We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mole Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mole Creek Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great park, well run, reasonably priced and even has the occasional platypus in the creek running through. We used it as a base for Cradle Mountain trips but found a whole lot more in the area from the caves to wildlife. Thanks Jill.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy722, Public Relations Manager at Mole Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your time at the park & found that it worked well as a base for other visits. Thanks for making the time to post feedback. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

It was lovely to find a caravan park with a little creek running behind the sites. Admittedly the toilet and showers are in need of updating, and my shower was not as hot as I like it, but the location and friendly laid back host made up for that. Also prices were very reasonable, and we weren't charged extra for kids on an unpowered site. The caretaker also had good suggestions about where to park our car to keep the wind off our tent.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy722, Public Relations Manager at Mole Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed our lovely creek setting. Thanks for posting this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have just returned home from enjoying our annual camping trip to the Mole Creek Caravan Park. The most delightful setting with the most friendly host. The Park is well run and has everything you need, including fire wood. Three platypus were sighted while we were here which added to the excitement of the trip. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taj940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy722, Public Relations Manager at Mole Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the park. Seeing the platypus is always special isn't it?Thanks for taking the time & making the effort to post a review as we really do appreciate feedback. All the best for a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We anticipated a lovely caravan park after reading the rave reviews and arrived at a flat 100 by 20m block of land with no owner present. The 'free' firewood is long damp and mostly useless kindling. I didnt bother having a shower as it COST money! No reveption for tv or internet either!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy722, Public Relations Manager at Mole Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Sorry Angie F that your camping experience was not what you expected, but thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the 4th time we have been to the Mole Creek Caravan Park, stayed for 8 nights, parked the caravan by the Sassafras creek which runs through the park, what a lovely peaceful setting, and finally saw the platypus in the Creek. Washing machine & clothes dryer could do with updating, but overall pretty good $25 a night for powered site, showers 60 cents for 6 minutes, $2 load of washing which is good if the washing machine will wash & spin (I had to wring the water out by hand) it was ok last time we stayed, dryer is not so good $1 for only 10 minutes, which is fine if you can get washing dry on the line & only need to air it. A bit of updating of equipment & amenities block & this would be a perfect country escape. The owner is away for 6 months & she has a caretaker looking after the place for her, he does have a tendency to go missing!!! Some of the caravaners that arrived during our stay were not happy as they could not get keys to shower block or laundry this happened twice during this stay & the day we arrived 11.50 a.m. We didn't get to see him until the next day?? Seriously if your the caretaker stay there for your customers, not sure what the owner would think of this, it's a pity because the park is great when run correctly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ellebella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy722, Public Relations Manager at Mole Creek Caravan Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experiences at the caravan park. We really appreciate feedback. So glad you managed to see a platypus & enjoy the restful atmosphere by the creek. Sorry your experience with the washing machine wasn't so good this time but hopefully the problem is now fixed. We hope to see you again sometime for your 5th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this campground last year in May & loved the quiet peaceful setting, last year we had the place pretty much to ourselves & loved it, this year was different we stayed over the Easter weekend & it was packed, but still nice. If you don't have your own shower (60 cents for 6 minutes) can be a bit cold in the amenities block especially at this time of year but we had our own in the van so didn't care, camp kitchen is adequate BBQ, Stove & Fridge for those that are in tents, good place to base if you want to do day trips to Cradle Mountain, Marakoopa Caves, plenty of Walks in to do in the area as well (if you like that). Jill is very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ellebella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mole Creek Caravan Park on 03/02/2013. It was just so lovely. We stayed in a nice unit that provided everything that we needed and it was so beautiful to look out from the porch at the gorgeous mountains while breathing in the freshest air!!
The peacefullness of the park was only added to by the gentle trickle of Sasafras Creek and a few very friendly hens feeding around the grounds.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mole Creek
2.0 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
106 reviews
22.1 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
975 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mole Creek Cabins
Mole Creek Cabins
#2 of 3 in Mole Creek
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#1 of 9 in Sheffield
141 reviews
14.7 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
108 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mole Creek Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mole Creek Caravan Park

Property: Mole Creek Caravan Park
Address: Union Bridge Road, Mole Creek, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Mole Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mole Creek
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful caravan park & campsite on the banks of Sassafras Creek in Tasmania, Australia. 41º33'06"S 146º21'36"E 235m elevationThe park has one on-site cabin & sites for tents & vans. Camp sites by the creek may have camp fires. Free firewood is supplied. The park is pet friendly, encourages recycling & has a camp kitchen & Wi Fi. Rates: Powered site $25 ($20 one person) $3 extra person. $150 weekly Unpowered site $20 ($10 one person) $3 extra person $120 weekly On site cabin $75 up to 2 persons $20 extra person/couple Hot showers 3X20 cents ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mole Creek Caravan Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing