese, nice-looking Ducks, Echidnas, Blue tongue lizards, various owls, cockatoos, kookaburras and Wallabies are what they had there when we went.

The park is small, but perfectly formed you might say, with decent toilets and a centre with multimedia on the endangered devils, and outdoor sitting/eating area, and of course, gift shop. At The Devils at Cradle Mountain we were able to pat a devil, but there were only us two on the tour and at Trowunna the guide was new so understandably he just stuck to feeding them [very entertaining!] and allowing us to hold the wombat babe and pass her around. There is one koala there at the moment, with a girlfriend on the way, a huge decrease from past years, due to storms wiping out the koala shelters and them having to send them elsewhere. The open area in the woods hides a large amount of kangaroos and wallabies, also the odd paddimelon, and it's hard to see them at first, until you suddenly realise they're EVERYWHERE!

The owner Andrew is a legend with Devils and unfortunately he wasn't there or else I'm sure we would have been able to touch one, but never mind. The animals are well looked after and the tours are very informative, no more roadkill is given to the devils due to the risk of infection of facial tumour disease, for example. They care a lot for the animals, and when the renovations are complete [and we are able to see the female Devil dens properly] it will be a bonus.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krazypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Androo K, Finance at Trowunna Wildlife Park, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Trowunna! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A must see in Tasmania!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Simply great! We were talking about that visit even days later! We saw Tasman Devils for the first time and were lucky enough to see a feeding. And we got to cuddle with wombat "Rosie" - Truly an incredible experience!! The guide for the tour was very knowledgeable and did great on explanations. They must have done major updates within the last year's since the pet housings or walkway layouts looked nothing like described in the poor reviews here. I recommend it to anybody coming to TAS!

Helpful?
3 Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Tasmanian Devil Viewing”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We visited here on our way from Launceston to Cradle Mountain. Quite small wildlife park with a few animals and lots and lots of devils. You must do the tour with the staff. You get to hold a wombat - very heavy and a bit smelly, fantastic experience for a visitor from the UK. Devil feeding was the best we experienced during our tour of Tasmania (we went to 3 different parks). Able to get very close behind a fence and take lots of photos. Wish we could have stayed longer to do the tour again and watch the devil feeding again but we had a long journey ahead of us. Well worth the journey and entrance price. Fulfilled my wish to see Tasmanian Devils in a natural surrounding. Really exciting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DS6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Androo K, Finance Admin at Trowunna Wildlife Park, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Trowunna. The Tasmanian Devils are feeling the heat a little at present and are enjoying cooling off in a small splash of water and in their cool natural dens. We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trowunna Wildlife Park also viewed

Mole Creek, Tasmania
Mole Creek, Tasmania
 

Been to Trowunna Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing